LISTENER

Porfirio Ortiz

  • 13
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 16
  • ratings
  • Autobiography Collection: Henry Ford, Nikola Tesla, and Benjamin Franklin

  • By: Henry Ford, Nikola Tesla, Benjamin Franklin
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Waters
  • Length: 17 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 18

This autobiography collection contains My Life and Work: The Autobiography of Henry Ford, My Inventions: The Autobiography of Nikola Tesla, and The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Learn about very different men

  • By cosmitron on 11-01-18

Good Collection

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-26-18

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

It's a short Collection of autobiography's about three of history's greatest influences from different times in history.
The narrator did a good job with this especially with the different facts about the persons in the book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Guided Meditation: 30 Minute Deep Sleep Hypnosis for Better Sleep, Stress Relief, & Relaxation

  • By: Mindfulness Training
  • Narrated by: Mindfulness Training
  • Length: 41 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37

Getting an amazing night of sleep every night doesn't have to be difficult. With this 30-minute guided meditation accompanied by an ambient soundtrack, achieving mindfulness and a better sleep is as easy as pressing play. Throughout this audiobook hypnosis, you will be guided from start to finish. We will begin with your current state of stress and restlessness and bring you to a peaceful state of calm awareness, where you will be able to push all of the troubles of the day into the distance and find true relaxation with the ambient soundtrack.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Well done!! It really works!! 👏

  • By Mandymay💄👠👛 on 11-25-17

Relaxing

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-26-18

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

It’s a nicely balanced with the soothing sounds a the Female voice that speaks once and a while, it really help to fall asleep to.

  • The Swordsman

  • A Pulp Harem Fantasy Adventure
  • By: Zack Archer
  • Narrated by: Chris Graves
  • Length: 6 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 142
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 137
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 136

Adam Fraser's coming home from an unsuccessful movie pitch when he nearly collides with Beowulf and a duo of powerful warrior women who’ve been catapulted forward in time by an evil alchemist named Mossheart. Realizing that each can help the other, they set off on an epic journey across Hollywood to track down the alchemist before he accomplishes his ultimate goal: the resurrection of the monster Grendel.  

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Fun Romp in the vein of Bill & Ted visit Conan

  • By Ray Johnson on 12-09-18

good book 1

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-26-18

it was a good story hope to listen to the Next book, the narrator has a good voice, liked all the different places they went to get Beowulf's equipment, liked the part with Samuel yells at the monster to leave his neighborhood.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review. 

  • No Land's Man

  • A Perilous Journey through Romance, Islam, and Brunch
  • By: Aasif Mandvi
  • Narrated by: Aasif Mandvi
  • Length: 4 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,066
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 965
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 962

If you're an Indo-Muslim-British-American actor who has spent more time in bars than mosques over the past few decades, turns out it's a little tough to explain who you are or where you are from. In No Land's Man Aasif Mandvi explores this and other conundrums through stories about his family, ambition, desire, and culture that range from dealing with his brunch-obsessed father, to being a high-school-age Michael Jackson impersonator, to joining a Bible study group in order to seduce a nice Christian girl, to improbably becoming America's favorite Muslim/Indian/Arab/Brown/Doctor correspondent on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Witty and Thoughtful

  • By The Reading Date on 11-06-14

A really great book by Aasif Mandvi

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-23-18

One of my favorite people from the daily show. I like the show very much.

  • Dad Jokes: The Best Dad Jokes, Awfully Bad but Funny Jokes and Puns

  • By: Matthew Cooper
  • Narrated by: Mark Finfrock
  • Length: 1 hr and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 5
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 5

Dad Jokes is an absolute must-listen! This audiobook covers more than 400 of the best dad jokes with such a large variety. Have your friends and family cracking up over the most awful/hilarious jokes and puns you've ever heard. 

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Awfully bad jokes delivered expertly

  • By Adam on 11-05-18

Dad jokes

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-04-18

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

So there's a lot of jokes in this book there's some that are ok and some that are great the one thing that I wish it did was slow down in telling the jokes because it feels like there rushing through them it does help to slow the audio a bit but otherwise it a good book to get jokes from.

  • A Watched Pot

  • By: Mr. Blue
  • Narrated by: David Morley Hale
  • Length: 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20

Graham is trying his hardest to save his marriage. When his wife, Cressida, invites two new friends over for dinner he offers to cook even though he has no experience with vegan food. Something troubles Graham about the couple, but he can’t quite put his finger on it. He takes a journey into Facebook to find a terrible truth which creates a sinister consequence.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A short entertaining read

  • By cosmitron on 10-04-18

Good Revenge story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-18

Liked Graham was surprised what the thing he put in the sauce was.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Berkley Street Series Books 1 - 9

  • Haunted House and Ghost Stories Collection
  • By: Ron Ripley
  • Narrated by: Thom Bowers
  • Length: 66 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 320
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 296
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 296

Shane Ryan is returning to his hometown of Nashua and the childhood memories that have haunted him throughout his adult life. The sinister demon lurking behind his family home threatens to spill over and destroy all he holds near and dear...spurring Shane on a journey that will challenge everything he knows about himself and the world. This audiobook set contains all nine of the thrilling supernatural novels in this best-selling series.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing series for just one credit!!

  • By Natalie @ ABookLoversLife on 09-03-18

Great Collection for stories

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-05-18

I love horror stories and I always like great collections of the genre, I really liked the Narrator Thom Bowers.

I was given this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review

  • 1632

  • Ring of Fire, Book 1
  • By: Eric Flint
  • Narrated by: George Guidall
  • Length: 19 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,859
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,698
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,708

New York Times best-selling author Eric Flint has received glowing critical praise for his Ring of Fire alternate history series. In this first installment, a West Virginia town is transported from the year 2000 to 1631 Germany at the height of the Thirty Years’ War. Thrust into conflict, the town residents must also contend with moral issues such as who should be considered a citizen.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • NOT ALL THAT BAD

  • By Randall on 11-26-18

Great Start To A Great Series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-08-18

Great start I always like alt history, time travel, alt universe, this book hits the spot.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Dawn

  • Legend of the Galactic Heroes, Vol. 1
  • By: Yoshiki Tanaka, Daniel Huddleston - translator
  • Narrated by: Tim Gerard Reynolds
  • Length: 11 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 423
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 391
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 392

"The Golden Brat", Reinhard von Lohengramm, a military prodigy and admiral of the Galactic Empire, has ambitions beyond protecting the borders or even defeating the empire's enemies. He seeks to overthrow the old order and become a truly absolute - yet benevolent - dictator. His rival, the humble Yang Wen-li of the Free Planets Alliance, wishes to preserve democracy even if he must sacrifice his political ideals to defeat the empire.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Lots of "telling", but fails to paint a picture

  • By Ryan on 11-09-17

great

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-08-18

it's a good book got it because I've seen the anime when I was younger

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Super Sales on Super Heroes

  • By: William D. Arand
  • Narrated by: Jeff Hays
  • Length: 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,378
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 7,974
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,955

In a world full of super powers, Felix has a pretty crappy one. He has the ability to modify any item he owns. To upgrade anything. Sounds great on paper. Almost like a video game. Except that the amount of power it takes to actually change, modify, or upgrade anything worthwhile is beyond his abilities. With that in mind, Felix settled into a normal life. A normal job. His entire world changes when the city he lives in is taken over by a super villain. Becoming a country of one city. A city state.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Lot better than I thought it would be

  • By Phillip hinch on 07-08-17

great start to a new series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-25-18

Great start to a new series, it's phenomenal and the second book has just come out.