LISTENER

BrianRaiderFan

utah
  • 5
  • reviews
  • 16
  • helpful votes
  • 49
  • ratings
  • Rules of Civility

  • A Novel
  • By: Amor Towles
  • Narrated by: Rebecca Lowman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,734
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,077
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,055

On the last night of 1937, 25-year-old Katey Kontent is in a second-rate Greenwich Village jazz bar when Tinker Grey, a handsome banker, happens to sit down at the neighboring table. This chance encounter and its startling consequences propel Katey on a yearlong journey....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Like a Country Pastoral for City Rats

  • By Em on 04-18-12

Loved. It.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-14-19

great writing. great story. subtle in the telling. makes me wish for much simpler times.

  • The Witchwood Crown

  • By: Tad Williams
  • Narrated by: Andrew Wincott
  • Length: 38 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 320
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 310
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 306

New York Times best-selling Tad Williams' groundbreaking epic fantasy saga of Osten Ard begins an exciting new cycle! Enter the epic fantasy world that inspired a generation of modern fantasy writers, including George R. R. Martin, Patrick Rothfuss, and Christopher Paolini.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • So disappointing

  • By Mac on 07-16-17

William's delivers

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-22-19

Tad Williams is simply one of the best writers on the planet. Witchwood Crown is EPIC

  • The Phoenix Guards

  • By: Steven Brust
  • Narrated by: Kevin Stillwell
  • Length: 16 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 266
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 250
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 249

Khaavren of the House of Tiassa is a son of landless nobility, possessor of a good sword and “tolerably well-acquainted with its use.” Along with three loyal friends, he enthusiastically seeks out danger and excitement. But in a realm renowned for repartee and betrayals, where power is as mutable as magic, a young man like Khaavren, newly come from the countryside, had best be wary. His life depends on it. And so does the future of Draegara.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Book One in the history of Dragaera

  • By Don Gilbert on 10-09-13

Brust one of the best fantasy writers ever

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-22-19

great writing. funny. action. loved. it. I'm never dissapointed with anything Brust creates. try his Vlad Toltos books too

  • The Blackest Heart

  • By: Brian Lee Durfee
  • Narrated by: Tim Gerard Reynolds
  • Length: 36 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 95
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 91
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 90

Gladiator. Assassin. Thief. Princess. And the slave. The five warrior angels have been revealed; one by one, the mystical weapons they once wielded are being found, and an ancient prophecy is finally being fulfilled. Or is it? For when it comes to recorded history, much is intended to manipulate and deceive. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Your new favorite fantasy series!

  • By BrianRaiderFan on 02-26-19

Your new favorite fantasy series!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-26-19

This sequel to The Forgetting Moon (first in The Five Warrior Angels series) is every bit as overpowered, action-packed, and relentless as its forebear. I saw that Barnes & Noble and Publishers Weekly said The Blackest Heart is a superb follow-up to The Forgetting Moon. In fact The Blackest Heart just may be the best fantasy novel I've ever read. Durfee's cinematic shifts of perspective and his artist’s eye for shades of atmosphere propel this enormous tapestry of human frailties and will keep fans of grand epic fantasy turning the many, many pages.' for fans of Game of Thrones, Wheel of Time, Mark Lawrence and Joe Abercrombie. With nearly 1,000 pages to film, Dufree indulges in all the genre has to offer—fantastical creatures, immersive worldbuilding, brutal action, and massive adventure. Fans of gloriously over-the-top epics will find this one earns that substantial page count.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • The Forgetting Moon

  • By: Brian Lee Durfee
  • Narrated by: Tim Gerard Reynolds
  • Length: 30 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 170
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 159
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 160

Welcome to the Five Isles, where war has come in the name of the invading army of Sor Sevier, a merciless host driven by the prophetic fervor of the Angel Prince, Aeros, toward the last unconquered kingdom of Gul Kana. Yet Gault, one of the elite Knights Archaic of Sor Sevier, is growing disillusioned by the crusade he is at the vanguard of just as it embarks on his Lord Aeros' greatest triumph. While the eldest son of the fallen king of Gul Kana now reigns in ever increasing paranoid isolationism, his two sisters seek their own paths.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good but Frustrating

  • By John on 03-30-19

Restored my faith in epic fantasy

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-04-19

Great reading by Tim Gerard Reynolds, really makes fantasy sound EPIC!!!

BTW i read that BARNES & NOBLE calls The Forgetting Moon one of the best 2016 summer reads:

Durfee pays homage to hard-hitting, heavy-metal fantasies of the ’80s, but layers in multidimensional characters into plot that slowly shifts your perception and assumptions until the whole thing has twisted right under your nose. It’s an exceptionally promising beginning to a new series.

I loved this book because it uses tropes in the fantasy playbook, but everyone is not who they seem, nor do they fit the roles you expect. Durfee has created an epic fantasy full of hope in a world that is based on lies, and it will provide readers who love plot twists with a lot of joy.

13 of 25 people found this review helpful