LISTENER

Chris

Port Medway, Nova Scotia
  • 9
  • reviews
  • 13
  • helpful votes
  • 50
  • ratings
  • The Turn of the Screw

  • By: Henry James
  • Narrated by: Emma Thompson, Richard Armitage - introduction
  • Length: 4 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,415
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,266
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 2,253

Academy Award, Golden Globe, and Emmy winner Emma Thompson lends her immense talent and experienced voice to Henry James' Gothic ghost tale, The Turn of the Screw. When a governess is hired to care for two children at a British country estate, she begins to sense an otherworldly presence around the grounds. Are they really ghosts she's seeing? Or is something far more sinister at work?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great, but Mightn't be the Best on Audible

  • By Gillian on 03-16-16

Wanted to love it .....

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-14-18

I’m a big fan of classics; however, I found this story to be quite dull. The wordiness of the prose was stifling. The story itself was not thrilling, frightening, nor very entertaining.

  • The Clan of the Cave Bear

  • Earth's Children, Book 1
  • By: Jean M. Auel
  • Narrated by: Sandra Burr
  • Length: 19 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,438
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,346
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,361

This novel of awesome beauty and power is a moving saga about people, relationships, and the boundaries of love. Through Jean M. Auel’s magnificent storytelling we are taken back to the dawn of modern humans, and with a girl named Ayla we are swept up in the harsh and beautiful Ice Age world they shared with the ones who called themselves the Clan of the Cave Bear. A natural disaster leaves the young girl wandering alone in an unfamiliar and dangerous land until she is found by a woman of the Clan, people very different from her own kind. To them, blonde, blue-eyed Ayla looks peculiar and ugly—she is one of the Others, those who have moved into their ancient homeland; but Iza cannot leave the girl to die and takes her with them. Iza and Creb, the old Mog-ur, grow to love her, and as Ayla learns the ways of the Clan and Iza’s way of healing, most come to accept her. But the brutal and proud youth who is destined to become their next leader sees her differences as a threat to his authority. He develops a deep and abiding hatred for the strange girl of the Others who lives in their midst, and is determined to get his revenge.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Clan of the Cave Bear

  • By Terri on 06-13-08

Finally got used to the narrator

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-26-18

Classic story and very informative. A bit repetitive, but good for children and easy to follow while driving or at bedtime. This was recorded prior to actors and voice actors performing for audiobooks. It took me three attempts to start this book because I found the narrator’s voice annoying. I finally got used to it so if you are in the same cap I was, persevere and hopefully you’ll get through and enjoy the book too.

  • The Good Earth

  • By: Pearl S. Buck
  • Narrated by: Anthony Heald
  • Length: 10 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,540
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,424
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,445

This Pulitzer Prize-winning classic tells the poignant tale of a Chinese farmer and his family in old agrarian China. The humble Wang Lung glories in the soil he works, nurturing the land as it nurtures him and his family. Nearby, the nobles of the House of Hwang consider themselves above the land and its workers; but they will soon meet their own downfall. The working people riot, breaking into the homes of the rich and forcing them to flee. When Wang Lung shows mercy to one noble and is rewarded, he begins to rise in the world, even as the House of Hwang falls.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow

  • By Ryan on 05-08-10

A beautifully written classic

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-07-17

I loved the imagery and the characters. A beautifully written and timeless story for generation after generation.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,187
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,036
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,020

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Star Start, Wowed.

  • By green ice cream garden on 06-28-16

A Genuine Thriller

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-26-16

I was actually on the edge of my seat with this book. Many claim the genre thriller, but most don't deliver. This one does. Well written. Fully developed characters. Excellent narration.

  • The Ugly Duckling

  • By: Hans Christian Andersen
  • Narrated by: Cher
  • Length: 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 9
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 6

This beloved fairy tale by Hans Christian Andersen about a lonely outcast duckling who is transformed into a beautiful swan offers a magical glimpse into the realm of human nature. Cher narrates this charming and entertaining rendition, which represents storytelling at its best. Musical accompaniment by Patrick Ball enhances the narration. Ages four and up.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • My favourite version

  • By Chris on 10-07-16

My favourite version

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-16

Cher does a wonderful job with this classic tale. Her timing and inflection add depth to the listening experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Tales of the City

  • Tales of the City, Book 1
  • By: Armistead Maupin
  • Narrated by: Frances McDormand
  • Length: 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,049
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 945
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 946

For more than three decades Armistead Maupin's Tales of the City has blazed its own trail through popular culture...from a groundbreaking newspaper serial, to a classic novel, to a television event that entranced millions around the world. The first of six novels about the denizens of the mythic apartment house at 28 Barbary Lane, Tales of the City is both a sparkling comedy of manners and an indelible portrait of an era that changed forever the way we live.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sparkling, Witty and Touching!

  • By Nancy J on 01-19-14

Frances falls short

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-16

I love Frances as an actress but not for reading this book. A limited range with the voices and characters. And there was a lot to work with here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • The Relic Master

  • A Novel
  • By: Christopher Buckley
  • Narrated by: James Langton
  • Length: 10 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 506
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 461
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 460

The year is 1517. Dismas is a relic hunter: one who procures "authentic" religious relics for wealthy and influential clients. His two most important patrons are Frederick the Wise, elector of Saxony; and soon-to-be Cardinal Albrecht of Mainz. While Frederick is drawn to the recent writing of Martin Luther, Albrecht pursues the financial and political benefits of religion and seeks to buy a cardinalship through the selling of indulgences.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fantastic -- and hilarious

  • By Actor on 12-17-15

Great story. Interesting narration.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-18-16

I liked this book a lot. One of my favourite genres snd settings. My first by this author. James Langton is one of my favourite narrators, but the protagonist 'Dismus' sounded very little different from the narrator's voice - which I struggled with. Also, as a fan of the Charles Lennox mysteries, I kept seeing Charles and his brother Edmund pop up in the book in my minds eye. With such diversity of characters in Mr. Langton's repertoire, I would have appreciated different character voices.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Ruby in Her Navel

  • By: Barry Unsworth
  • Narrated by: Andrew Sachs
  • Length: 12 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 24
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 21

Thurstan, a young Norman and would-be Knight at the Court of King Roger in Palermo, has been in love since boyhood with Lady Alicia, now returned a widow from the Holy Land. Thurstan soon finds himself caught in a tangle of plots.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Well-Earned Five Stars for this Gem

  • By Ilana on 12-11-14

A new favourite!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-08-16

An excellent pairing of intriguing story and expert narration. Barry Unsworth gives us poetic dialogue, intriguing characters and sumptuous imagery. Andrew Sachs provides a wonderful performance - adding to the depth and character of the novel.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • My Name Is Red

  • By: Orhan Pamuk, Erdag Goknar - translator
  • Narrated by: John Lee
  • Length: 20 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 383
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 277
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 284

At once a fiendishly devious mystery, a beguiling love story, and a brilliant symposium on the power of art, My Name Is Red is a transporting tale set amid the splendor and religious intrigue of 16th-century Istanbul, from one of the most prominent contemporary Turkish writers.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Complex and interesting

  • By Kathleen on 05-13-10

Effect lost in an audio version?

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-23-14

I loved it and I didn't. Snow by Pamuk is one of my favourite books - poetic, beautifully written, intriguing and historical. However, I read Snow in print and listened to Red on audible. I liked the storyline of Red very much. I found the first person narrative interesting, however, it was easy to lose track of who's voice was being expressed. I thought the narrator had a nice voice, but found very little variance between the characters - e.g. couldn't tell the difference between the voices of Black, the protagonist, from the murderer, and the miniaturists.

I do recommend the book, with the caution that it's not an easy listen if you like to attend to the details of a story. If you like to read print as well, this is probably a book better suited to print.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful