LISTENER

Shannon Thurgood

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 28
  • helpful votes
  • 11
  • ratings
  • An Enchantment of Ravens

  • By: Margaret Rogerson
  • Narrated by: Julia Whelan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 927
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 869
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 865

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

  • By TNH on 12-20-17

I don’t know where to start...

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-06-18

I bought this book because in a few reviews it was compared to Sarah J. Maas’ books. It in no way compares. It’s a story without depth and character development. I will say it is one of the best first person stories I’ve read, but that is because of her writing style not the content. It has an interesting perspective on fey. It is supposed to be about the human condition and emotions, but falls short of what it advertises. Please listen to the reviews on this one.

23 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

  • And Other Lessons from the Crematory
  • By: Caitlin Doughty
  • Narrated by: Caitlin Doughty
  • Length: 7 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,161
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,849
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,834

Most people want to avoid thinking about death, but Caitlin Doughty - a 20-something with a degree in medieval history and a flair for the macabre - took a job at a crematory, turning morbid curiosity into her life’s work. With an original voice that combines fearless curiosity and mordant wit, Caitlin tells an unusual coming-of-age story full of bizarre encounters, gallows humor, and vivid characters (both living and very dead).

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Ms. Frizzle Takes the School Bus to a Morgue

  • By Ren on 06-02-16

Thank You Caitlin!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-03-18

This is a must read for anyone interested in the world of funeral services. I found myself lost and, frankly, mortified after my experience as a Funeral Intern. (embalming/upselling/pushing families). I wanted to change the way Americans looked at death, but couldn't fathom wasting my time and money on either extreme in the field. (Licensed FD or Death Doula/midwife). Knowing there are others who have had simillar experiences to mine and still prevailed is comforting and exciting. Great job Caitlin, and good luck with Recompose! You're truly an inspiration.

The book is so accurate and true to life. Caitlin narrates so well. I appreciate the fact that she tells her own story with such...pizzaz. She pulls back the curtains that hide the world of death in the United States to reveal the depressing and violated condition we allow our loved ones to pass on in. There is no shortage of death humor, which is often found behind closed doors in funeral homes.

If you want to know what is really happening behind the scenes, this is a book for you. If you don't want to know what's really happening behind the scenes, you should still listen. You need to know what's going to happen to your body and all your family member's bodies when you die.

  • Shadow and Bone

  • By: Leigh Bardugo
  • Narrated by: Lauren Fortgang
  • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,260
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,928
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,938

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • disappointed

  • By Whovian on 08-31-18

eh

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-18

boring. slow. narrator did alright. i couldnt stay focused on the book while listening to it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • A Court of Wings and Ruin

  • By: Sarah J. Maas
  • Narrated by: Amanda Leigh Cobb
  • Length: 25 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,662
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,158
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,159

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so, she must play a deadly game of deceit - and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre but for her world as well.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Not that bad!!

  • By Amanda on 05-03-17

One of my favorite series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-28-18

The story line is impressively diverse. There are spots when many characters are introduced at one, all with simillar sounding/style names. I found it difficult to differentiate between them sometimes. performance was amazing. great to listen to.

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses

  • By: Sarah J. Maas
  • Narrated by: Jennifer Ikeda
  • Length: 16 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,151
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,354
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,358

When 19-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin - one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Entertaining!

  • By kathrine on 06-19-15

awesome book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-18-18

this was a great book. The narrators voice can seem too old for the character at time, then at other times she sounds really good. the story line was interesting and fun.

  • King's Cage

  • By: Victoria Aveyard
  • Narrated by: Amanda Dolan, Adenrele Ojo, Erin Spencer
  • Length: 17 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,931
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,609
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,595

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother's web in an attempt to maintain control over his country - and his prisoner. As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • stay away!

  • By Emily on 03-17-17

dragging on...

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-13-18

love Amanda Dolan's performance. The narrator for Cameron's voice drawled...painfully slow.

i liked that the author gave a point of view from other characters perspectives. i would have liked to see the inside of Farley's head over Cameron's. it was interesting enough, however i dont know how she is going to have a successful next book without being redunded. i wanted it to end by the time i finished this one and was disapointed when it was open for more.

  • Queen Heir

  • NYC Mecca Series, Book 1
  • By: Jaymin Eve, Leia Stone
  • Narrated by: Eva Kaminsky
  • Length: 8 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 641
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 589
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 588

Arianna is a queen heir and at 20 years old she's now eligible for the crown of wolf shifters. Heirs are trained and groomed so that they're ready should the queen perish during their time of eligibility. Of course, there's little chance of that happening. The Red Queen has stood for a century, and her power is beyond reckoning. Or so Arianna believes, right up until the final tolling of the bells. The queen has fallen. Four heirs will now fight it out for the crown.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Can't wait for the next book!

  • By Misty on 04-04-17

Great story- gaspy narrator

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-20-18

overall I loved this book. I can't wait to start the next one. at first I regretted not listening to the sample of the narrator's voice, she gasps after sentences. after about 15-20 minutes I quit noticing it. she does a good job. The story is great, it's one of the few books that has had me stressed out at certain parts waiting to see the outcome of situations. It has a great mix of action, dialog, and descriptions. I never got bored while the author was laying out a scene.

  • Trickery

  • Curse of the Gods, Book 1
  • By: Jaymin Eve, Jane Washington
  • Narrated by: Vanessa Moyen
  • Length: 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,348
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,104
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,097

In Minatsol, being a dweller means that you are literally no better than dirt. In fact, dirt might actually be more useful than Willa. Her life will be one of servitude to the sols, the magic-blessed beings who could one day be chosen to become gods. At least her outer village is far removed from the cities of the sols, and she won't ever be forced to present herself to them... Until one small mistake changes everything, and Willa is awarded a position to serve at Blesswood, the top sol academy in the world - a position that she definitely did not earn.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • WHAT WAS THAT!!!!

  • By Sarah on 06-27-17

Very Good

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-14-18

I listened to it in two days! I really loved hearing things from her quirky point of view. The main character's lack of balance was a bit over-stressed. The language was something that I really enjoyed, but if you don't like swearing, this probably isn't a good option. the narrator sounded good, but sometimes sounded really robotic, pulling me out of the story line when I noticed it. It almost sounded like her voice was sped up. It's the first book I've read from this perspective/point of view, so it seemed very dialogue-ey and less descriptive. overall, awesome! I'd recommend it.