LISTENER

Sony

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 15
  • ratings
  • Tell Me a Secret

  • By: Samantha Hayes
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 249
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 232
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 232

Everything in Lorna’s life runs like clockwork, from her six a.m. run to the strict 60 minute counselling sessions she gives. It’s the only way she can deal with the terrible secret she carries. When a new client arrives for his first appointment, Lorna feels her perfect life unravel in a matter of seconds. It’s Andrew, the man she’s spent the last year desperately trying to forget. It seems he can’t forget her either....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow..

  • By Cap on 06-17-18

Um, Who Wrote the Rave Reviews and Why?

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-22-18

The only saving grace of this novel was in its performance. The main character is annoying, the ending comes out of left field in a way that seems more ridiculous than surprising and all the lead women in the novel come off as crazy, damaged and needy. Ugh, not my type of female lead.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • The Girl You Lost

  • By: Kathryn Croft
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Willow Nash
  • Length: 9 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,506
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,338
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,337

Eighteen years ago Simone Porter's six-month-old daughter, Helena, was abducted. Simone and husband Matt have slowly rebuilt their shattered lives, but the pain at losing their child has never left them. Then a young woman, Grace, appears out of the blue and tells Simone she has information about her stolen baby. But just who is Grace - and can Simone trust her? When Grace herself disappears, Simone becomes embroiled in a desperate search for her baby and the woman who has vital clues about her whereabouts.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great psychological thriller

  • By Angela Hancock on 10-05-16

Trigger Warning Needed

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-28-18

There was a great deal of dark, sensitive material that made up the storyline. Quite frankly, I just wanted to take a shower after listening to the book. If you're looking for a sliver lining, there isn't much of one of those either. Some of the actions of the characters isn't really believable and young girls are portrayed as dumb, gullible and desperate. Good performance by the female lead but disturbing otherwise.

  • When You Disappeared

  • By: John Marrs
  • Narrated by: Simon Mattacks, Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 643
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 544
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 545

All she wanted was the truth, but she'll wish she never found out. When Catherine wakes up alone one morning, she thinks her husband has gone for a run before work. But Simon never makes it to the office. His running shoes are by the front door. Nothing is missing - except him.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • This novel has issues!

  • By Wayne on 09-12-17

Wow- I Was Not Prepared for This

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-25-18

There are very few bright/ happy spots in this novel. So if you're looking for a HEA- you won't find one here. I was hooked until the end, but wanted to take a shower afterwards. I would like to say most of the male lead characters actions are nonsensical and immature but they go to show how far assumptions, disillusionment and unresolved childhood trauma can take one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • The Assistants

  • By: Camille Perri
  • Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
  • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 468
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 423
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 422

Tina Fontana is the hapless but brazen 30-year-old executive assistant to Robert Barlow, the all-powerful and commanding CEO of Titan Corp., a multinational media conglomerate. She's excellent at her job and beloved by her famous boss - but after six years of making his reservations for restaurants she'd never get into on her own and pouring his drinks from bottles that cost more than her rent, she's bored, broke, and just a bit over it all.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • A light and fun read

  • By Kaui on 06-10-16

Too Relatable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-15-17

For starters: The narrator was fantastic. She made each character come to life and easy to visualize. The story was a modern Robin Hood, based on circumstances many can relate too unfortunately. The ending, however, may or may not be believable- you decide for yourself.

  • Truly Madly Guilty

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 17 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 9,185
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,475
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 8,439

In Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty takes on the foundations of our lives: marriage, sex, parenthood, and friendship. She shows how guilt can expose the fault lines in the most seemingly strong relationships, how what we don't say can be more powerful than what we do, and how sometimes it is the most innocent of moments that can do the greatest harm.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not quite enough

  • By David Shear on 07-29-16

Oscar Worthy Performance for an Ok Book

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-18-17

I love the narrator, she does a great job of bringing the story and characters to life. The story had good elements too but I found annoying at times- maybe too many perspectives and hoarding is not a sexy subplot.

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,055
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,817
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,814

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By ilene on 09-15-15

Snoozefest of an Ending

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-12-17

Great start but a needlessly long, unfilling ending. At some point the ending becomes extremely predictable and so boring I had to will myself to finish. The performance was great which is why I gave a slightly higher score than I should.

  • I'm Thinking of Ending Things

  • By: Iain Reid
  • Narrated by: Candace Thaxton
  • Length: 5 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 662
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 613
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 614

In this deeply scary and intensely unnerving debut novel, Jake and a woman known only as "The Girlfriend" are on a drive to visit his parents at their secluded farm. But when Jake leaves "The Girlfriend" stranded at an abandoned high school, what follows is a twisted unraveling of the darkest unease, an exploration into psychological frailty, and an ending as suspenseful as The Usual Suspects and as haunting as Misery.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • What a ride! This is a must read!

  • By Elizabeth on 06-15-16

A beautiful let down.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-28-16

There was such potential in the storyline. But it took a long time to get used to the performers chirpy voice so that it wasn't so distracting. I think a lot of wonderful questions and concepts are raised in the introspective reflections of the narrator but there is a lot of tremendous buildup for a not so fulfilling ending.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • The Kind Worth Killing

  • By: Peter Swanson
  • Narrated by: Johnny Heller, Karen White, Kathleen Early, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,172
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,089
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,077

On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that's going stale and his wife, Miranda, who he's sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start - he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit - a contrast that once inflamed their passion but has now become a cliché.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Kind Worth Killing - A Book Worth Getting

  • By AudioAddict on 08-23-15

Addicting- You Won't Want to Hit Pause

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-29-16

Absorbing story. Too many details at times but I think that's because I couldn't wait to see how the story came together. The male performances reading as female characters was a little off at times- too rushed, but not enough to be distracting. Great read!