LISTENER

Margaret

  • 20
  • reviews
  • 145
  • helpful votes
  • 110
  • ratings
  • Gunslinger Girl

  • By: Lyndsay Ely, James Patterson - foreword
  • Narrated by: Christie Moreau
  • Length: 11 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 88
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 79
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 78

Seventeen-year-old Serendipity "Pity" Jones inherited two things from her mother: a pair of six shooters and perfect aim. She's been offered a life of fame and fortune in Cessation, a glittering city where lawlessness is a way of life. But the price she pays for her freedom may be too great.... In this extraordinary debut from Lyndsay Ely, the West is once again wild after a Second Civil War fractures the US into a broken, dangerous land.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Gunslinger Girl

  • By Margaret on 01-12-18

Gunslinger Girl

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-12-18

Fun story! Plenty of twists and turns to keep it interesting. The narrator’s voice was a bit too “little girl” for me, and she placed her emphasis oddly in the sentences too often for my taste. Seems to be a good setup for a series, and I hope to hear more from Pity Jones and her friends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Paradox Bound

  • A Novel
  • By: Peter Clines
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,921
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 12,240
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,223

Nothing ever changes in Sanders. The town's still got a video store, for God's sake. So why doesn't Eli Teague want to leave? Not that he'd ever admit it, but maybe he's been waiting - waiting for the traveler to come back. The one who's roared into his life twice before, pausing just long enough to drop tantalizing clues before disappearing in a cloud of gunfire and a squeal of tires. The one who's a walking anachronism, with her tricorne hat, flintlock rifle, and steampunked Model A Ford.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Traveling through history rather than time

  • By Michael G Kurilla on 11-04-17

Paradox Bound

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-04-17

This is a mighty clever tale and a fun listen. There’s also an underlayment of things to think about. Well worth a credit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Flametouched

  • By: Brian K. Fuller
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 17 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 422
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 398
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 400

Davon wants a quiet life, but the Queen orders her new clerk to delve into the affairs of the lovely Lady Hightower to uncover the truth about the mysterious plot. He discovers that powerful and prestigious conspirators don't like meddlesome clerks, and Davon must dodge bullets and increasing scrutiny, fearing the exposure of his past life. As the clues fall into place, Davon finds that the fate of Bittermarch and the Eternal Flame itself are in his flame-branded hands.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Ten out of ten

  • By daniel frederick on 08-05-17

Flametouched

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-04-17

Great fun! Well worked out magic system provides for some clever twists and turns to the story. Fully developed characters keep the reader immersed and rooting for the heroes. I really enjoyed this! I'll try Mr. Fuller's other stories soon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • A Lady in the Smoke

  • A Victorian Mystery
  • By: Karen Odden
  • Narrated by: Mary Sarah
  • Length: 13 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 285
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 256
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 253

Following a humiliating fourth season in London, Lady Elizabeth Fraser is on her way back to her ancestral country estate when her train careens off the rails and bursts into flames. Though she is injured, she manages to drag herself and her unconscious mother out of the wreckage, and amid the chaos that ensues, a brilliant young railway surgeon saves her mother's life. Elizabeth feels an immediate connection with Paul Wilcox - though society would never deem a medical man eligible for the daughter of an earl.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • R.e.a.d.e.r.

  • By Zilly on 10-24-17

A well crafted story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-14-17

My only quibble with this book is the title, which seems to have little to do with either the plot or the characters. Please overlook this tiny flaw and proceed to enjoy an excellent mystery wrapped in a very natural romance. I throughly enjoyed the book from beginning to end, and I look forward to more from this author!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • The Wanderers

  • By: Meg Howrey
  • Narrated by: Mozhan Marno
  • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 368
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 344
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 344

Station Eleven meets The Martian in this brilliantly inventive novel about three astronauts training for the first-ever mission to Mars, an experience that will push the boundary between real and unreal, test their relationships, and leave each of them - and their families - changed forever.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Voyage Of Discovery

  • By Sara on 03-05-18

The Wanderers

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-23-17

Strange tale. I didn't really like any of the characters, but I did find them all terribly human. I'm not really sure what the point of the story was, but it was well told and very well performed. Not a total waste of time, but not particularly satisfying either.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Vessel

  • By: Andrew J. Morgan
  • Narrated by: Victor Bevine
  • Length: 8 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 186
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 161
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 160

Excitement is high when the crew of the International Space Station discovers a mysterious object in orbit around Earth. But something goes wrong, and contact with the station is lost. When journalist Sean Jacob gets wind of the situation, he embarks on a journey to reveal the truth, winding his way into the biggest conspiracy to ever face mankind. But are we ready for it? As Sean investigates, what he finds is scarcely believable, and he begins to doubt his decision to get involved.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I loved it! I couldn't stop listening!

  • By amber on 11-07-15

Vessel

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-19-16

Seemed to be a first contact thriller, but it is totally spoilt by the incredibly cheesy ending. Big disappointment.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Dandelion Years

  • By: Erica James
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory, Lee Maxwell Simpson
  • Length: 14 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 59
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 56
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 55

Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl, providing a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood. Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and, as a book restorer ,devotes her days tending to broken, battered books. When she discovers a notebook carefully concealed in an old Bible, Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Totally Engaging

  • By Sharon on 06-05-15

Silly

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-10-16

Dreadfully soggy characters. The main narrator was good, but the secondary one was awful - sounded far too young for the part.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Silent in the Grave

  • By: Deanna Raybourn
  • Narrated by: Ellen Archer
  • Length: 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,940
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,418
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,417

Let the wicked be ashamed, and let them be silent in the grave. These ominous words, slashed from the pages of a book of Psalms, are the last threat that the darling of London society, Sir Edward Grey, receives from his killer. Before he can show them to Nicholas Brisbane, the private inquiry agent he has retained for his protection, Sir Edward collapses and dies at his London home, in the presence of his wife, Julia, and a roomful of dinner guests.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Happily surprised

  • By 9S on 07-04-09

Good mystery

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-10-16

Very good story, well crafted, with interesting and amusing characters.
Several mispronounced words detract from the performance, but not enough to totally spoil it.

  • A Curious Beginning

  • By: Deanna Raybourn
  • Narrated by: Angele Masters
  • Length: 10 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,815
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,430
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,420

As the city prepares to celebrate Queen Victoria's golden jubilee, Veronica Speedwell is marking a milestone of her own. After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry - and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a hatpin with equal aplomb, and with her last connection to England gone, she intends to embark upon the journey of a lifetime.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • For fans of Elizabeth Peters and Gail Carriger

  • By L. Williams on 06-29-16

An excellent diversion!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-07-16

Throughly enjoyed this excellent mystery! The characters are well formed - smart and humorous, and the mystery has enough twists and turns to keep the reader intrigued. I look forward to more outings with Veronica and Stoker!

41 of 48 people found this review helpful

  • Passenger, Book 1

  • By: Alexandra Bracken
  • Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
  • Length: 13 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 557
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 510
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 514

Violin prodigy Etta Spencer had big plans for her future, but a tragedy has put her once-bright career at risk. Closely tied to her musical skill, however, is a mysterious power she doesn't even know she has. When her two talents collide during a stressful performance, Etta is drawn back hundreds of years through time.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Mixed feelings

  • By Margaret on 01-25-16

Mixed feelings

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-25-16

This story has an excellent premise, and I enjoyed the world building a lot. The romance was overdone, however, and really isn't believable. I felt like it was just shoehorned in there, which made the passages dealing with it rather silly.

The narrator needs to check for the correct pronunciation of a number of words. A few words were even mispronounced in a variety of ways!

Don't think I'll move on to book two.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful