LISTENER

R8r

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 113
  • helpful votes
  • 5
  • ratings
  • 12 Rules for Life

  • An Antidote to Chaos
  • By: Jordan B. Peterson, Norman Doidge MD - foreword
  • Narrated by: Jordan B. Peterson
  • Length: 15 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36,109
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32,590
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32,309

What does everyone in the modern world need to know? Renowned psychologist Jordan B. Peterson's answer to this most difficult of questions uniquely combines the hard-won truths of ancient tradition with the stunning revelations of cutting-edge scientific research. Humorous, surprising, and informative, Dr. Peterson tells us why skateboarding boys and girls must be left alone, what terrible fate awaits those who criticize too easily, and why you should always pet a cat when you meet one on the street.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Not Your Average 'Self Help' Book

  • By LadyReadsAlot on 06-04-18

I almost returned this one!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-06-18

When I first started listening to this book, I began to get very frustrated, to the point of anger. The foreword includes a lot of information regarding the nuances of social media sites like Quora or Reddit, and then goes on to reference these metrics as a basis for the validity of this book’s origin. Personally, I don’t give a crap how many people on Quora think your thesis is great; those same people may very well idolize the Kardashians, Hitler, or Donald Trump. So, this was the moment I nearly returned the book without hearing another word. Luckily, a little voice told me to give it a chance. I mean, it DOES have good ratings on Audible, so there must be SOMETHING good about it. Then again, TB12 also has high ratings and that book is nothing more than an advertisement for Tom Brady’s other income streams. I loathe that book. Regardless, I gave 12 Rules for Life a chance and I’m very glad I did. Aside from the earlier misstep, this book is great. The writing is intelligent without being condescending; it’s relatable, engaging, thoughtful, and humorous. There are many lengthy religious analogies, which may bother some people, but they’re not without purpose. So, for those of you who find that offensive, please, bear with him, he’s not trying to convert you. The author references religious influence, biblical stories, and religious culture without judgement or bias, it’s simply to illustrate how religion plays a part in humanity whether you are a believer, atheist, or agnostic. Whoever you are, wherever you are on your journey, this book will make you think. More importantly, it will probably make you a better person.

  • Bluefishing

  • The Art of Making Things Happen
  • By: Steve Sims
  • Narrated by: Steve Sims
  • Length: 3 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,009
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 915
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 911

The man who created Bluefish, the internationally famous company that makes once-in-a-lifetime events happen for the rich and famous, reveals to the rest of us his trade secrets for making things happen. Steve Sims' day job is to make the impossible possible. With his help and expertise, his clients' fantasies and wildest dreams come true. Getting married by the Pope in the Vatican, being serenaded by Elton John, and connecting with powerful business moguls like Elon Musk are just a few of the many projects he has worked on.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Hella good

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-18-18

Very little actionable advice, mostly blather.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-17-18

The author makes several references to his book as being, "The Bluefishing Playbook." It's not really a playbook; it's more like a bunch of mediocre tips with a lot of blathering on about how this tip or that tip helped him find his individual success. They're all reasonable pieces of advice but, unfortunately, they're all on nearly every other list of entrepreneurial success tips. One such piece of great advice this author offers is, "get someone important or influential to write a lot of great stuff about you." He then goes on to explain how a 7-page story in one magazine (Forbes, maybe?) got him more work than any self-promotion did.

No shit.

There's absolutely no advice or, "secret info" on how to actually make contact with an individual at Forbes and get them to write a 7-page story about your company. I'm sure every entrepreneur on Earth knows that this would be incredibly helpful in acquiring more clients, work, etc. If you don't already know this, you're not an entrepreneur.

  • Stealing Fire

  • How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We Live and Work
  • By: Steven Kotler, Jamie Wheal
  • Narrated by: Fred Sanders
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,131
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,627
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,614

The authors of the best-selling Bold and The Rise of Superman explore altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink's Drive and Charles Duhigg's Smarter Faster Better.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Very disappointing. Not what it promises to be.

  • By R8r on 03-18-17

Very disappointing. Not what it promises to be.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-18-17

Would you try another book from Steven Kotler and Jamie Wheal and/or Fred Sanders?

No. After purchasing Stealing Fire, I feel like I got "burned."
The book promises to be, "a guidebook for anyone who wants to radically upgrade their life." Unfortunately, it's just a guidebook to entice you into joining their training which costs $700 annually.

Has Stealing Fire turned you off from other books in this genre?

No. Just the author and his team of people who clearly wrote this book as nothing more than a means to sell their $700 "training."

Have you listened to any of Fred Sanders’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes. It's on par with his other work.

What did you take away from Stealing Fire that you can apply to your work?

I learned that an entire "guidebook" can be written without giving any truly actionable guidance other than, "you should pay me $700 to get the REAL advice you were seeking when you bought my audiobook."
I also learned that an entire audiobook lasting 8 hours, 24 minutes can be nothing more than marketing. If I wanted to be an asshole, maybe I'd apply these lessons to my own endeavors but my ethics won't let me.

Any additional comments?

If you feel a need to satisfy your curiosity about this book, be prepared to take advantage of Audible's generous return policy; I certainly did.

112 of 124 people found this review helpful

  • Bird by Bird

  • Some Instructions on Writing and Life
  • By: Anne Lamott
  • Narrated by: Susan Bennett
  • Length: 6 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,252
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,026
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,003

A New York Times best-selling author of both fiction and nonfiction, Anne Lamott was also the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship. As much a guide to writing as an exploration of the emotional challenges of being a writer, Bird by Bird offers a candid and often humorous look at how to tackle these varied obstacles.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A funny listen, but no writing samples to speak of

  • By Alice on 04-12-15

Lessons for life and writing.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-25-16

Beautiful performance by the reader who does an incredible job of capturing (what I believe is) the true heart of the author. I'll be completely honest and tell you that I have never been much of a reader - very little can hold my attention for more than an hour or so. Fortunately, this audiobook was able to do so, and to keep me longing for more when life would so rudely interrupt.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Born for This

  • How to Find the Work You Were Meant to Do
  • By: Chris Guillebeau
  • Narrated by: Mike Chamberlain
  • Length: 7 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 654
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 593
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 594

Chris Guillebeau, the best-selling author of The $100 Start Up, has created a practical, actionable guide that can help you turn your passion into paychecks - whether within a traditional company or business, or by striking out on your own.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Nice Concepts That Might Be Difficult To Do

  • By Gillian on 02-06-17

Disappointing

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-12-16

The narrator does a really good job of making some thinly laced pep talks sound more credible. Unfortunately, that's about all you get. The content is about as, "empty calorie" as it could possibly be and still be called a book. There's nothing here you can't read on a million other blogs written by folks with equally inflated credentials. I felt as if I was listening to a rambling brainstorm session by every other know-it-all who has actually accomplished very little. The author's suggestions make me think he's the kind of person who walks by a camera while it was filming a commercial and know he thinks he's a thespian. The guy who got lucky when purchasing 5 shares of Tesla stock and thinks he should give Warren Buffet some investment advice. Save your money, read a blog.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful