LISTENER

Brian

Apple Valley, CA, United States
  • 20
  • reviews
  • 73
  • helpful votes
  • 220
  • ratings
Saint Odd audiobook cover art

An Open Letter to Dean Koontz

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-23-15

First of all I would like to thank you for introducing Odd Thomas to the world. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Odd novels and this one is no different. With this book, the story comes full circle - taking us back to Pico Mundo. The story grabbed me from the beginning and never let go. Odd Thomas may be my favorite fictional character of all time, with apologies to Reacher and Dirk Pitt.


---------------SPOILER ALERT--------



The book ends in the the only way it could.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

SEAL Team Six audiobook cover art

View inside the SEALS's

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-24-14

Howard Wasdin's memoir of his life and his time as a Navy SEAL was thoroughly engaging. I highly recommend it for anyone but especially for any young person who is considering military service. Not that all military training is as intense as SEAL training but Howard's story will inspire you to believe that you can overcome adversity and with shear will and determination no goal is unreachable. I for one was glad that the book ended with a brief description of his life since leaving the SEALs, it really demonstrated his humanity and that what you may think is the highlight of your life may someday fade into an exciting and unforgettable footnote.

Wayfaring Stranger audiobook cover art

If you miss his prose

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-24-14

If you are aching for the wonderful use of language that defines James Lee Burke's novels by all means get this book. I fall into that category. To me his writing is some of the most beautiful prose of modern literature. If you are expecting Dave Robicheaux/Clete Purcell in different packaging - this is not it. It is a story of the Holland family and unlike even the other Holland stories I found it a bit of a departure. Not one of his best but I was engaged with the characters and found myself caring about their fates. Will Patton's narration is spot on as usual.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Killer audiobook cover art

Enter the Killer

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-21-14

Meet Victor. A cold and calculating assassin. A very good opening to a very good series. The story is fast paced and seems, to me, well researched and believable.

Mr. Mercedes audiobook cover art

A Slight Departure

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-21-14

Stephen King is known as one of the masters of the horror fiction genre, as deservedly so. His recent books such as Cell, Under the Dome and Doctor Sleep proves that he has not let the edge dull. This book was, to me anyway, unlike his usual style. Yes, there is suspense and even a couple of horrific scenes. It is even a very good listen. But not scary and no supernatural tint. I measure the scare factor of his books against "It". This is more like a fairly decent detective novel.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

The FREE Prologue & 5-Chapter Sampler of Steelheart audiobook cover art

Great Preview

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-28-13

This is an excellent concept, well written with engaging characters. I look forward to the full release.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful

Light of the World audiobook cover art

The Bobbsey Twins from Homicide Ride Again

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-18-13

JLB once again weaves a wonderful mystery full of vivid imagery and unsavory characters. If you have followed the adventures of Dave and Clete you will not be disappointed. In addition to the usual cast of characters, we learn more about Clete's daughter, Gretchen - who is a chip off the old block. A colorful character from Bitterroot, Wyatt Dixon plays a large role in the story and provides some of the best scenes.

Hellhole: Awakening audiobook cover art

The Hellhole Saga Continues..

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-06-13

Fans of Brian Herbert & Kevin Anderson will enjoy this departure from the Dune universe. This is the second in the series and does not stand alone.

The story continues where the first book left off and there is no question that there will be a third, at least.

So this book is a Second Act, albeit a good listen. We learn more about the aliens that inhabit Hellhole and there is great drama.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Deeply Odd audiobook cover art

Odd at his Best

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-22-13

Odd Thomas may well be my favorite literary character of all time. Too early to tell. Certainly my favorite Dean Koontz character. Fans of Odd Thomas will not be disappointed as a few more layers of reality are peeled back to reveal to Odd the true nature of the world.

On a purely personal note, there is a scene where Odd is in a car driving on the 15 Freeway between Victorville and Barstow, CA (Chapter 16). As that scene was described I was on that exact piece of piece of highway. Life is Odd.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Zero Day audiobook cover art

Diamond in the Rough

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-22-13

After reading the reviews, I approached this title with some healthy skepticism.

The character is unique, I'll start with that, John Puller is an Army investigator, Still in the Army. He carries a lot of cool equipment with him. He is not someone to trifle with.

I found the story engaging and the characters beleivable. There was even one character with a name so close to mine I nearly swerved into another lane when he was introduced.

To me, this character is still being formed in the authors mind, but has amazing potential for great adventures. I also got the feeling that the author did not want the story to end where it did. I'm glad to see there is a second book and that will be my next purchase.