Amazon Customer

  • 1
  • review
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 6
  • ratings
  • The Big Six

  • Swallows and Amazons Series
  • By: Arthur Ransome
  • Narrated by: Alison Larkin
  • Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 38
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37

In this (more or less) sequel to the adventures of Coot Club, Arthur Ransome returns once more to his beloved Norfolk Broads where trouble is again brewing for Joe, Bill, and Pete, the three boatbuilders' sons who (more or less) live full-time aboard the Death and Glory and the three Coots, Tom, Dorothea and Dick.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Splendid continuation of the Swallows and Amazons

  • By Andrew on 07-14-18

Parental conversation advised

1 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-15-17

Although I have enjoyed many aspects of this series, particularly the wonderful performance by Allison Larkin, I would advise parents to consider having a conversation with children about the evidence that colonialism and classism were deeply entrenched in the society of the author and his readers. In this particular book I was shocked and dismayed to hear the N-word in chapter 31. This meant that I had an important and unexpected conversation with my children that I might not have had until they were older.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful