LISTENER

Christine

CLARKSVILLE, TN, United States
  • 3
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 11
  • ratings
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,788
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,258
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 6,253

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Hilarious and heartwarming!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-13

What did you love best about Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

Jenny Lawson is downright hilarious.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Sorry Jenny, but I think it's Victor. He reminds me a lot of myself when I'm dealing with my goofy boyfriend. Just having to give that look of "Really?...."

Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, she doesn't have any others available on Audible, but I wish she did!!!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I wanted to, but I listen to it at work so only could do 4-5 hours at a time.

  • The Hour I First Believed

  • A Novel
  • By: Wally Lamb
  • Narrated by: George Guidall
  • Length: 25 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 978
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 647
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 648

When high-school teacher Caelum Quirk and his wife, Maureen, move to Littleton, Colorado, they both get jobs at Columbine High School. In April 1999, while Caelum is away, Maureen finds herself in the library at Columbine, cowering in a cabinet and expecting to be killed. Miraculously, she survives. But when Caelum and Maureen flee to an illusion of safety on the Quirk family's Connecticut farm, they discover that the effects of chaos are not easily put right.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • excellent all around yarn

  • By G. on 01-10-09

Love the book, not the narrator

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-06-12

What did you love best about The Hour I First Believed?

I absolutely adore anything by Wally Lamb. His books are so real and moving.

Did George Guidall do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

He did, but perhaps to a fault. He would do what I guess he considered a feminine voice for women which was really off-putting. There were times when it was almost insulting.

  • How to Be a Woman

  • By: Caitlin Moran
  • Narrated by: Caitlin Moran
  • Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,978
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,809
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,800

Though they have the vote and the Pill and haven't been burned as witches since 1727, life isn't exactly a stroll down the catwalk for modern women. They are beset by uncertainties and questions: Why are they supposed to get Brazilians? Why do bras hurt? Why the incessant talk about babies? And do men secretly hate them? Caitlin Moran interweaves provocative observations on women's lives with laugh-out-loud funny scenes from her own, from adolescence to her development as a writer, wife, and mother.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Hysterical manual for the 21st century woman

  • By mendolynne on 11-05-12

Beyond happy

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-06-12

Would you consider the audio edition of How to Be a Woman to be better than the print version?

Haven't read the print version

What was one of the most memorable moments of How to Be a Woman?

Just about any sentence was memorable. Caitlin is a absolutely hilarious and insightful woman.

What does Caitlin Moran bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Most definitely.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. I listened to it in my car and there were times I would park at my destination and just sit there so I could listen to a little bit more.

Any additional comments?

If you don't get this book you are definitely missing out on a great piece of literature.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful