LISTENER

Eliza

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 59
  • ratings
  • 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

  • By: Jules Verne
  • Narrated by: David Case, Frederick Davidson
  • Length: 11 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 668
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 570
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 573

The year 1866 was marked by a unique incident, a mysterious and inexplicable phenomenon, and rumors agitated the maritime population and excited the public mind, especially seafaring men. Merchants, common sailors, captains of vessels, skippers, both of Europe and America, naval officers of all countries, and the governments of several states on the two continents, were deeply interested in the matter.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Lousy translation

  • By Tad Davis on 09-02-08

Unbelievably awful...

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-22-18

I am a science fiction fan through and through, reading Isaac Asimov with my father and greatly enjoying the universes of Tolkein, Sanderson, etc. I thought I would like 20,000 Leagues. Maybe I still will in print form, but this audiobook was unbearable.

  • The Picture of Dorian Gray

  • By: Oscar Wilde
  • Narrated by: Michael Page
  • Length: 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,603
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,429
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,434

This novel is indeed a morality tale about the hazards of egotistical self-indulgence. Dorian Grey's pact with evil allows his portrait to take on his many sins and degradations while his physical appearance remains youthful. Over the years as he becomes cruel and vicious, even murderous, Dorian's young and perfect body is no longer enough to salvage his deteriorating mind and morality. Will justice and good prevail?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • One of my faves!!!

  • By Cindy Hill on 04-04-15

Excellent book! I love Oscar Wilde's work.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-28-18

This book was fascinating and had the same wit and charm as Oscar Wilde's The Importance of Being Earnest. I look forward to reading more of Wilde's writing.

  • Agatha Christie: An Autobiography

  • By: Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by: Agatha Christie
  • Length: 1 hr and 19 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 598
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 532
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 518

Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • The author explains her process!

  • By Kristi R. on 07-09-14

In the last few minutes, she comments on aging

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-11-18

She is a wonderful storyteller, well worth a listen. Her reflections on aging were most striking to me given the recent celebrity suicides.

  • The Conversation: A Revolutionary Plan for End-of-Life Care

  • By: Angelo Volandes
  • Narrated by: Angelo E. Volandes
  • Length: 6 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 36
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 29
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 28

Despite billions of dollars invested in medical research and technological breakthroughs in American healthcare made to prolong and improve the lives of patients, a devastating statistic remains. Two thirds of Americans die in healthcare institutions tethered to machines and tubes at bankrupting costs, despite research that shows 80 percent of Americans would prefer to spend their last days in their homes surrounded by loved ones.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Every physician should read this

  • By Kristin on 12-17-16

Important topic, well presented

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-27-18

I enjoyed listening to this book and found the information to be well presented. It has helped me to consider my end of life care decisions and work towards creating a living will.

  • Learn Spanish with Paul Noble - Part 2

  • Spanish Made Easy with Your Personal Language Coach
  • By: Paul Noble
  • Narrated by: Paul Noble
  • Length: 3 hrs and 42 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1,022
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 847
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 786

Learn Spanish with Paul Noble combines an exciting, new non-traditional approach to language learning with the easy, relaxed appeal of an audio-only product. No books. No rote memorisation. No chance of failure.    

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • poor of vocabulary, repetition of the first

  • By Amazon Customer on 01-05-17

Great language learning audio books!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-18-18

I've really enjoyed listening and following along with Paul Nobles/ Collins Learn Spanish audio books part one and two. I have listened twice to the first part and I've just completed the second part for the first time. I'm already hearing compliments on my pronunciation and skill with sounding like a Spanish speaker, even though I know I have a lot left to learn! I'm excited to keep up with my Spanish and listen to part two a second time!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Learn Spanish with Paul Noble – Part 1

  • Spanish Made Easy with Your Personal Language Coach
  • By: Paul Noble
  • Narrated by: Paul Noble
  • Length: 4 hrs and 41 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,648
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,158
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,008

 

Learn Spanish with Paul Noble combines an exciting, new non-traditional approach to language learning with the easy, relaxed appeal of an audio-only product. No books. No rote memorisation. No chance of failure.    

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Wtf

  • By Bryan Smith on 03-26-18

¡Buen trabajo! Great Language Resource

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-14-17

I highly recommend this language learning resource. It's very clear and effective with simple instructions at the beginning. The only missing component is clear indication of how long the sections will take you, so you can know when you're about to be done with one of the CDs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde

  • By: Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 3 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,328
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,077
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,088

When a brute of a man tramples an innocent girl, apparently out of spite, two bystanders catch the fellow and force him to pay reparations to the girl's family. The brute's name is Edward Hyde. A respected lawyer, Utterson, hears this story and begins to unravel the seemingly manic behavior of his best friend, Dr. Henry Jekyll, and his connection with Hyde.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent story superb reader

  • By Jessica on 08-26-15

Challenging read, rewarding end

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-14-17

The prose is challenging in this novel. Poetic at times, but difficult to buy into and enjoy. I'm glad I stuck through and finished. The finale was thoroughly rewarding.

  • The Art of Raising a Puppy

  • By: The Monks of New Skete
  • Narrated by: Michael Wager
  • Length: 4 hrs and 11 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,032
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 783
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 775

Here is everything you need to know about the crucial first months of your puppy's life, from monks who have been breeding, raising, and training German Shepherds for more than 25 years. Their extraordinary grasp of every facet of puppy behavior has gained them worldwide attention.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Dog Person

  • By Robert on 05-11-12

Informative, concise puppy guide book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-01-17

The monks of New Skete present a ton of information in this short and small book about puppy rearing. The book covers considerations before adopting, how to get the puppy started, developmental changes to expect and some trouble shooting for problem behaviors.

As can be expected, primary points are about consistent schedule and expectations, regular exercise and quality nutrition as the foundation for a healthy and happy pup. This is not a positive reinforcement type of training, as the monks advocate leash corrections. However, the book includes thorough explanation of the correcting procedure, a small discussion of their philosophy and a warning against over correcting.

  • Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions

  • By: Edwin Abbott
  • Narrated by: Alan Munro
  • Length: 4 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 393
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 351
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 354

Abbott used the fictional two-dimensional world of Flatland to offer pointed observations on the social hierarchy of Victorian culture. However, the novella's more enduring contribution is its examination of dimensions, for which the novella is still popular amongst mathematics, physics, and computer science students. Several films have been made from the story, including a feature film in 2007 called Flatland. Other efforts have been short or experimental films, including one narrated by Dudley Moore and a short film with Martin Sheen titled Flatland: The Movie.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Story, Terrible Narrator

  • By Heather on 11-07-12

Takes a while to get into

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-19-16

This book was difficult to stick through. I tried on multiple occasions but really had to be in the perfect mood and have some curiosity to get to the end. Thankfully, it was well worth the struggle and I'd recommend it for others who enjoy such thoughtful comments on late 19th century society and mathematics.