LISTENER

Q. G. H. Berk

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 40
  • ratings
  • Stealing Fire

  • How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We Live and Work
  • By: Steven Kotler, Jamie Wheal
  • Narrated by: Fred Sanders
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,664
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,104
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,090

The authors of the best-selling Bold and The Rise of Superman explore altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink's Drive and Charles Duhigg's Smarter Faster Better.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Very disappointing. Not what it promises to be.

  • By R8r on 03-18-17

really good but slightly unsatisfying

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-27-17

i read it in one go. it's really interesting .. I obviously need to go to burning man one day. and although i am stoked to work on myself, the book has left me without a clue as to where to go to. unless it is the 400 dollars i can pay to follow one of their courses. so great book, a tat unsatisfying if it was written just to get me on their course.

  • The Big Picture

  • On the Origins of Life, Meaning, and the Universe Itself
  • By: Sean Carroll
  • Narrated by: Sean Carroll
  • Length: 17 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,190
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,964
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,942

Already internationally acclaimed for his elegant, lucid writing on the most challenging notions in modern physics, Sean Carroll is emerging as one of the greatest humanist thinkers of his generation as he brings his extraordinary intellect to bear not only on the Higgs boson and extra dimensions but now also on our deepest personal questions. Where are we? Who are we? Are our emotions, our beliefs, and our hopes and dreams ultimately meaningless out there in the void?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Keeping this on REPEAT for months to come

  • By Chris Akers on 06-10-16

Good bits, much talk about god

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-29-16

The narrator has a nice voice, but why so much talk about the bible and god? It's either difficult to understand, philosophical or religeous. I bought this book because it covers quantum mechanics, which it does. I liked the 1st and the 3rd section and some other parts.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Vital Question

  • Energy, Evolution, and the Origins of Complex Life
  • By: Nick Lane
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pariseau
  • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 887
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 798
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 787

The Earth teems with life: in its oceans, forests, skies, and cities. Yet there's a black hole at the heart of biology. We do not know why complex life is the way it is, or, for that matter, how life first began. In The Vital Question, award-winning author and biochemist Nick Lane radically reframes evolutionary history, putting forward a solution to conundrums that have puzzled generations of scientists.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Ouch!

  • By Mark on 06-24-16

reads like a textbook. Very academic

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-04-16

Very hard to plough through . Without good knowledge of chemistry, biology and physics in general, it will be a struggle to read.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Wide Lens

  • A New Strategy for Innovation
  • By: Ron Adner
  • Narrated by: Walter Dixon
  • Length: 6 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 66
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 66

How can great companies do everything right - identify real customer needs, deliver excellent innovations, beat their competitors to market - and still fail? The sad truth is that many companies fail because they focus too intensely on their own innovations, and then neglect the innovation ecosystems on which their success depends. In our increasingly interdependent world, winning requires more than just delivering on your own promises. It means ensuring that a host of partners - some visible, some hidden - deliver on their promises, too.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very insightful on big picture innovation

  • By Michael on 01-05-18

most uninteresting book ..

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-25-16

I couldn't finish it. it was just zo unentertaining. The author mat very welk be a genius at everything innovation but he is the worst storyteller. it felt as if I was back in 7th grade struggling to stay awake during math class

  • Black Box Thinking

  • Why Most People Never Learn from Their Mistakes - But Some Do
  • By: Matthew Syed
  • Narrated by: Simon Slater
  • Length: 12 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 512
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 446
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 444

Nobody wants to fail. But in highly complex organizations, success can happen only when we confront our mistakes, learn from our own version of a black box, and create a climate where it's safe to fail. We all have to endure failure from time to time, whether it's underperforming at a job interview, flunking an exam, or losing a pickup basketball game. But for people working in safety-critical industries, getting it wrong can have deadly consequences.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A multi-level message, well written and well read

  • By Loren on 11-16-15

What an amazing book!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-24-15

I had no expectation of this book. I don't even know how I came by it. One day I just picked it up and started to read it. At the opening chapter I almost put it down. What a horrible story! But I stuck with it and soon I was unable to put it down. It is likethree books into one. The goodstuff just keeps on coming. So rich with information that it is too much to take in in one go.

Wonderful book! This must have taken the author ages to write.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful