LISTENER

Eric Cardoza

  • 9
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 13
  • ratings
  • The Last Lie

  • By: Alex Lake
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 279
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 253
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 253

Everyone lies...but some lies are deadly. For Claire Daniels, life is good. She has everything she’s ever wanted - a career she loves, friends she can rely on and a husband who dotes on her. All she needs is to start a family of her own and things will be even better than good. They’ll be perfect.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very Intense story

  • By Mystical Lady on 01-11-19

SO GOOD

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-22-19

if you like Gone Girl, and The Last Mrs.Parrish, you'll love this book. From start to finish it was exciting and unpredictable.

  • Duplicity

  • By: Sibel Hodge
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance, Henrietta Meire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,714
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,532
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,535

Max and Alissa have a fairy tale life - newlywed, madly in love and enviously rich. Then Max is brutally stabbed to death at their home and Alissa, miraculously, escapes with her life. But why was she spared? The hunt for the killer begins, uncovering a number of leads - was Max's incredible wealth the motive? Had his shady business practices finally caught up with him? Or was it a stalker with a dangerous obsession?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Silence of the Calves

  • By 6catz on 01-24-17

far fetched and ridiculous

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-21-19

the overall plot was so weird and unbelievable... but I actually didnt mind it 🤷‍♀️

  • 1st to Die: Women's Murder Club, Book 1

  • Booktrack Edition
  • By: James Patterson
  • Narrated by: Suzanne Toren
  • Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 200
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 176
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 177

Imagine a killer who thinks, What is the worst thing anyone has ever done? - and then goes far beyond it. Now imagine four women - a police detective, an assistant DA, a reporter, and a medical examiner - who join forces as they sidestep their bosses to track down criminals. Known as the Women's Murder Club, they are pursuing a murderer whose twisted imagination has stunned an entire city. Their chief suspect is a socially prominent writer, but the men in charge won't touch him. On the trail of the most terrifying and unexpected killer ever, they discover a shocking surprise.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 1st To Die - Im Hooked!

  • By Anonymous User on 08-07-18

background music is maddening

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-19

the music in the background is really distracting and gives me a headache. I'm only on chapter 4 and the story is promising but I dont think I can finish the book if the whole thing is going to have background music. it's a shame.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Bone Garden

  • A Novel
  • By: Tess Gerritsen
  • Narrated by: Susan Denaker
  • Length: 12 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,968
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,080
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,079

Julia Hamill has made a horrifying discovery on the grounds of her new home in rural Massachusetts: a skull buried in the rocky soil � human, female, and, according to the trained eye of Boston medical examiner Maura Isles, scarred with the unmistakable marks of murder.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fabulous story with excellent narration

  • By Rae on 03-02-08

worth the confusion

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-04-19

I definitely need to listen to it again, but I'm not sorry because I really enjoyed this book!

  • The Silent Girls

  • By: Eric Rickstad
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 9 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 3,085
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,801
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,798

Frank Rath thought he was done with murder when he turned in his detective's badge to become a private investigator and raise a daughter alone. Then the police in his remote rural community of Canaan find an '89 Monte Carlo abandoned by the side of the road, and the beautiful teenage girl who owned the car seems to have disappeared without a trace. Soon Rath's investigation brings him face to face with the darkest abominations of the human soul.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Warning: This is ONLY Chapter One

  • By Ted on 01-14-17

SO FREAKING GOOD.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-23-17

I got this book for free and wasn't expecting much but it was so good! there was one tiny part that was a little too much of a coincidence and ordinarily I'm pretty critical of such things but in this book I don't even care. I definitely recommend this book.

  • Deja Dead

  • By: Kathy Reichs
  • Narrated by: Barbara Rosenblat
  • Length: 16 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,474
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,296
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,306

It's June in Montreal, and Dr. Temperance Brennan, who has left a shaky marriage back home in North Carolina to take on the challenging assignment of Director of Forensic Anthropology for the province of Quebec, looks forward to a relaxing weekend in beautiful Quebec City. First, though, she must stop at a newly uncovered burial site in the heart of the city. The remains are probably old and only of archeological interest, but Tempe must make sure they're not a case for the police. One look at the decomposed and decapitated corpse, stored neatly in plastic bags, tells her she'll spend the weekend in the crime lab.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Perplexed over other reviews about the narrator

  • By R. Klein on 04-26-14

hard to listen to

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-28-17

all the french made it really confusing. French names and phrases that all sound alike when you don't speak the language. maybe reading the book wouldn't be so bad, but between being painfully slow and not understanding the foreign language, I could barely finish it.

  • My Husband's Wife

  • A Novel
  • By: Jane Corry
  • Narrated by: Rosalyn Landor
  • Length: 13 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 6,181
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 5,623
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 5,624

For fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door comes an addictive psychological thriller that's already an international sensation. When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • weak

  • By Jen Irish on 09-16-17

painfully slow

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-20-17

it's a good thing I'm a stay at home mom and can listen for hours at a time. if I'd had to stop every half hour or so like normal people, I'd never have finished this book. the author includes millions of details about the characters, then scrambles to tie all the useless details into the story.
some parts were exciting.. But the plot changes about 4 times during the story. all in all it was okay, so I gave it 3 stars.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Nineteen Minutes

  • A Novel
  • By: Jodi Picoult
  • Narrated by: Carol Monda
  • Length: 21 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,983
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,804
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,804

Sterling is an ordinary New Hampshire town where nothing ever happens - until the day its complacency is shattered by an act of violence. Josie Cormier, the teenage daughter of the judge sitting on the case, should be the state's best witness, but she can't remember what happened before her very own eyes - or can she? As the trial progresses, fault lines between the high school and the adult community begin to show - destroying the closest of friendships and families.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing

  • By Alexandria on 05-25-16

tragically profound story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-22-17

This story was written so well. I started off thinking it was going to be tragic, reading about the victims. I was surprised to find that victims aren't always who we think they are.
As a mother, who was once a shy, weak little girl, this story affected me in so many ways. I connected with characters that I never would've imagined.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Plain Truth

  • By: Jodi Picoult
  • Narrated by: Christina Moore, Suzanne Toren
  • Length: 16 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 818
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 741
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 742

The discovery of a dead infant in an Amish barn shakes Lancaster County to its core. But the police investigation leads to a more shocking disclosure: Circumstantial evidence suggests that 18-year-old Katie Fisher, an unmarried Amish woman believed to be the newborn's mother, took the child's life. When Ellie Hathaway, a disillusioned big-city attorney, comes to Paradise, Pennsylvania, to defend Katie, two cultures collide - and for the first time in her high-profile career, Ellie faces a system of justice very different from her own.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Good story, fix the reading.

  • By SarahLee on 05-04-16

SLOW

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-08-17

so slow. the story was not up to JP's usual standard, and the narration was really confusing. most of JP's books use a different narrator for each character. this one has 2 narrators and I never knew which character I was following.
I'm pretty bummed I wasted an audible point of this rather than one of her other books that I know and love. everything interesting happens in the first and last 10 minutes.