• 1
  • review
  • 19
  • helpful votes
  • 25
  • ratings
  • Symphony for the City of the Dead

  • Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad
  • By: M. T. Anderson
  • Narrated by: M. T. Anderson
  • Length: 10 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 321
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 307
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 307

In September 1941, Adolf Hitler's Wehrmacht surrounded Leningrad in what was to become one of the longest and most destructive sieges in Western history - almost three years of bombardment and starvation that culminated in the harsh winter of 1943 - 1944. Trapped between the Nazi invading force and the Soviet government itself was composer Dmitri Shostakovich, who would write a symphony that roused, rallied, eulogized, and commemorated his fellow citizens - the Leningrad Symphony.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An Eye-Opening, Emotional Tale

  • By A.L.R. on 02-05-16

An Eye-Opening, Emotional Tale

5 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-05-16

Before beginning this audio book, I was only minimally familiar with classical music and had even less knowledge about the history of Russia under Communist rule. Therefore, much of the information in this book was new to me. I was both horrified and inspired by this account of life in Stalinist Russia, especially during the Nazi siege of Leningrad, and amazed by Shastakovich himself. Kudos to M. T. Anderson for clear and flowing prose and for his fine performance of it. His pronunciation of Russian names and places seemed spot on, but I don't speak Russian so I'm only guessing. I also appreciated hearing snatches of Shastakovich's music, even though Anderson's description of it was so good that the written word would have been sufficient to get a feel for it.
I highly recommend this audio book, whether you're a classical music lover or not, a history buff or not. I was neither and it has changed my life.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful