LISTENER

Taylor

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 8
  • ratings
  • Six-Figure Musician: How to Sell More Music, Get More People to Your Shows, and Make More Money in the Music Business

  • Music Marketing [dot] com Presents
  • By: David Hooper
  • Narrated by: Chris Caldwell
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 274
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 237
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 236

You're in a career where it's considered "normal" to be broke. If you were doing anything else for a living, you'd have given up by now.

And I'm sure there are people in your life who wish you'd do just that... They want you to settle down, get a "real" job, and make music a hobby. Screw 'em. The truth is, if you know what to do, you can make a lot of money as a musician. This book shows you what to do.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Cool Guide for Cool Musicians

  • By Nikita on 06-11-15

Interesting tips for any working musician!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-24-18

This was an interesting book for any artists or bands out there trying to make it in the changing world of today’s music business, with ideas for promoting and selling yourself and getting more people to your shows and to buy your music. I enjoyed all of the insider knowledge and stories and anecdotes about real successful artists. There were some ideas, like buying drinks for all of your fans and giving out free shirts & DVD’s that just didn’t seem sustainable to me. Though I understand the idea of making that connection with fans, it just seems like having to buy new fans yourself, and not many artists can afford to do that. I definitely plan to use other ideas and help share them with musician friends.

  • The Well-Balanced Teacher

  • How to Work Smarter and Stay Sane Inside the Classroom and Out
  • By: Mike Anderson
  • Narrated by: Gary L Willprecht
  • Length: 4 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 34
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 30
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 30

You've probably heard the advice put on your own oxygen mask before assisting others. This is true both in airplanes and in classrooms. You have to take care of yourself before you can help someone else. If teachers are stressed out and exhausted, how can they have the patience, positive energy, and enthusiasm to provide the best instruction for students? Author Mike Anderson asked that question as a teacher himself, and the answers he found form the basis of The Well-Balanced Teacher.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A+

  • By christy on 04-20-13

Highly recommend for all teachers!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-13-16

I enjoyed reading this book at the beginning of my 6th school year. It reminded me of things I already try to do to keep my life balanced between work and home, and suggested other new things to try. It's only 4 hours long, so it's easy to listen through the whole thing in a few commutes to and from work. Fellow Teacher friends, check it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Dearly Devoted Dexter

  • Dexter, Book 2
  • By: Jeff Lindsay
  • Narrated by: Jeff Lindsay
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,046
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 948
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 944

Dexter Morgan has been under considerable pressure. It’s just not easy being an ethical serial killer - especially while trying to avoid the unshakable suspicions of the dangerous Sergeant Doakes (who believes Dexter is a homicidal maniac... which, of course, he is). In an attempt to throw Doakes off his trail, Dexter has had to slip deep into his foolproof disguise. While not working as a blood-spatter analyst for the Miami Police Department, he now spends nearly all his time with his cheerful girlfriend, Rita....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great Dexter story!

  • By Taylor on 09-05-16

Another great Dexter story!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-05-16

I'm really enjoying going through and listening to all of the books in the Dexter series. Having discovered the TV series first, I was a big fan, and this is like rediscovering it all over again, because these are all different stories than the TV show. Fans of Dexter, I recommend you read (or listen to it) the book series that it was based off of!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • My Year of Running Dangerously

  • By: Tom Foreman
  • Narrated by: Tom Foreman
  • Length: 6 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,102
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,916
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,905

As a journalist whose career spans three decades, CNN correspondent Tom Foreman has reported from the heart of war zones, riots, and natural disasters. He has interviewed serial killers and been in the line of fire. But the most terrifying moment of his life didn't occur on the job - it occurred at home, when his 18-year-old daughter asked, "How would you feel about running a marathon with me?"

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • ESPECIALLY Good for Those of Us Who Don't Run!

  • By Gillian on 04-12-16

Great, funny story about running and how it adds to your life!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-13-16

I loved the book! Tom's account of his re-entrance to the world of running was humorous, genuine, humble and I learned a lot as someone who has recently discovered my own passion for running. I was inspired by his passion and the lessons he learned about why he likes to run and how it helps him to be in touch with each moment and live life more fully. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone!

  • The Working Dad's Survival Guide

  • By: Scott Behson
  • Narrated by: Scott Behson
  • Length: 6 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 26
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 25

Most fathers today strive to be both successful in their careers and loving, involved dads. It sometimes seems like an impossible tug-of-war. But it doesn't have to be. The Working Dad's Survival Guide helps dads understand they are not alone and offers a series of concrete time and life management strategies that enable them to succeed in their careers while also being the present, involved fathers they always wanted to be.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Super interesting book!

  • By Cristian on 06-08-16

Great tips for Dads

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-20-16

I loved this book, it challenged me and gave me several new ideas for approaching balance between work & family life. I'd recommend to all fathers who want to be the best provider they can be for their families, but still be as involved as they can with their children. I'm also going to try and organize my own "beer-fire"!