LISTENER

Jenlynmo

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 53
  • ratings
  • Stealing Fire

  • How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We Live and Work
  • By: Steven Kotler, Jamie Wheal
  • Narrated by: Fred Sanders
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,449
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,912
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,902

The authors of the best-selling Bold and The Rise of Superman explore altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink's Drive and Charles Duhigg's Smarter Faster Better.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Very disappointing. Not what it promises to be.

  • By R8r on 03-18-17

Sociologist dream come true

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-05-17

It ref. Studies thru out the entire text, audiobook. Absolutely fantastic!
It's worth the investment of your time.

  • The Tipping Point

  • How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
  • By: Malcolm Gladwell
  • Narrated by: Malcolm Gladwell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,130
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,620
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,581

In The Tipping Point, New Yorker writer Malcolm Gladwell looks at why major changes in society happen suddenly and unexpectedly. Just as a single sick person can start an epidemic of the flu, so too can a few fare-beaters and graffiti artists fuel a subway crime wave, or a satisfied customer fill the empty tables of a new restaurant. These are social epidemics, and the moment when they take off, when they reach their critical mass, is the Tipping Point.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sociology for the masses.

  • By Dean on 10-28-10

For those that enjoy the "Big picture"

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-13

Would you consider the audio edition of The Tipping Point to be better than the print version?

The delivery is a personal preferances. Dependant on needs, life style, learning style etc. Audio books are fantastic so I can multi task. Plus, I'm audio/"think in pictures" learner vs. reader. This doesn't change overall quality of book. The content is the same. AND it is utterly fantastic! Print vs. Audio irrelevant .... Unless its an audiobook read by James Earl Jones ;)

Have you listened to any of Malcolm Gladwell’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, but this will be corrected STAT.

What’s the most interesting tidbit you’ve picked up from this book?

The back ground of how learning occurs using Harvard research of children's cartoons

  • Bringing Up Bebe

  • One American Mother Discovers the Wisdom of French Parenting
  • By: Pamela Druckerman
  • Narrated by: Abby Craden
  • Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,864
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,368
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,348

The secret behind France's astonishingly well-behaved children is here. When American journalist Pamela Druckerman has a baby in Paris, she doesn't aspire to become a "French parent". French parenting isn't a known thing, like French fashion or French cheese. Even French parents themselves insist they aren't doing anything special. But French children are far better behaved and more in command of themselves than American kids....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Inspiring

  • By Em on 04-15-12

Changed my parenting

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-09-13

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, I've told every pregnant friend I have. Be humble enough to question your parenting, willing to improve and grow. So why not learn from other cultures.

What did you like best about this story?

French parenting and food. Oh and their take on pregnancy! Hmm most everything.

What about Abby Craden’s performance did you like?

Great!

  • Eat, Pray, Love

  • One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India, and Indonesia
  • By: Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,672
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,733
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,732

Around the time Elizabeth Gilbert turned 30, she went through an early-onslaught midlife crisis. She went through a divorce, a crushing depression, another failed love, and the eradication of everything she ever thought she was supposed to be. To recover from all this, Gilbert took a radical step. She got rid of her belongings, quit her job, and undertook a yearlong journey around the world, all alone. This is the absorbing chronicle of that year.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An Inner Journey within an External One

  • By YoginiZora on 07-20-06

Lovely

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-09-13

Would you listen to Eat, Pray, Love again? Why?

Yes, always inspiring to hear another's personal experience on the journey inward. Made me hungry to pick up the pace on my own path.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The Irish plumber ? (If i remember correctly). author of "The direction for letting something beautiful go, so something else beautiful may come".. Roughly stated...

Have you listened to any of Elizabeth Gilbert’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Haven't heard others, can't compare...this was fantastic though.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Actually both... And I'm not the crying type, ASPCA commercial excluded!

Any additional comments?

Audiobook comes across with more depth I though..

  • If You Ask Me

  • (And of Course You Won't)
  • By: Betty White
  • Narrated by: Betty White
  • Length: 2 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,355
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,173
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,165

It-girl Betty White delivers a hilarious, slyly profound take on love, life, celebrity, and everything in between. Drawing from a lifetime of lessons learned, seven-time Emmy winner Betty White's wit and wisdom take center stage as she tackles topics like friendship, romantic love, aging, television, fans, love for animals, and the brave new world of celebrity. If You Ask Me mixes her thoughtful observations with humorous stories from a seven- decade career in Hollywood. Longtime fans and new fans alike will relish Betty's candid take on everything....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I'd ask Betty!

  • By Lizz on 11-30-11

A beautiful, grounded lady w/ a lovely voice.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-28-12

Where does If You Ask Me rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Having no elders, I'd personally listen to this time and again over my life.

What other book might you compare If You Ask Me to and why?

It's Betty White, not comparable.

  • Little Red Book

  • Alcoholics Anonymous
  • By: Alcoholics Anonymous
  • Narrated by: Jason McCoy
  • Length: 2 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 91
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 77
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 78

This is the original study guide to the Big Book, Alcoholics Anonymous. Filled with practical information for those first days of sober living, this little book offers newcomers advice about the program, how long it takes, and what to look for in a sponsor; provides in-depth discussions of each of the Twelve Steps and related character defects; poses common questions about AA and helping others, identifying where to find answers in the Big Book; and, features non-sexist language.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • the little red book

  • By Maria on 03-19-12

Helps me understand addicts in my life.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-10-12

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

It's a serious content. at times difficult , painful topics for ppl and this guy is super chipper. Great voice but a little to Sunny if someone is bottoming out. None the less the message is life changing and a spiritual in content of me, healing. Not religion!

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Every chapter. The whole book is.

Any additional comments?

Makes me a better person and understanding of an addict close to me in my personal life.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Book of Souls

  • By: Glenn Cooper
  • Narrated by: Mark Boyett
  • Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 935
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 594
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 594

Former FBI Special Agent Will Piper solved and survived the "Doomsday Killer" case, and his reward was a forced early retirement. But the shattering truths he learned about the government's most covert operations won't let him rest and now he's on the trail of a mysterious volume that's been lost for six centuries.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Completely gripped me.

  • By Lee on 05-02-10

Good

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-08-12

What did you love best about Book of Souls?

What an interesting take on things. Talking in "big picture" terms, I have pondered about some of the very concepts presented. Thus, rather enjoyed this shockingly appealing audiobook. If you are narrow minded and lack creative thought, it may not be for you.

Would you be willing to try another book from Glenn Cooper? Why or why not?

Yup, he is creative.

What about Mark Boyett’s performance did you like?

Well done

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Tired to. . . Had to break up over a couple days. I don't have much leisure time.