LISTENER

Katie

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 25
  • ratings
  • An Enchantment of Ravens

  • By: Margaret Rogerson
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 413
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 385
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 385

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

  • By TNH on 12-20-17

Pretty good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-23-18

This book was pretty good, but I felt like there could have been a little more done with the romance. The writing was exquisite, but I would have liked more scenes with just Isobel and Rook. Overall, it was an enjoyable read!

  • The Nerdy and the Dirty

  • By: B. T. Gottfred
  • Narrated by: B. T. Gottfred, Julia Whelan, Kirby Heyborne
  • Length: 7 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 150
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 147

His classmates may consider him a nerd, but Benedict Pendleton knows he's destined for great things. All he has to do is find a worthy girlfriend, and his social station will be secured. Sure, Benedict is different - but that's what he likes about himself. Pen Lupo is sick and tired of hiding who she is. On the outside Pen is popular, quiet, and deferential to her boyfriend. On the inside, however, Pen is honest, opinionated - and not sure that she's quite like other girls.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I'm an adult, reading YA fiction...

  • By Maryana on 01-13-17

So Freaking Adorable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-02-17

You need to listen to this book. It was equal parts touching, hilarious, and adorable. And so real. I loved how the author took such a taboo subject like sex in high school and made it into something that wasn't taboo at all...just completely real and fun and REAL. Seriously. Get this audio book. It's the best book I've listened to in a long, long time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Summit Lake

  • By: Charlie Donlea
  • Narrated by: Shannon McManus
  • Length: 8 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,865
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,726
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,729

Some places seem too beautiful to be touched by horror. Summit Lake, nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, is that kind of place, with charming stilt houses dotted along the pristine water. But two weeks ago, Becca Eckersley, a first-year law student, was brutally murdered in one of those houses. The daughter of a powerful attorney, Becca was hard-working, accomplished, and ambitious. Now, while the town reels with grief and shocked residents gather to share their theories, the police are baffled.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Very sad ending to a promising young life...

  • By shelley on 09-13-17

Fell hopelessly Flat

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-25-17

So I was excited to listen to this after listening to The Girl who Was Taken (which was amazing), but this one just didn't cut it. I don't know, something about the characters fell flat...it really didn't have that much suspense...I didn't feel connected to the main character Kelsey either.
I would pass on this, instead listen to her other audio book.

  • Perfect Stranger

  • By: Megan Miranda
  • Narrated by: Rebekkah Ross
  • Length: 9 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 571
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 521
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 520

Confronted by a restraining order and the threat of a lawsuit, failed journalist Leah Stevens needs to get out of Boston when she runs into an old friend, Emmy Grey, who has just left a troubled relationship. Emmy proposes they move to rural Pennsylvania, where Leah can get a teaching position and both women can start again. But their new start is threatened when a woman with an eerie resemblance to Leah is assaulted by the lake, and Emmy disappears days later.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • ending lacking

  • By shantel on 05-13-17

Good, but could have been better

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-22-17

This book had a lot of potential, but I feel like it kind of missed the mark...I really liked the main character, but I felt like a lot of them were kind of underdeveloped. Also, the "twist" was pretty obvious and I figured it out way before you were supposed to know.
I really like Megan Miranda's style of writing, but I felt like this one could have been better.

  • All the Missing Girls

  • A Novel
  • By: Ms. Megan Miranda
  • Narrated by: Rebekkah Ross
  • Length: 10 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 4,004
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 3,597
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,601

It's been 10 years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared from Cooley Ridge without a trace. Back again to tie up loose ends and care for her ailing father, Nic is soon plunged into a shocking drama that reawakens Corinne's case and breaks open old wounds long since stitched. The decade-old investigation focused on Nic; her brother, Daniel; her boyfriend, Tyler; and Corinne's boyfriend, Jackson. Since then only Nic has left Cooley Ridge.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Stay with it

  • By Amber on 07-03-16

Pretty good, a little boring

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-19-17

This book was alright. I liked the main characters but the the rest of them fell a little flat, and it was kind of predictable. Basically I thought the story wouldn't have been all that worth while unless it was told backwards, which made it a little boring at times.

  • The Way I Used to Be

  • By: Amber Smith
  • Narrated by: Rebekkah Ross
  • Length: 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 450
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 411
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 409

Eden was always good at being good. Starting high school didn't change who she was. But the night her brother's best friend rapes her, Eden's world capsizes. What was once simple is now complex. What Eden once loved - who she once loved - she now hates. What she thought she knew to be true is now lies. Nothing makes sense anymore, and she knows she's supposed to tell someone what happened, but she can't. So she buries it instead. And she buries the way she used to be.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Rough but Rewarding Read

  • By Amber Rae on 09-10-16

Incredible

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-03-17

Wow, this book was fantastic. I am emotionally wrung dry. It made me cry over and over again, but I couldn't stop reading. it sucked me in, the narrator so completely real you can actually feel her pain and fear and isolation. Buy it.

  • Little Monsters

  • By: Kara Thomas
  • Narrated by: Phoebe Strole, Brittany Pressley
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 437
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 416
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 416

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and, strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister. Kacey's new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls - she's even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superb!

  • By LoCFo22 on 08-03-17

Absolutely. Fantastic. BUY!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-18-17

Guys, buy this audio book. The performance was fantastic, but the story was incredible. The main characters were so well-developed and interesting. Five stars for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful