LISTENER

Steady and sure

Anywhere USA
  • 6
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 31
  • ratings
  • What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker

  • A Memoir in Essays
  • By: Damon Young
  • Narrated by: Damon Young
  • Length: 8 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 50
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 47
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 45

For Damon Young, existing while black is an extreme sport. The act of possessing black skin while searching for space to breathe in America is enough to induce a ceaseless state of angst where questions such as “How should I react here, as a professional black person?” and “Will this white person’s potato salad kill me?” are forever relevant. What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Blacker chronicles Young’s efforts to survive while battling and making sense of the various neuroses his country has given him.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Thank you, Mr. Young

  • By Anonymous User on 03-30-19

I wanted to like it, but...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-14-19

Performance is really poor. I had to slow tape to understand what was being said. Most of it sounds like it is being read by someone seriously congested and with lisp. But I don’t believe I would have been more engaged if I had picked up the book. You get the clear message that the author was from the hood and, at least in his mind, he is still there. And for me, that is the disappointment. The book leaves no sense of evolution, broader understanding. Nothing anyone can hold onto to help lift them up and out. Given what this is, the title offends me. Being black, or blacker in this book is simply being more angry and more obscene. He uses the “N” word like wallpaper. I’d like to treat his detailed dissection of the ways it can be used as profound, but I found his extended defense just stupid, wrong, and a resistance to come up. Overall, the book is too soon. The book lacks depth and perspective. I did appreciate that Pittsburgh landmarks were interwoven into the fabric of the book. Reminds me of my old haunts.

  • Becoming

  • By: Michelle Obama
  • Narrated by: Michelle Obama
  • Length: 19 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 86,799
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 79,000
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 78,547

In her memoir, a work of deep reflection and mesmerizing storytelling, Michelle Obama invites listeners into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her - from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work to her time spent at the world's most famous address. With unerring honesty and lively wit, she describes her triumphs and her disappointments, both public and private, telling her full story as she has lived it - in her own words and on her own terms.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Didn't know what I was getting into

  • By Kenneth Woodward on 12-05-18

Inspiring

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-08-18

Well written and thoughtful. Beautifully read. The First Lady is true to her experience and writes for history honestly of her experience as a First Lady of African American descent in a country still struggling with its multicultural identity. An open minded reader can’t help but to celebrate her joy and feel the sear of her pain. This book should be enjoyed by all but specifically speaks to the citizen whose challenges have been ignored, whose humanity has been set aside and whose promise has been underestimated. Becoming not only captures the state of our nation but the personal growth, dedication and generosity of one of the most accomplished and beloved First Ladies to every walk the halls of the White House. Bravo Mrs. Obama, Bravo.

  • The Bookshop on the Corner

  • By: Jenny Colgan
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,499
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,383
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,381

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect books for her readers. But can she write her own happy ever after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book lovers the world over, the New York Times best-selling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Misleading

  • By Alexis☺ on 05-28-17

Not very interesting

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-31-17

Book is structurally decently written, but unfortunately for me the most boring of my varied audio library. I just never got into it. The plot was lackluster and the characters not very interesting. Last hour came alive but by then the story was implausible.

  • The One Real Thing

  • The Hart's Boardwalk Series
  • By: Samantha Young
  • Narrated by: Tad Branson, Angelica Lee
  • Length: 12 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 292
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 269
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 269

While Dr. Jessica Huntington engages with the inmates at the women's correctional facility where she works, she's always careful to avoid emotional attachments in her personal life. Loss and betrayal taught her that lesson long ago. But when she comes across a set of old love letters in the prison's library and visits the picturesque town of Hartwell to deliver them to their intended recipient, she finds herself unable to resist the town's charm - and her attraction to the sexy owner of a local bar proves equally hard to deny.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Nice to hear from Samantha Young again

  • By Misty on 09-07-16

Real waste of a book point

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-17

I have read several books by Samantha young but this was So poorly written it must have been written by a ghost writer.

  • The Nothing Girl

  • The Frogmorton Farm Series, Book 1
  • By: Jodi Taylor
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,576
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,407
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,402

Getting a life isn't always easy. And hanging on to it is even harder.... Jodi Taylor brings all her comic writing skills to this heartwarming tale of self-discovery. Known as The Nothing Girl because of her severe stutter and chronically low self-confidence, Jenny Dove is only just prevented from ending it all by the sudden appearance of Thomas, a mystical golden horse only she can see. Under his guidance Jenny unexpectedly acquires a husband - the charming and chaotic Russell Checkland.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Not To Be Missed!

  • By Kindle Customer mmr on 03-28-15

An unexpected treasure

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-17

I loved this book. It grabbed at my heart strings and I believe those of any who have at times felt overlooked and different. Jenny's journey and blossom was beautiful and surprising. I couldn't move during its last 2 1/2 hours. And so wonderfully read. Thank you Jodi Taylor

  • Charcoal Joe

  • An Easy Rawlins Mystery
  • By: Walter Mosley
  • Narrated by: Michael Boatman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 601
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 545
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 547

Picking up where Rose Gold left off in LA in the late 1960s, Ezekiel "Easy" Rawlins finds his life in transition. He's ready to - finally - propose to his girlfriend, Bonnie Shay, and start a life together. And he's taken the money he got from the Rose Gold case and has, together with two partners, started a new detective agency. But inevitably a case gets in the way: Easy's friend, Mouse, introduces him to Rufus Tyler, a very old man everyone calls Charcoal Joe.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The best Easy ever!

  • By Jason Jackson on 01-20-17

Just ok

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-19-16

I've enjoyed a few Easy Rawlings stories. I did not think this story line was very strong and the performance was not very good. The African, French, and Polish women all sounded like they were straight from Kingston Jamaica. Also there were too many character with too similar names and too many nicknames. Just ok.