LISTENER

Jade

United States
  • 2
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 2
  • ratings
  • Man Up!

  • Tales of My Delusional Self-Confidence
  • By: Ross Mathews, Gwyneth Paltrow (foreword), Chelsea Handler (afterword)
  • Narrated by: Ross Mathews
  • Length: 5 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 670
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 610
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 609

As a young kid growing up in a farm town, Ross Mathews might as well have wished for a pet unicorn or a calorie-free cookie tree to grow in his front yard. Either of those far-fetched fantasies would have been more likely to come true than his real dream: working in television in Hollywood, California. Seriously, that stuff just doesn't happen to people like Ross. But guess what. It totally did.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Seriously funny!

  • By Ludimila on 06-29-13

Ross is Amazing!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-29-14

Would you consider the audio edition of Man Up! to be better than the print version?

Absolutely because listening to Ross trumps reading it! Listening to him read the book brings the stories to life.

Any additional comments?

Anyone who is a fan of Ross Mathews or likes a good memoir with some laughs should buy this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened

  • A Mostly True Memoir
  • By: Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by: Jenny Lawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,391
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,885
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,883

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How the Bloggess almost made me crash my car!

  • By D. S. Smith on 05-19-12

Strong overall

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-29-14

What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

I loved the musical effects in every chapter.

What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

I haven't read/listened to any other book similar to this one. The stories are unbelievable!

Any additional comments?

The beginning of the book is amazing and carries throughout but at the end I to the point where I thought, did this stuff really happen?! Nonetheless, a great book to listen to on a commute.