LISTENER

Sharon E. Schuhart

WI
  • 6
  • reviews
  • 25
  • helpful votes
  • 30
  • ratings
  • Everybody, Always

  • Becoming Love in a World Full of Setbacks and Difficult People
  • By: Bob Goff
  • Narrated by: Bob Goff
  • Length: 5 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 4,611
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4,197
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 4,190

What happens when we give away love like we're made of it? In the highly-anticipated follow-up to the best-selling phenomenon Love Does, Bob Goff takes listeners on an entertaining, life-altering journey into the secret of living without fear, care, constraint, or worry.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Everybody? Always? Yes, Yes, Yes

  • By Stacie Cadle on 06-26-18

AGGGGHHH another religious book, BEWARE!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-19-18

WHY don't they have to put "religious content" somewhere on the cover, like they have to put "adult content" on some other books? He said "god" about 20 times just in the dedication. You can have love without the imaginary, fairy-tale god nonsense. I will return this at my earliest opportunity!

11 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Firefight

  • The Reckoners, Book 2
  • By: Brandon Sanderson
  • Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews
  • Length: 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 22,176
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 20,265
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 20,233

Newcago is free. They told David it was impossible, that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet Steelheart - invincible, immortal, unconquerable - is dead. And he died by David's hand.Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life simpler. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And no one in Newcago can give him answers.Babylon Restored, the city formerly known as the borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Like a cherry on top of a Sundae in the North Pole

  • By Zenpaca on 01-16-15

Had to get all religous, aghhh!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-19-18

Religion and science fiction DON'T MIX. Don't put in phrases like "Yes...and that's because God exists too, you don't believe in him, I guess?" WTF? Ruined a semi-good series. They should have "possible religious crap" within all titles, to warn sane, logical people away.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Something in the Water

  • A Novel
  • By: Catherine Steadman
  • Narrated by: Catherine Steadman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29,718
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27,533
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 27,438

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water....

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Give this a HARD PASS

  • By 3dewdrops on 06-27-18

Great! I immediately began to listen to it again

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-10-18

I loved this book, all the character and the descriptive writing. Now that I know what happens, I had to immediately begin to listen to it again. It's almost as fun the second time, with the knowledge I gleaned from the first listen.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Alone

  • Generations Trilogy, Book 3
  • By: Scott Sigler
  • Narrated by: AB Kovacs
  • Length: 16 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 687
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 642
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 640

In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising, Scott Sigler's unforgettable heroine, Em Savage, must come to grips once and for all with the perilous mysteries of her own existence.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another masterpiece by the master.

  • By Dylan on 03-11-17

Performer was so bad I couldn't finish the book

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-21-17

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

What the heck were you thinking changing readers? Her voice is so sing-songy I couldn't STAND it. I couldn't finish even half of the book. What a waste of money! Your old performer was so good, and really made the stories come alive. This one was SO BAD, the author must be sleeping with her or something.

Has Alone turned you off from other books in this genre?

ABSOLUTELY. I'll be looking for that performer and make sure I don't get any other books by her for sure.

How could the performance have been better?

Keep the original performer!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • From Cradle to Stage

  • Stories from the Mothers Who Rocked and Raised Rock Stars
  • By: Virginia Grohl
  • Narrated by: Dave Grohl, Virginia Grohl
  • Length: 8 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 237
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 221
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 219

While the Grohl family had always been musical - the family sang together on long car trips, harmonizing to Motown and David Bowie - Virginia never expected her son to become a musician, let alone a rock star. But when she saw him perform in front of thousands of screaming fans for the first time, she knew that rock stardom was meant to be for her son. And as Virginia watched her son's star rise, she often wondered about the other mothers who raised sons and daughters who became rock stars.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good, but not great

  • By Espie on 06-09-17

great book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-25-17

great job. I enjoyed it all and Dave at the end too. good listen thanks

  • The Art of Asking

  • How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Let People Help
  • By: Amanda Palmer, Brené Brown (foreword)
  • Narrated by: Amanda Palmer
  • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,835
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,637
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,626

In The Art of Asking, Palmer expands upon her popular TED talk to reveal how ordinary people, those of us without thousands of Twitter followers and adoring fans, can use her principles in our own lives to "let people help".

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Reading it in your own voice would be missing out

  • By Tzachi on 10-16-15

Self-indulgent priviledged jerk asking for handout

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-04-17

What disappointed you about The Art of Asking?

I listened and listened and tried to like it, through every boring, self-indulgent detail. How many ways can you describe your every thought, breath, look, feeling? Ugh. Then, when she proudly stated that she just couldn't take money from her (rich) husband to fund her projects...that it was a matter of principle...she'd rather ask hard-working people for handouts. People who NEED money won't get it, because some of us are now skeptical due to these kind of privileged antics.

What do you think your next listen will be?

Amy Poeller

What didn’t you like about Amanda Palmer’s performance?

Nauseatingly uppity and yet trying to pretend she's humble. She thinks higher of herself than anyone I've ever met.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Anger

14 of 15 people found this review helpful