LISTENER

Baytown Anita

USA
  • 24
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 74
  • ratings
  • Confessions of a Video Vixen

  • By: Karrine Steffans
  • Narrated by: Karrine Steffans
  • Length: 5 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 782
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 496
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 496

Confessions of a Video Vixen is the widely anticipated memoir of Karrine Steffans, the once-sought-after sexy siren who appeared in the music videos of multiplatinum hip hop artists such as Jay-Z, R. Kelly, and LL Cool J. A top-paid video dancer, Karrine transitioned to film when acclaimed director F. Gary Gray picked her to costar in his film A Man Apart, starring Vin Diesel.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Funny for all the wrong reasons.

  • By Private. on 05-16-12

Awful - embarrassed that i bought it

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-16-18

SHALLOW BORING OPPORTUNISTIC feel to it - pitiful what can be published - no substance to it

  • The Surgeon's Wife

  • A True Story of Obsession, Rage, and Murder
  • By: Kieran Crowley
  • Narrated by: Danny Campbell
  • Length: 14 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 151
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 137
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 134

In the summer of 1985, in his exclusive Upper East Side Manhattan apartment, Robert Bierenbaum, a prominent surgeon and certified genius, strangled his wife Gail to death. He then drove her body to an airstrip in Caldwell, N.J., and dumped it into the Atlantic Ocean from a single-engine private plane. The next day he reported her missing.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Well Written

  • By Susan on 12-21-17

Really good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-15-18

A touch too long - love this genre- hope for more from author
very interesting story

  • The Only Girl in the World

  • A Memoir
  • By: Maude Julien
  • Narrated by: Elisabeth Rodgers
  • Length: 7 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 513
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 478
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 479

Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor - raising her in isolation and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Difficult to Express How Much I Recommend This Boo

  • By Deborah on 01-11-18

full of stories of horrific animal abuse

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-13-18

if you like 30 minutes straight of a recount of animal abuse to their pet dog and more
animal abuse stories throughout...

terrible god-awful book

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Foundling

  • The True Story of a Kidnapping, a Family Secret, and My Search for the Real Me
  • By: Paul Joseph Fronczak, Alex Tresniowski
  • Narrated by: Kirby Heyborne
  • Length: 11 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 584
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 534
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 539

The Foundling tells the incredible and inspiring true story of Paul Fronczak, a man who recently discovered via a DNA test that he was not who he thought he was - and set out to solve two 50-year-old mysteries at once. Along the way he upturned the genealogy industry, unearthed his family's deepest secrets, and broke open the second longest cold-case in US history, all in a desperate bid to find out who he really is.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Prepare yourself for a journey that will take you to shocking places!

  • By OUChris on 04-04-17

Unbelievably Moving

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-09-18

Wonderful - thank you for sharing your life with this wonderfully written and very engaging book.
I truly loved your book.

  • An Abbreviated Life

  • A Memoir
  • By: Ariel Leve
  • Narrated by: Martha Plimpton
  • Length: 5 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 87
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 80

A beautiful, startling, and candid memoir about growing up without boundaries, in which Ariel Leve recalls with candor and sensitivity the turbulent time she endured as the only child of an unstable poet for a mother and a beloved but largely absent father, and explores the consequences of a psychologically harrowing childhood as she seeks refuge from the past and recovers what was lost.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • It's a pretty good book. Not the best not the worst.

  • By Ann Eliza Sweeney on 07-02-16

TERRIBLE -Author HIDES from her poor elderly mother

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-04-18

My heart BREAKS for the authors mother! I want to run after her mother, on that New York street, and hug her!!!

  • Step on a Crack

  • By: Mary Anderson
  • Narrated by: Xe Sands
  • Length: 4 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 7
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 6
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5

For as long as she could remember, Sarah has had a frightening nightmare. In it, she inexplicably kills her mother. After this nightmare she feels compelled to steal something. Not just anything, but some particular item which seems significant. Yet over the years she couldn’t figure out the relevance of any of these stolen items. No one knows of Sarah’s problem and she has no solution, despite reading dozens of psychology books hoping to find the answer. Then Aunt Kat, her mother’s sister whom Sarah has never met comes to visit which begins a frustrating weekend.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Grabbed me from the first sentence!

  • By MissSusie66 on 02-28-12

wonderfully gripping

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-28-18

beautifully written; different in a wonderful way; couldn’t wait to know the ending, which was better than i ever could have guessed - on to a new book, but this one will remain in my heart. this author is so very talented

  • A Queer and Pleasant Danger

  • A Memoir
  • By: Kate Bornstein
  • Narrated by: Alice Rosengard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 147
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 138
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 139

Kate Bornstein - gender theorist, performance artist, author - is set to change lives with her compelling memoir. Wickedly funny and disarmingly honest, this is Bornstein's most intimate book yet, encompassing her early childhood and adolescence, college at Brown, a life in the theater, three marriages and fatherhood, the Scientology hierarchy, transsexual life, LGBTQ politics, and life on the road as a sought-after speaker.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Who Says Getting Old Is a Drag?

  • By Susie on 06-26-13

TERRIBLE - AWFUL -

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-26-18

TERRIBLE - AWFUL SOUNDS LIKE SOMEONE JUST TRYING, HARD, TO BE OUTLANDISH , IN ORDER TO GET ATTENTION FOR SALE OF A BOOK .
AWFUL

  • Feet of Clay

  • A Story of Toxic Faith and Redemption
  • By: Jack Watts
  • Narrated by: Janie Renell
  • Length: 8 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 5
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 4

Exposing evangelical Christianity's darker side like nothing ever has, Feet of Clay is an accurate portrayal of what life is often like working for large Christian ministries in America. Sounding more like a memoir than a novel, Feet of Clay is authentic, believable, and interesting; captivating the listener from the first minute. It's difficult to put down. It will motivate many to insist on greater integrity and adherence to Christian values by faith-based organizations.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • WONDERFUL WRITING AND STORY!!!

  • By Baytown Anita on 07-15-18

WONDERFUL WRITING AND STORY!!!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-15-18

WONDERFUL WRITING AND STORY!!! Mr. Watts. I had great peace, while reading your book and I enjoyed it, thoroughly. You don’t get to write reviews like this too often. A Satisfied Reader
P.S. I, greatly, enjoyed the narration.
It made me feel I knew Cole, personally.

  • My Fair Junkie

  • A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean
  • By: Amy Dresner
  • Narrated by: Amy Dresner
  • Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 338
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 306
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 305

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • if you don't read this I'll brandish a bread knife

  • By Amazon Customer on 03-02-18

PERFECTION

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-13-18

wow out of my comfort zone, but a wonderful book
PLEASE KEEP WRITING, AMY!! wow out of my comfort zone, but a wonderful book
PLEASE KEEP WRITING, AMY!!

  • How to Get Run Over by a Truck

  • A Memoir
  • By: Katie McKenna
  • Narrated by: Katie McKenna
  • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,310
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,212
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,211

People often say, "I feel like I've been run over by a truck." Katie actually was. On a sunny morning bike ride in Brooklyn, 24-year-old Katie McKenna was forever changed when she was run over by an 18-wheeler. Being crushed under a massive semi wasn't something Katie should have survived. After 10 hours of emergency surgery, she woke to find herself in a body and a life that would never be the same.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • How to book on gratitude

  • By Leah on 04-23-17

UNBELIEVABLY FANTASTIC

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-07-18

UNBELIEVABLY FANTASTIC
BOOK AND WRITER
So glad you made it. thank you for sharing your life and positivity changing mine-
you are wonderful *****

1 of 1 people found this review helpful