LISTENER

AudioBook Reviewer

Madison, WI, United States
  • 1,443
  • reviews
  • 12,680
  • helpful votes
  • 1,518
  • ratings
  • Agent G: Saboteur

  • By: C. T. Phipps
  • Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
  • Length: 6 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 15
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14

Agent G has left the service of the International Refugee Society, the world's biggest provider of murder for hire, in order to work for the US government. Unfortunately, they are sending him after his former employers, and they know him as well as he knows them. The clock is ticking, though, until the Society's remaining leadership starts eliminating their opponents and attempts to seize control of the presidency. A traitor is also providing them with all the information they need to survive until their puppet is in power. Will G and his allies survive the purge? 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Professional Hitmen Never Retire!

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 11-28-18

Professional Hitmen Never Retire!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-28-18

The time has come for Agent G to leave the International Refugee Society. The most notorious murderer for hire and cyborg spy. In order to do so, and live in peace, Agent G must remove the president from her position, throw the Society into chaos and convince the other “letters,” the ones he has not killed, into joining him. Agent G’s ultimate goal is to retire and live out the rest of his short life but not before correcting some wrongs and making amends where he can.

CT Phipps continues the dangerous adventures of Agent G with new twists and villains with humor and pop culture references. The story of G flows smoothly with some intense moments that only Phipps can deliver.

Jeffrey Kafer, the narrator, performs the story with voices that are pleasant and interesting. He becomes Agent G as the puns and pop culture references roll off his tongue with no effort – it is as if he really were Agent G. Kafer has nailed the indifference, anger and every other emotion of Agent G to perfection!

This is an entertaining book that keeps the listener on the edge of their seat and guessing as to the pop culture references. The book is fun and highly entertaining.

There were no issues with the production or quality of this book. It was professionally done.


Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Coilhunter Chronicles - Omnibus (Books 1-3)

  • By: Dean F. Wilson
  • Narrated by: R.C. Bray
  • Length: 13 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 106
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 106
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 106

Three audiobooks from the Coilhunter Chronicles: Coilhunter, Rustkiller, and Dustrunner. Welcome to the Wild North, a desolate wasteland where criminals go to hide - if they can outlast the drought and the dangers of the desert. Or the dangers of something else.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dean F Wilson, starting off great!

  • By Jessica Bond on 11-06-18

vibrant & colorful steampunk western

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-28-18

Dean F. Wilson (author) and R.C. Bray (audiobook narrator) come together in an exceptionally well-written and produced premiere action-packed western steampunk trilogy titled “The Coilhunter Chronicles”. The audiobook I reviewed was an omnibus edition which included all three of the Coilhunter stories in a single easy to consume set. The three books in series order are: Coilhunter, Rustkiller, and Dustrunner. I am not a huge fan of the western genre, and I do not often go looking for books of this type. However, the author’s summary along with its steampunk elements and R.C. Bray’s narration made me pick it up and give it a listen; I am glad I did. As you will see below, I quickly became a fan of both the writing and quality of narration that I consumed the nearly fourteen hours of audio in a rather short period of time. If you are looking for a new series to start, and even if westerns are not your thing, I highly recommended you give this new series a try.

The stories contained in the omnibus edition can stand on their own. However, there are some recurring characters making appearances across all of the stories. Each book has its own storylines and objectives our main character (Nox) needs to accomplish, and a few times I felt as if I were dropped into a LitRPG book. It should be noted that books two and three of the series would be less enjoyable without first listening to book one. In the first book (Coilhunter), we learn of the Coilhunter’s background, drive, and what makes him who he is as a man. We are shown that even under that tough bounty hunter skin there lies a man who misses his family, is desperate for love, and ultimately wants to see justice served. Prior to the fateful events that changed him forever, this man was a tinkerer, toy maker, and experimenter who loved to make various contraptions. The books are not only entertaining and filled with scenes of action, but there were also a number of emotional periods when you wanted to reach out and give him a hug or comfort him in some way. At times we see just how broken a man he is and the few friends (or are they) who are by his side wanting to help him along his journey.

At one point in the story we are told he is a drifter, and in some ways, he reminded me of Kwai Chang Caine (David Carradine) from the TV series “Kung Fu”. Each story in this series was like a new TV show that at times included people from previous episodes yet there was always a central running theme; just like with the Coilhunter. I felt at times that I was watching a steampunk version of “Gunsmoke” blended with parts of “Dirty Harry” or “Dog the Bounty Hunter” sprinkled in. Nox is gruff, to the point, and a loner on the outside. I found it quite curious that our main character was called The Coilhunter when it was clear he was not in it for the money (coils) but instead was a man driven by seeing justice served. Each of the story titles in the series gives you a glimpse into what you can expect, but there are always a few twists and suspense added by the author keeping one guessing along the way. The steampunk and western aspects were well-balanced as I did not feel one overtook the other. Each of the stories also had a fair number of weapons, technology, creatures, and armor.

Let me say that I felt the writing was descriptive, vibrant, and colorful. At times I felt like I was watching a movie or TV show with my eyes closed. This does not mean that the author left out the core components that make up a story. It was not all eye candy without substance; not at all. There were multidimensional characters, memorable scenes, a deep central plot including a few side plots, plenty of conflict, and each story had its resolution. Again, for someone like myself who is not a big fan of the western genre, I enjoyed the complexity and depth of these stories. Although there is horse riding, gun slinging, adventuring and salooning, the core of these tales could be dropped into nearly any genre and it would be good. I could easily see a science fiction or fantasy setting for our hero; maybe a future series of books? Even with the complexity, the series of books had a fair amount of humor and light-hearted times. I laughed each time a character was introduced as I wondered what witty names the author would come up with. Names such as Lawless Lyle, Flying Feather, and many others litter the landscape in a fun and entertaining way. The subtle first letter of both parts of a nickname were the same. If there was one thing I would have changed, it would have been the titles of the chapters. These seemed to be less throughout and did not fit the overall complexity of the other story components. If this is my main complaint, I have to say that the author has done well for his first published work on Audible.

Let me say that I have always been a fan of books narrated by R.C. Bray. Of the over three-hundred he has already narrated, at the time of this review, I listened to a number of them solely because he has brought life to those he has worked on. Mr. Bray is great at enhancing an already good story and not overdoing it on the audio side. As with his other works I have listened too, this one was professionally produced and narrated. He does a good job of distinguishing the various characters and giving them each distinct characteristics. There were no issues with the audio itself; it contained no background noises or other artifacts. Volume was consistent which flowed from both chapter-to-chapter and even book-to-book, it was smooth and normalized. Simply what I have come to expect from works by R.C. Bray was in this audiobook as well.

For parents or younger listeners, I do not recall any use of vulgar language and apart from some light more mature topics (saloons, alcohol, and prostitution), the book really could be easily enjoyed by a younger person. There is some graphic violence and limited romance, but it is nothing that I would not expect in this genre of book.

In summary, I think this is a very strong series for the first one written by the author. It was very smart to have the audiobook performed by R.C. Bray due to his reputation of performing good books while enhancing them in ways he is quite skilled at. If you are a western steampunk fan, I’m sure you have already listened to this series. If not, you may be looking for more in the genre after finishing this one. I recommend you go out and pick this one up. It is entertaining and can be enjoyed in short stints or even during long drives.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Red Peace

  • The Starfire Trilogy, Book 1
  • By: Spencer Ellsworth
  • Narrated by: John Keating, Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Length: 6 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 50
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 46

A Red Peace, first in Spencer Ellsworth's Starfire trilogy, is an action-packed space opera in a universe where the oppressed half-Jorian crosses have risen up to supplant humanity and dominate the galaxy. Half-breed human star navigator Jaqi, working the edges of human-settled space on contract to whoever will hire her, stumbles into possession of an artifact that the leader of the Rebellion wants desperately enough to send his personal guard after. An interstellar empire and the fate of the remnant of humanity hang in the balance.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Suits & Insects War & Technology

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 11-28-18

Suits & Insects War & Technology

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-28-18

Listening to the space opera, A Red Peace by Spencer Ellsworth took me back to the Speculative Fiction college course taught by Professor Tull. Our reading list had some fantastic short stories from the early days of sci-fi and A Red Peace was reminiscent of those classic works. And I mean that in a very good way.

The story is told from the perspective of two cross-bred humans: Jaqi, narrated by Mary Robinette Kowal and Araskar, narrated by John Keating. Araska is vat-born and Jaqi is the daughter of two vat-born cross-bred humans. Crossbreeds were manufactured specifically to be soldiers. The war Araska has been fighting has just ended but both he and Jaqi are immediately pulled into political intrigue involving an alien artifact. There are cyborgs called “Suits” and insect type aliens and all the technology and violence that goes with the aftermath of a galactic war.

The narration was a bit jarring at first with a posh sounding Keating reading as Araskar and Kowal narrating as Jaqi, with a Southern down-home country girl drawl. If this difference in voices throws you off at first, just stick with it. This is a well-told space opera that will stick with you after.

I had a difficult time with Keating’s narration in that I couldn’t always tell the characters apart. I could tell he was using a slightly different voice for each character but they weren’t consistent at first as they weren’t always distinguishable. Kowal’s alien voices were very harsh and I couldn’t understand what was said in one exchange. By the end, I couldn’t imagine Z sounding any different then Kowal’s harsh but cool interpretation. After finishing this first book, I’m still not sure what I think of Keating’s narration but I really like Kowal’s lively voices. That’s a bit of a change for me as in the past I’ve preferred male narrators.

A Red Peace is book one in the trilogy but it’s not really a stand-alone and the ending is a bit abrupt (probably because I was really getting into the story!) so be prepared to immediately want the second book in the series.

If you keep track of this sort of thing, there is mild profanity and sex is alluded to.

Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • All the F*cks I Cannot Give

  • By: Michael Carlon
  • Narrated by: Mike Dawson
  • Length: 6 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 13
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13

Kelly Carson is one of those Clark Kent-like guys who just can't stand up for himself. With three weeks to go before Christmas, Kelly receives the shock of his life when he's fired over the telephone while waiting to catch a flight. Terri Flynn, a free-spirited starlet who is running away to New York after walking off the set of her latest feature film, overhears Kelly's unceremonious firing and becomes hell-bent on transforming him from the Clark Kent he is into the Superman the impulsive actress feels he's destined to become. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fun Fun Fun

  • By cosmitron on 09-05-18

From Clark Kent to Superman in one leap!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-19-18

Cautious and good-natured 42-year-old Kelly Carson’s life hits a new low when he is callously fired from his marketing job while waiting in an airport lounge. But then he meets wild and impulsive actress Terri Flynn and as they spontaneously head off for an island getaway, Kelly’s formerly uneventful, settled life suddenly becomes exhilarating, and he finds himself transforming from an unassuming middle-aged man in a loveless marriage to his very own version of cool and assertive Superman.

Kelly’s journey to turning his life around is simply hilarious and I found him to be a character I could easily root for. This was a quick listen and light entertainment. There is nothing too deep here; in fact, it is all pretty predictable, but it’s cleverly done and well written, and it was a great break from my usual diet of thrillers and dark materials. It’s a very uplifting book and I appreciated the message of wisely considering what you give and don’t give a f*ck about.

Along the way, the listener gets a comedic insight into marketing/focus groups and the entertainment industry from movie production to publishing books. Looking into the author’s background, you can’t help but wonder how much of his own experience in marketing and writing/publishing he has used for the creation of his protagonist. There is an abundance of music and TV/movie references. Some from the 80s/90s that went over my head, but I didn’t mind.

As you can guess from the title, if you find listening to some strong adult language objectionable then this may not be the right book for you. There are sexual innuendos and bad language galore. None of it is any way offending though, at least in MHO, instead, as mentioned before, it is very, very funny.

Mike Dawson was perfect for this first-person point-of-view narration. He really took on the persona of the main character and delivered the lines just right, expressing Kelly’s feelings, worries and humor to the point. There were no issues with the production of the audio.

I will definitely be checking out Michael Carlon’s other books when I need another pick-me-up and would love to listen to another narration by Mike Dawson.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • The Council

  • Witch's Ambitions Trilogy, Book 1
  • By: Kayla Krantz
  • Narrated by: Lynn Norris
  • Length: 10 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 24

The Council is the governing Coven over the Land of Five, a region entirely inhabited and split apart by witches with varying powers. Lilith Lace, a witch thought to be born powerless, happily resides in Ignis, the Coven of Fire, until she suddenly develops telekinesis, an ability only seen in some witches born in Mentis, the Coven of the Mind. When the Council finds out about her odd development, she's taken under their wing and is finally told the truth.... Everything she's learned about the Land of Five, herself included, have been nothing but lies.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I find myself looking forward to the next book...

  • By Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore on 09-08-18

Awesome Witchy Characters!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-19-18

I love a good witch story and was eager to listen to this when I read the blurb, and while I thoroughly enjoyed it, there was a few things that bothered me, which is why it’s not a five-star read.

The plot was slow to build. It’s centered on Lilith Lace who lives in Ignis, they are the coven of Fire. When she was young, she was horribly burned in an accident with fire and it’s affected her leg and her life ever since. She believed her parents and didn’t question things. Lilith wasn’t showing any signs of having magic and thought she would be one of the powerless, that is until she suddenly develops Telekinesis. But that ability is usually only seen in people who are part of the Mentis Coven, the coven of the mind. How can a girl from Ignis, have a power that only people in Mentis can have? But it doesn’t stop there, Lilith has more questions when she seems to be targeted by a rogue group of witches and is recruited to be one of the Council.

The main thing that bothered me with this book was the fact that we don’t get a lot of information on the Land of Five and the breakdown of the covens. I wanted to know more about each coven and their abilities. It also lacks tenseness, when they are trying to find the answers, I felt like there should have been more about it. They seemed to spend no time in each coven before they went on their way. There was no real sense of danger when there should have been. Other than that, I loved the plot. It was entertaining and kept my attention till the end!

I pretty much loved all the characters. The author spent a lot of time on character development, which showed because they were all well written. We find out bit by bit about Lilith and who she is. She is so uncertain of herself, what with her disability and the fact that her powers seem unreliable, yet she is also feisty and brave, which we see when she is taken and made part of the Council against her will! She was such an easy to like character and was probably why I liked the book as much as I did.

The council, of course, are a shady bunch of witches. All Lilith knows is what she has grown up listening to, but now that she is to become one of them, she starts to see that they aren’t what she thought. I loved the idea of the Sage and what she is. I’m actually really looking forward to the next one to get more information on the council and the rogue group, I feel that now the world building is done in this book, we can concentrate on the nitty-gritty details!!

In all, this was a great read. I was delighted that the author chose to focus on the world and character building and not on romance! It was a pleasant change from some of the other YA books I’ve read. I feel like I like Lilith more for the fact she is so intent on getting answers and doesn’t swoon at the first sight of a boy!! Filled with some awesome characters, great word building, lies, deceit and betrayal, it’s one I can recommend to all.

This is my first time listening to this narrator, and it definitely won’t be my last! Lynn Norris was brilliant. She had plenty of tones and voices for the characters and really put her all into bringing them alive. Her inflections were spot on and the world came alive under her narration. I will have to check out more from her. There was no problem with the production quality.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • You're Going to Mars!

  • By: Rob Dircks
  • Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
  • Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 238
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 231
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 231

Living and slaving in Fill City One, you get used to the smell. We call it the Everpresent Stink. But every once in a while, on a spring day with a breeze, it clears away enough to remind us that there is something more out there. Most Fillers' wildest dreams would be just to get past the walls and live in the mainland. But my dream? It’s a little bigger. I’m going to Mars.   

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Reviewers Choice Award, its that good

  • By AudioBook Reviewer on 11-13-18

Reviewers Choice Award, its that good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-13-18

Triplets named Paper, Rock and Scissors live in Fill City One with their father and grandmother.  Paper’s dream is to go to Mars someday.   Good news for Paper!  Zach Larson, a private entrepreneur is funding a private trip to Mars.  For one lucky person who competes on his TV game show and wins!  Much like Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, Paper has to find the much sought-after prize, a red scarab.  If she’s lucky enough to find a winning scarab, she has to escape Fill City One; ride over 2,000 miles with her absentee mother, then she has to compete in Larson’s live TV show for three months and beat out 25 other contestants. Can she do it?  Thing is Paper is smart and strong but she’s not without feelings.  She has to decide to what depths she will sink to get to Mars …

Rob Dircks, the author, gives his audience an action-packed adventure full of twists and emotional highs and lows. Dircks creates characters that he gives depth to and cultivates them into likeable (and hate-able) beings.

The plot is well structured and solid.  Each character is realistic as is the dialog.  The reactions of his characters are spot on as well.  Dircks has carefully and delightfully constructed a memorable story.  I would love to see it filmed!

I got this audiobook two days ago and I finished it within the 48 hours I had it.  It is captivating, interesting and creative.  I could not put it down!

Khristine Hvam performed the audiobook excellently!  She was comfortable with the story and characters, she made the audiobook pleasant and memorable as well.  This is the first time I have heard her; she is perfect!

I loved it this book.  I enjoyed the different messes Paper found herself; I found the emotional discoveries she made were insightful and at times painful.  This is an audiobook I will listen to again and again!

There were no issues with the quality or production of this audiobook.

This audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

63 of 69 people found this review helpful

  • The Book of Ralph

  • By: Christopher Steinsvold
  • Narrated by: James Patrick Cronin
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 245
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 234
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 233

A message appears on the moon. It is legible from Earth, and almost no one knows how it was created. Markus West leads the government's investigation to find the creator. The message is simple and familiar. But those three words, written in blazing crimson letters on the lunar surface, will foster the strangest revolution humankind has ever endured and make Markus West wish he was never involved.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyed this a lot!

  • By Heather on 04-06-17

Drink Diet Coke on the Moon

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

A message appears on the Moon, and Coca-Cola is blamed about it. Sometime later a gigantic can of soup descends upon the White House, with Ralph, a strange alien in its interior. He is coming to warn humanity about a terrible threat.

This book was incredibly funny, quirky, and original. It’s clear that it was written by a college professor due to the little pieces of wisdom and philosophy scattered throughout the book. I really enjoyed Ralph’s view of the world, and how he shared it with Markus West.

There are a couple of twists in the book, and things that didn’t end up being what they seemed at first, which made things more interesting. It was a good book, just maybe a bit long-winded since there are moments when nothing important seems to be happening, and the ending felt a bit like cheating. I have the feeling that the book started with great premises, and it deflated a bit after a while. It was enjoyable nonetheless, and I think it will work especially well among the younger readers.

I thoroughly enjoyed James Patrick Cronin’s narration. His interpretation of Ralph was absolutely perfect, and he also provided the necessary nuances for the rest of the characters. This is one of those cases where a superb narration makes for a better final product, Cronin’s narration really made the story shine.

All in all, it was an enjoyable book, even though some parts made the story drag a bit.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • The Alien Corps

  • Prosperine Series, Book 1
  • By: PJ McDermott
  • Narrated by: Lisa Michelle Negron
  • Length: 6 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5

When the father who abandoned her as a child formally requests Hickory's release from the Alien Corps to check out the political stability on the remote planet Prosperine, she knows he's hiding something, but what? Hickory's superiors are reluctant to let her go after her last mission failed so spectacularly. But they agree on the proviso she checks out an alien spiritualist known as the teacher. They believe he could be the one referred to in an ancient prophecy discovered nearly a hundred years before.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Not the Sun, but the Son!

  • By Betababe on 12-09-18

Original Star Treky Feel to it

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

“Alien Corps” is the first book in the “Prosperine” series which I would classify as a spiritual contemporary science fiction story; written by PJ McDermott. The audiobook was well narrated by Lisa Michelle Negron who has a few Audible titles under her belt at the time of this review. As a side note, the author has also available a prequel to this story called “Born of Fire”. The book’s main character (Hickory) is sent to a newly discovered planet so she can report back on its political association along with the availability of a precious element needed by Earth’s ships to achieve faster than light space travel. Additionally, she is assigned the role of seeking out and communicate with a spiritualist called “The Teacher” relating to a prophecy discovered long ago. Not only these, but our main character is also known for her blemished past from a previous assignment, which could affect her new assignment. If you enjoy more young adult science fiction writing style and a bit of spirituality woven in, you might find this book appealing. For me, the book was a bit fractured and flat compared to others in the genre. I’m not to say it is a bad book, but I found that it was quite different than what I had expected from its description. It was neither an amazing science fiction story nor a complete disaster. I found the story, its characters and its narration somewhat mediocre based on the number of the book I have listened too. However, I would say if you enjoy YA writing style and science fiction, you might find this book appealing.

From the book’s summary description, I did not expect it to be written in a YA-style. The conversations and sentence structure were often quite simplistic and lacked a sense of depth. With the detailed world-building, I felt like I was dropped into an original Star Trek series episode and I sat back to watch it unfold. However, I was hoping both the characters and story would align to take full advantage of this great world, but I did not feel they did. Many of the characters felt non-dimensional and I could not find a character that I really related too or cared for deeply. Again, this may be based on the book’s writing and story focus. I found the religious or spiritual aspects of the book an odd addition along with some questionable theological components. While I understand this is a piece of science fiction, I think the book could have done without the spiritual underpinnings and still been a good story.

I did enjoy the continued search and negotiation for this precious element as the story progressed. You can see the struggle between the relations to the planet’s inhabitants and was it more important than the resources necessary for space travel? Yet, at times there were technologies included on this distant and foreign world that are a part of our world that felt wrong to be elsewhere. For example, the GPS (global positioning system) reference that was used to track people on the planet, I felt it should have been called something else or referred to as something like our GPS. Although I will admit this was a small thing, I do remember clearly when it was used and how it pulled me from the story. There is a need for one to suspend belief while reading this story, and if you can get past that it is well laid out. I did like the superstitions of the tribal people when they met more modern-day weapons or objects and how they tried to explain them to one another.

The book’s narration by Lisa Michelle Negron was good. She was able to easily voice the multiple characters along with a few accents giving characters their own unique personalities. Some of the narration was a bit monotone or lacking inflection which the story required. The audio itself was clean and free of any artifacts I recall. The narrator’s voice was easy to understand, and the reading was at a good pace.

For parents and younger readers, take note that this book does contain vulgar language, alcohol use, some rather graphic depictions of torture, and some sexual subject matter (prostitution and innuendos) which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

In summary, although I did not find the book overly enjoyable, it was entertaining, and the world was well crafted. Most of the storylines are closed in this book, yet it is clear that there are going to be additional books in the series released. I would have liked for the author to have carried over the complexity of the world to the characters and the story itself as I believe this would have made it much more likable. Maybe future books in the series will give us the depth and escape many of us enjoy when listening to audiobooks.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

  • Foundlings

  • By: Richard Levesque
  • Narrated by: Steven Jay Cohen
  • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 6

Derek Chandler had it all, but a tragic accident changed everything, and his life now stands in ruins. Haunted by the ghosts of what might have been, Derek tries to lose himself in his new job, but what begins as a minor academic mystery soon unravels, leaving him with the burden of a second truncated life: that of long-vanished science-fiction writer Kichiro Nakamura. Convinced that finding Kichiro is somehow the key to finding his own peace, Derek is drawn into a frantic search of modern and post-war Los Angeles.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful mystery about a rarely mentioned time

  • By Margaret on 10-15-18

Survival, Twists, Emotional - Captivating

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

A captivating story of two men; two lifetimes apart and both seeking peace in the world they live in. Derek Chandler is trying to recover from losing his wife to a tragic accident; he makes a discovery that sets him on a journey where he hopes he will find peace. Koichiro Nakamura is trying to find his own peace during World War II while his family is trapped in the internment camps in the US and he is fighting against the Emperor of Japan.

Chandler’s discoveries of Nakamura’s writings set him on a path to discover who this man was and what happened to him. In his research, Chandler stumbles across the truth and it is not what he expected!

Richard Levesque has written a mystery based around historical events with a shocking twist! I was captivated by the story immediately and found opportunities to hear it. The final twist left me wide-eyed and amazed. Levesque has a way of capturing his audience and holding them from beginning to end.

Steven Jay Cohen performed the book perfectly. He captured the essence of each character and made them real. There were times I felt Cohen was Chandler or Nakamura. He has a smooth voice with the correct amount of inflection.

The audio quality and production of this book were clear and without issue.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Iron Circlet

  • By: Phil Tucker
  • Narrated by: Noah Michael Levine
  • Length: 14 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 206
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 192
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 190

The war for the soul of the Ascendant Empire is coming to a head. Factions with ill intent move to undermine or destroy that which has stood for centuries, while armies muster promising slaughter. In this time of desperation, old enemies find common ground. Ancient truths emerge to shatter long held beliefs. Monsters from myth and legend emerge onto the world stage, while blood drowns the ceremonies of the faithful.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved It

  • By To on 01-11-18

Unexpected Twists - Hanging on Every Word

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-08-18

The second to last book in the Chronicles of the Black Gate series. This book really threw me for a few loops. I was expecting it to go one way, and Phil Tucker definitely switched it up on me and kept me guessing right up until the very last chapter of this one. The character arcs are spot on and none of the characters really leave anything to be desired. Another masterpiece by Phil Tucker! I have recommended this series to all of my friends and even bought a few copies for them. I just can’t believe that even after 4 books, this series still has me enthralled. This book really does have it all too, magic, mystery, open combat even on an epic scale, and the world building is still spot on. I never get tired of hearing about the various places and lore of the world and I can’t wait to see what the next book has in store for me.

The audio quality was spot on, as always. Noah Michael Levine continues to be one of the best narrators I’ve ever heard and I am still not tired of listening to him tell me this story. 4 books, and over 40 hours worth of content later and I still hang on his every word. The man is truly an amazing narrator and I want to listen to his other works.

This installment takes place across a wide swath of the empire, but it mostly focuses on Starkadr, the home of the flamewalkers of old, and the fall of the empire. I have to say, the ending through me pretty hard and it was not even close to what I thought was going to happen going into this book. Even after 4 books, it all still feels really fresh and interesting. Audsley goes through a lot of harrowing experiences with his demons and it starts to seem like they are successfully corrupting him, or are they? Audsley is one of the strongest people, mentally, I’ve ever read that didn’t seem just overly powerful for no reason, and he is still my favorite character in the whole series.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author/narrator/publisher.
Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog.
[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]