LISTENER

Steve

Metung, Australia
  • 28
  • reviews
  • 45
  • helpful votes
  • 178
  • ratings
  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,160
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,012
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,996

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Star Start, Wowed.

  • By green ice cream garden on 06-28-16

Great

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-15-18

This is a great story made even better by the brilliant narration by Jonathan Keeble

  • Commune: Book Two

  • Commune Series 2
  • By: Joshua Gayou
  • Narrated by: R.C. Bray
  • Length: 15 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 2,884
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,721
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,715

The survivors have come to settle in the mountains of Wyoming, fighting day in and day out to establish a home for themselves in a near-empty world. Things are good at first; scavenging is a workable, short-term solution that seems to be providing all they need. But they know that it’s only a matter of time before the food runs out. They need to scramble to find a sustainable solution before the clock stops, and for a little handful of people up in the mountains, the odds don’t seem very favorable.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent listen

  • By Jason a. on 04-07-18

Not as good as Book 1

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-21-18

This one starts off with a warning about being heavy on Marine talk and procedure and so it is, in spades. The detail is too much sometimes. For instance when getting shipping containers off a truck, goes on forever, each brick is described as it is put under and then jacked, doesn't work, dismantled, start again, rejacked and so on. Many examples of this type,interspersed with actual story and action.
Narration is good though.
Will not bother with Book 3 if there is one based on this.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Dream Park

  • By: Larry Niven, Steven Barnes
  • Narrated by: Grover Gardner
  • Length: 13 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 17

A group of pretend adventurers suit up for a campaign called "The South Seas Treasure Game". As in the early role-playing games, there are dungeon masters, warriors, magicians, and thieves. The difference? At Dream Park, a futuristic fantasy theme park full of holographic attractions and the latest in VR technology, they play in an artificial enclosure that has been enhanced with special effects, holograms, actors, and a clever story line. The players get as close as possible to truly living their adventure.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Role-playing to death. What is real? What is fake?

  • By The Super-duper Amazing Silver Golem on 12-27-17

1981 written and it is very dated

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-20-18

Only got to chapter 9 and just couldn't continue. Written in 1981 it comes across as very dated now. I was really looking forward to hearing this book because I like the authors and have read most of their work........but not this.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Drama

  • An Actor's Education
  • By: John Lithgow
  • Narrated by: John Lithgow
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 397
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 357
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 356

In this riveting and surprising personal history, John Lithgow shares a backstage view of his own struggle, crisis, and discovery, revealing the early life and career that took place out of the public eye. Above all Lithgow’s memoir is a tribute to his most important influence: his father, Arthur Lithgow, who, as an actor, director, producer, and great lover of Shakespeare, brought theater to John’s boyhood. From bedtime stories to Arthur’s illustrious productions, performance and storytelling were constant and cherished parts of family life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superb

  • By Diane Havens on 05-15-12

Very good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-15

Mr Lithgow has a brilliant speaking voice and combine this with an interesting life in the theatre/TV/film makes for a very enjoyable listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Blind Waves

  • By: Steven Gould
  • Narrated by: Renee Raudman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 48
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 47
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 48

Antarctic ice. In the world where hundreds of millions of people have been displaced from their homes by the Deluge - a hundred-foot-rise in sea level from melting ice caps - Partricia Beenan is lucky. She is still an American citizen with the right to live on the continent, unlike so many 'wetfoots' whose homes lie deep under the waves or the refugees from nations now completely under water.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • sappy but ok

  • By Haley on 08-03-17

Not what I expected

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-03-15

After listening to a previous book about jumping to an earlier time I was looking forward to this. However the submarine parts are long-winded, there are far too many Shakespeare quotes and there are many talks in Spanish? Which are not interpreted so you have to guess at the meanings.

  • New Tricks

  • By: David Rosenfelt
  • Narrated by: Grover Gardner
  • Length: 7 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,449
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 938
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 933

Andy Carpenter gains possession of an adorable Bernese puppy whose owner was brutally murdered. Few can rival Andy's affection for dogs, and he will do whatever it takes to insure that this little pup doesn't fall into the wrong hands. However, his playful new friend is valued by several people, many of whom are willing to resort to violence to get what they want.It will take more than Andy's usual courtroom theatrics to save this dog, including a little help from his beloved Golden Retriever, Tara.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Dog-lovers, rejoice!

  • By Snoodely on 09-18-09

I really tried to like this

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-29-13

I tried a few times to get into this book. I do most of my listening out on walks and with this one I continually found myself thinking of other things and then having to backtrack the story to try and make some sense of it. Also the main character is constantly making smart ass comments, most of which are not really funny, and this I found really annoying and a put off. As a result I did not finish it.

  • Just Me

  • By: Sheila Hancock
  • Narrated by: Sheila Hancock
  • Length: 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to The Two of Us, this is a moving, honest, and charming account of life after John Thaw, read by Sheila herself.

"Well now, prove it, Sheila. As John would say, 'Put your money where your mouth is. Be a depressed widow boring the arse off everyone, or get on with life. Your choice.'"

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Just as good

  • By Steve on 12-16-13

Just as good

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-16-13

This is a sequel to 'The Two of us'. Really enjoyed it. Ms hancock is a great narrator of her own personal story after the death of John Thaw.

  • My Mother Was Nuts

  • A Memoir
  • By: Penny Marshall
  • Narrated by: Penny Marshall
  • Length: 8 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,915
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,700
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,701

her life story going her humble roots in the Bronx to one of the most liked and respected figures in the entertainment business, also covering her marriage to Rob Reiner and relationships with Art Garfunkel, Carrie Fisher, and John Belushi, and her bout with lung and brain cancer in 2009, to Julia Cheiffetz

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Listen up - not to be read!

  • By GaylM on 10-17-12

The Voice

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-16-13

I could not get past the voice. I really am sorry but an hour in I had to stop.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Life

  • By: Keith Richards
  • Narrated by: Johnny Depp, Joe Hurley, Keith Richards
  • Length: 23 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 286
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 200
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 199

With the Rolling Stones, Keith Richards created the riffs, the lyrics and the songs that roused the world, and over four decades he lived the original rock-and-roll life: taking the chances he wanted, speaking his mind, and making it all work in a way that no one before him had ever done. Now, at last, the man himself tells us the story of life in the crossfire hurricane. And what a life....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A rare insight into a rock legend

  • By David on 02-09-11

A real character

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-16-13

If you grew up in the 60's and followed the Stones then this is a must. Its very long and if it was a real book I would have skipped bits, especially the sometimes long winded parts where he describes in great detail his guitar learning/playing, but this will appeal to guitarists I suppose. Overall I found it very interesting and certainly saw many aspects of "behind the scenes" that I was not aware of, like how they regarded each other, how he regarded the other Stones members skills and morals, what they did on tour and at home etc.

  • Heart-Shaped Box

  • By: Joe Hill
  • Narrated by: Stephen Lang
  • Length: 11 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 71
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 57

"Buy my stepfather's ghost, read the e-mail." So Jude did. He bought it, in the shape of the dead man's suit, delivered in a heart-shaped box, because he wanted it - because his fans ate up that kind of story. It was perfect for his collection: the genuine skulls and the bones, the real honest-to-God snuff movie, the occult books, and all the rest of the paraphernalia that goes along with his kind of hard/goth rock.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • One of my Favourite Books EVER

  • By Natasha Zar on 12-06-16

Narrator

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-16-13

I am an hour and a half in and struggling to keep going.
Talk about the dead dragging the living down, thats what the narration is doing to me. I find it slow and dreary and hard to concentrate on the story.