LISTENER

William

Gaffney, SC, USA
  • 11
  • reviews
  • 47
  • helpful votes
  • 81
  • ratings
  • Wish You Well

  • By: David Baldacci
  • Narrated by: Norma Lana
  • Length: 10 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 329
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 50
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 52

Best selling author David Baldacci brings all his brilliant character-building skills to bear in Wish You Well, a literary coming-of-age tale set in Baldacci's native Virginia. Publishers Weekly calls it "his best novel yet...an utterly captivating drama" that offers "bone-deep emotional truth."

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Book

  • By Carol L. Riegel on 01-27-03

Exceptional

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-20-06

This book is a switch from most of Baldacci's books. However it is an exceptional book and may be his best work. Most of the books I listen to are historical novels, mystries, and some sci-fi. This book does not fall into any of these categories but I decided to give it a try because of the author. It is a very emotional ride. The book is so well written you will enjoy it from the beginning to the end. I felt like the characters in the book became as real as any characters that I have ever encountered. One of the best books I'ver listened to or read.

  • Dark Harbor

  • By: David Hosp
  • Narrated by: George Guidall
  • Length: 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 691
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 402
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 409

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great new author!

  • By Eileen on 10-19-05

Worth a Listen

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-18-05

I gave this book a three star rating. However, its probably more like three and a half. The story doesn't grab you from the beginning but its interesting enough that you want to stick with the story. I liked the characters but most lacked true depth to their persona. It's a good book to listen to when you don't want to get totally wrapped up into a novel.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Firewall

  • By: Andy McNab
  • Narrated by: Clive Mantle
  • Length: 14 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 125
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 26
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 25

Helsinki, December 1999. Nick Stone, ex-SAS, now working for British Intelligence on deniable operations, is tough, resourceful, ruthless, highly-trained, and desperately in need of cash. Offered the lucrative freelance job of kidnapping a Mafia warlord and delivering him to St Petersburg, it seems to Stone that his problems are over. In fact, they are only just beginning.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very, very enjoyable

  • By Robert on 04-16-05

Not Terrible

Overall
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-27-05

If you are stuck at home with nothing else to do and have nothing else to read or listen to then this is the book for you. It's not terrible. I listened to the whole thing with mild interest but that's about all. The main character is a guy named Nick. You are introduced to him at the beginning of the book while he is in the middle of a plot to kidnap a wealthy "businessman". The problem is you never really get to know or figure out Nick. He appears to be a guy who screwed up badly in his past work for the government. But he gets recruited to "save the world" singlehandedly. I would not waste a book credit on this one but if somebody gives you a free copy then read it.

  • Company Aytch

  • A Side Show of the Big Show
  • By: Sam Watkins
  • Narrated by: Dan Calhoun
  • Length: 8 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 121
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 51
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53

This book is considered to be the best account of the Civil War ever written from the Confederate point of view. It is also the one most frequently cited by historians of the Western campaigns. Sam Watkins, a high private in the Army of Tennessee, brings a vividness and detail to his story unmatched in the genre.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Company Aytch

  • By Jan on 01-14-05

Company awful

Overall
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-14-05

This is suppose to be a story by a confederate enlisted soldier. Therefore it's a good bet that he's from the SOUTH!!! Where the heck is the reader from? Wisconsin? I could not stand it and quit listening about half way through. A good reader like Scott Brick can make a good story seem that much better. A bad reader can take a good story and make it a chore to listen.

7 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • The Chairman

  • By: Stephen Frey
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 12 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 403
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 128
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 129

No one knows the dark side of "The Street" better than master storyteller Stephen Frey, author of such riveting novels as Shadow Account and The Day Trader. Now, in his most ambitious work to date, Frey proves that no writer can put a high-powered hero at greater risk, nor offer readers more thrilling rewards.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent!

  • By J. Anderson on 04-19-05

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-14-05

Wow. Great story that keeps you on the edge of your seat up to the very end. The character developement was superb. The main character is somebody you start out not really liking but he grows on you. Add Scott Brick as the reader and you get five stars.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • No Country for Old Men

  • By: Cormac McCarthy
  • Narrated by: Tom Stechschulte
  • Length: 7 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,650
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,065
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,083

Cormac McCarthy, best-selling author of National Book Award winner All the Pretty Horses, delivers his first new novel in seven years. Written in muscular prose, No Country for Old Men is a powerful tale of the West that moves at a blistering pace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Typical McCarthy: SUPERB

  • By David on 02-21-08

Story falls apart

Overall
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-04-05

What the heck happen three quarters of the way through the book. The story is good until about three quarters of the way through when the story falls apart. The book has no ending.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Eight Men Out

  • The Black Sox and the 1919 World Series
  • By: Eliot Asinof
  • Narrated by: Harold N. Cropp
  • Length: 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 117
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 18
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 18

"The Most Gigantic Sporting Swindle in the History of America!" This headline proclaiming the 1919 fix of the World Series startled millions of readers and focused the attention of the entire country on one of the most incredible episodes ever to be enacted in the public eye.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Very Good

  • By Chris Rowe on 05-31-07

Enlightening

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-19-05

I didn't know much about the "Black Sox" scandel. This book is very informative but very entertaining at the same time. The reader is very good which adds to the listening pleasure. If you want to learn some early baseball history, gain insight into the early baseball culture including the oppressive nature of the ownership, then this is a very good book to download.

  • Timeline

  • By: Michael Crichton
  • Narrated by: John Bedford Lloyd
  • Length: 15 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4,606
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,742
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,756

Modern science meets feudal France...dinosaurs still walk the Earth...a secret world of killer gorillas...only in a Michael Crichton thriller! Check out our full selection in our Crichton store!

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Narrator

  • By Charles Stembridge on 06-26-07

Good Book, Bad Movie

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-13-04

Don't skip this book because you didn't like the movie. The book has a good story line and good character development. Enough detail so that you understand the plot (the movie was terrible in this regard). The book moved along at a good pace. It did get bogged down once or twice but not enough to distract from the story. Its not a masterpiece and won't become a classic but it is a good and entertaining book. I would recommend. By the way, the reader was excellent which adds to the enjoyment of the book.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Truman

  • By: David McCullough
  • Narrated by: Nelson Runger
  • Length: 53 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 465
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 101
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 104

The life of Harry S. Truman is one of the greatest of American stories, filled with vivid characters and dramatic events. In this riveting biography, acclaimed historian David McCullough not only captures the man, a more complex, informed, and determined man than ever before imagined, but also the turbulent times in which he rose, boldly, to meet unprecedented challenges.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Thoroughly enjoyable

  • By Erik on 01-30-04

Very Good but Very Long

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-05-04

This is an excellent book. I learned a great deal about a great man and leader. The book is written in a way that makes you feel like you have met him personally. However, the book gets long at times with too many details.

  • Shadow Divers

  • Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of WWII
  • By: Robert Kurson
  • Narrated by: Michael Prichard
  • Length: 15 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,323
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,723
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,727

In 1991, acting on a tip from a local fisherman, two scuba divers discovered a sunken German U-boat, complete with its crew of 60 men, not too far off the New Jersey coast. The divers, realizing the momentousness of their discovery, began probing the mystery. Over the next six years, they became expert and well-traveled researchers, taught themselves German, hunted for clues in Germany, and constructed theories corrective of the history books, all in an effort to identify this sunken U-boat and its crew.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • GRIPPING!

  • By Douglas on 07-03-04

Great story, Great book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-15-04

I loved this book. It has action, it has history, it has suspense. The book also gives the reader an opportunity to feel as if you have met the major characters. I would rate this book a 5 plus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful