LISTENER

KateinTexas

Dallas
  • 5
  • reviews
  • 43
  • helpful votes
  • 8
  • ratings
  • Faithful Place

  • A Novel
  • By: Tana French
  • Narrated by: Tim Gerard Reynolds
  • Length: 16 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 864
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 792
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 787

Back in 1985, Frank Mackey was a nineteen-year-old kid with a dream of escaping his family's cramped flat on Faithful Place and running away to London with his girl, Rosie Daly. But on the night they were supposed to leave, Rosie didn't show. Frank took it for granted that she'd dumped him-probably because of his alcoholic father, nutcase mother, and generally dysfunctional family. He never went home again. Neither did Rosie. Then, twenty-two years later, Rosie's suitcase shows up.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • What a life

  • By Joyce Eriksen on 02-16-18

Not my favorite of French’s DMS series

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-16-19

French is a beautiful writer, but this one took me a while to get into the story. Kept waiting for the twist, but ending unfolded quickly and predictably. There were some flashback stories that I really enjoyed, although more nostalgic than revealing. The relationship between Frank and Rosie was the highlight for me. Left the book feeling it was a sweet yet tragic love story rather than a gripping murder mystery.

  • The Couple Next Door

  • A Novel
  • By: Shari Lapena
  • Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 13,284
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 11,979
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 11,941

Anne and Marco Conti seem to have it all - a loving relationship, a wonderful home, and their beautiful baby, Cora. But one night when they are at a dinner party next door, a terrible crime is committed. Suspicion immediately focuses on the parents. But the truth is a much more complicated story.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • These twists and turns did not make a great ride..

  • By Claudia H on 11-04-16

Great narration but story was lacking

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-06-17

This story was not at all what I expected. I kept waiting for "the twist" to come, but unfortunately found it to be a bit predictable. The narrator gives a great performance, but the story was not my favorite.

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,918
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,914

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By ilene on 09-15-15

Great narration but story fell short

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-11-17

I just couldn't get into this one. It's styling is very reminiscent of Gone Girl, but characters lack the same level of appeal. Lara was difficult to root for. If you're looking for the same grit as Gone Girl, this one's probably not for you.

  • The Witness [Brilliance Audio Edition]

  • By: Nora Roberts
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 16 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 22,544
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,132
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,092

Daughter of a cold, controlling mother and an anonymous donor, studious, obedient Elizabeth finally let loose one night, drinking too much at a nightclub and allowing a strange man’s seductive Russian accent to lure her to a house on Lake Shore Drive. The events that followed changed her life forever. Twelve years later, the woman now known as Abigail Lowery lives alone on the outskirts of a small town in the Ozarks. A freelance programmer, she works at home designing sophisticated security systems.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Classic Nora - Outstanding!!!!

  • By M. Davis on 04-20-12

Story sucked me in immediately, but payoff wasn't great.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-16

I'm a huge fan of the crime/suspense/thriller genre, so the description of this one really drew me in. I got pulled into the story really quickly and found the first part captivating. However, the shift in the story after that point felt a bit drawn out. There were secondary storylines I believed would eventually weave in to the main plot but felt a bit let down there ultimately. I'm new to Nora Roberts so perhaps I went into this with a different mindset, but it ended up more of a romance than a thriller with a slightly anticlimactic ending. Julia Wheelan is a great narrator though, so I'm willing to tryout anything she reads! Overall if you're looking for romance with suspense, this one is for you. If you're into more crime thrillers, you may want to skip.

  • You

  • By: Caroline Kepnes
  • Narrated by: Santino Fontana
  • Length: 11 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,135
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,183
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 13,165

Beck is everything Joe has ever wanted: she's gorgeous, tough, razor-smart, and sexy beyond his wildest dreams. Joe needs to have her, and he'll stop at nothing to do so. As he begins to insinuate himself into her life - her friendships, her email, her phone - she can’t resist her feelings for a guy who seems custom-made for her. So when her boyfriend, Benji, mysteriously disappears, Beck and Joe fall into a tumultuous affair. But there's more to Beck than her oh-so-perfect façade.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow. This. Book.

  • By Em on 07-17-15

Brilliantly Creepy

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-30-15

Reading "You" was like reading someone's twisted, sociopathic diary entries...which, ironically, is exactly what the anti-hero Joe does throughout the story. I couldn't stop listening as each chapter got darker, and yet still wanting to hear this "relationship" unfold. I often found myself sympathetic to Joe and hating the "victims" as the story progressed...not sure what that says about me! The narration from Santino Fontana (BTW, what a killer name) was stellar, and I'm definitely planning to pick up Kepnes' Hidden Bodies in 2016.

43 of 49 people found this review helpful