LISTENER

TNH

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 34
  • ratings
  • Highly Illogical Behavior

  • By: John Corey Whaley
  • Narrated by: Robbie Daymond, Julia Whelan
  • Length: 6 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 186
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 176
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 176

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn't left the house in three years, which is fine by him. Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she's being realistic). But how can she prove she deserves a spot there? Solomon is the answer. Determined to "fix" Sol, Lisa thrusts herself into his life, introducing him to her charming boyfriend, Clark, and confiding her fears in him. Soon all three teens are far closer than they thought they'd be, and when their facades fall down, their friendships threaten to collapse as well.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • It's illogical not to give this a try

  • By FanB14 on 06-24-16

Fantastic book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-05-18

As an agoraphobe, this book really hit home (pun intended) for me. I really loved that the author didn't try to glorify or romanticize mental illness or make all of the characters highly likeable, but that's what made it so good. The narration was also really good, which really added to the story. I can't recommend this book enough - go read it right now (I read it in one sitting)!

  • East

  • By: Edith Pattou
  • Narrated by: Lee Adams, Robertson Dean, Kirby Heyborne, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 156
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 139
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 141

Rose is the youngest of seven children, meant to replace her dead sister. Maybe because of that, she’s never really fit in. She’s always felt different, out of place, a restless wanderer in a family of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with it—in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family—she readily agrees.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Frmom an East of the Sun, West of the Moon Fan

  • By Here-and-faraway on 09-17-12

One day read!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-22-18

I loved this book so much I finished the whole thing in one day. I read this a long time ago when it first came out and I remember loving it then, so on a whim I got the audiobook even though I remembered next to nothing about the plot. I was absolutely not disappointed - especially when I found out that the sequel is being released tomorrow!

  • Rhapsodic

  • The Bargainer, Book 1
  • By: Laura Thalassa
  • Narrated by: Susannah Jones
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,097
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,023
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,023

Callypso Lillis is a siren with a very big problem, one that stretches up her arm and far into her past. For the last seven years she's been collecting a bracelet of black beads up her wrist, magical IOUs for favors she's received. Only death or repayment will fulfill the obligations. Only then will the beads disappear. Everyone knows that if you need a favor, you go to the Bargainer to make it happen. He's a man who can get you anything you want...at a price. And everyone knows that sooner or later he always collects. But for one client, he's never asked for repayment. Not until now.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I'm so glad I read this

  • By Killian on 04-11-17

Captivating read!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-27-18

I accidentally stumbled upon this book while browsing and I'm so glad I picked it up! While the characters seemed a little flat to me, the plot and their relationship really made up for it. The author had a great, clear voice and narrative throughout and leaves room for a book 2 without leaving a huge cliffhanger. That said, it probably should be read with book 2, but if you don't care about some loose ends, book 2 isn't entirely necessary.
also the narrator was great at giving each character their own vocal mannerisms and tone without being so over the top that it was ridiculous, so she really made the story come alive.

  • An Enchantment of Ravens

  • By: Margaret Rogerson
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 413
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 385
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 385

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

  • By TNH on 12-20-17

For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-20-17

Definitely for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black - it reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses crossed with The Darkest Part of the Forest. The romance was definitely rushed, as was the plot, but I loved how much worldbuilding managed to fit into such a short book! The characters were interesting even though some of them fell a bit flat, but overall, I definitely enjoyed this book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful