LISTENER

negreenbee

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 9
  • helpful votes
  • 48
  • ratings
  • Christmas Eve, 1914

  • By: Charles Olivier
  • Narrated by: Cameron Daddo, Xander Berkeley, Cody Fern, and others
  • Length: 1 hr and 13 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,875
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,664
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,615

In 1914, the war which was to have been wrapped up by Christmas had - in reality - only just begun, as all sides entrenched themselves deeper into the Great War. Christmas Eve, 1914 follows one company of British officers as they rotate forward to spend their Christmas on the front lines, a mere 80 yards from the German guns. Upper- and working-class men and boys are thrown together into one trench and struggle to survive.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Beautifully "illustrated"

  • By anonymous on 12-25-14

A personal slant to a well known tale

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-22-15

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is an easy listen. The characters are well read and the story is a familiar one to most.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

yes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Five Came Back

  • A Story of Hollywood and the Second World War
  • By: Mark Harris
  • Narrated by: Andrew Garman
  • Length: 20 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 248
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 222
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 221

It was the best of times and the worst of times for Hollywood before the war. The box office was booming, and the studios’ control of talent and distribution was as airtight as could be hoped. But the industry’s relationship with Washington was decidedly uneasy - hearings and investigations into allegations of corruption and racketeering were multiplying, and hanging in the air was the insinuation that the business was too foreign, too Jewish, too "un-American" in its values and causes. Could an industry this powerful in shaping America’s mind-set really be left in the hands of this crew?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Had a lot of fun with this book!

  • By Detail-oriented on 08-11-14

Thoroughly enjoyable!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-18-14

Where does Five Came Back rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This is one of my favorites now. I learned so much from this book! I've always had an interest in WW II movies of all types and this shed so much light on many films I've seen and many more I want to search for.

What does Andrew Garman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I enjoyed listening to Mr. Garman and thought he did an excellent job of relating the information.

  • Agatha Christie: An Autobiography

  • By: Agatha Christie
  • Narrated by: Agatha Christie
  • Length: 1 hr and 19 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 610
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 543
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 530

Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • The author explains her process!

  • By Kristi R. on 07-09-14

Interesting...sort of.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-18-14

What did you like best about Agatha Christie: An Autobiography? What did you like least?

It was interesting. However, because it is an old live recording, there is quite a bit of static which makes it more difficult to understand at times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Story of Miss Moppet

  • By: Beatrix Potter
  • Narrated by: Gale Van Cott
  • Length: 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 423
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 327
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 335

The Story of Miss Moppet is a children's book written and illustrated by Beatrix Potter. The story tells of a cat who captures a mouse, and toys with him until he escapes. This version is published in the Audible Enhanced audiobook format.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very Beatrix Potter

  • By Mstv01 on 12-31-10

Classic Potter

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-09-14

Would you listen to The Story of Miss Moppet again? Why?

yes. good to have children hear some of the classic stories

What did you like best about this story?

classic tale by Ms Potter

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

yes

  • All My Love, Detrick

  • By: Roberta Kagan
  • Narrated by: Kevin S. Martin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 34
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 32
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 33

Set in Nazi occupied Europe, All My Love, Detrick follows the lives of two families, one Jewish and one German. They are bound together forever by a forbidden love. If you like Historical Sagas, you'll love All My Love, Detrick.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • horrible narrator!!!!

  • By annamaria on 07-22-14

This rendition will put you to sleep.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-30-14

Would you try another book from Roberta Kagan and/or Kevin S. Martin?

I'm unsure of the author but will definitely avoid this narrator!

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

This narrator has a very monotone voice and I just could not get into the book. Because the subject interests me, I will try to read it when I have the time.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

This narrator was so monotone that I couldn't concentrate on the jest of the story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Dracula [Audible Edition]

  • By: Bram Stoker
  • Narrated by: Alan Cumming, Tim Curry, Simon Vance, and others
  • Length: 15 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,016
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,958
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,970

The modern audience hasn't had a chance to truly appreciate the unknowing dread that readers would have felt when reading Bram Stoker's original 1897 manuscript. Most modern productions employ campiness or sound effects to try to bring back that gothic tension, but we've tried something different. By returning to Stoker's original storytelling structure - a series of letters and journal entries voiced by Jonathan Harker, Dr. Van Helsing, and other characters - with an all-star cast of narrators, we've sought to recapture its originally intended horror and power.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Well Read, Throughly Enjoyable!

  • By WickedGoodYarn on 03-11-12

Wonderfully done!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-30-14

Where does Dracula [Audible Edition] rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This is one of the best, if not the best, of the audible editions I have listened to so far.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Dracula [Audible Edition]?

The cast of characters presenting the book makes it more gripping as the diary entries are read by in a different voice and allows for more realism.

Which scene was your favorite?

This is a classic, so how can one choose a favorite scene? It is all fantastic!

  • Yellow Star

  • By: Jennifer Roy
  • Narrated by: Tavia Gilbert
  • Length: 3 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 874
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 750
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 753

In 1939, the Germans invaded the town of Lodz, Poland, and moved the Jewish population into a small part of the city called a ghetto. As the war progressed, 270,000 people were forced to settle in the ghetto under impossible conditions. At the end of the war, there were about 800 survivors. Of those who survived, only twelve were children. This is the story of one of the twelve.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A young adult biography worthy for adults

  • By i. Ski on 06-20-14

Riviting!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-16-14

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is a very personal first hand account from the eyes of a child during a horrific period.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Yellow Star?

The desire of a small girl to hold onto some semblance of a past normal life while living through a new horrible normal.

Which scene was your favorite?

Each scene was described from the eyes of a child, without cumbrances of adult experience, so each change for her was memorable.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

When she realizes that her friends are never coming back.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful