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Membership Geeks Podcast with Mike Morrison

Membership Geeks Podcast with Mike Morrison

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Join Mike Morrison - founder of the Membership Geeks - for advice, tips and insight on planning, running and growing a successful membership website plus interviews with existing membership owners and industry experts.Copyright 2026 Membership Geeks Economía Gestión y Liderazgo Liderazgo Marketing Marketing y Ventas
Episodios
  • 468 - From The Vault: Why You're Losing Members and What You Can Do About It
    Apr 7 2026

    In this episode, I dive into the most common reasons why membership site owners lose members—and more importantly, what you can actually do to prevent it.

    Taking a trip into the Membership Geeks archives, I unpack actionable strategies to tackle member cancellations, improve retention, and boost overall engagement in your community.

    xWhether you’re battling churn or simply want to keep your members around for longer, these practical tips will help you plug the holes in your retention strategy and maintain healthy growth.

    In this episode:
    1. Why do members leave after consuming all available content, and how can you continue delivering ongoing value?
    2. How can technical issues and poor onboarding lead to cancellations—and what solutions can reduce frustration?
    3. What strategies can you use to re-engage members who’ve forgotten about your site or slipped into inactivity?
    4. How should you handle pricing, failed payments, and members who leave after achieving their goals to improve retention and customer loyalty?

    Thank You For Listening

    I really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.

    What's your next step?

    If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!

    Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.

    And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!

    Key Quotes & Takeaways:

    "Techie gremlins can cause an immense amount of frustration, particularly if your members are having issues from day one of their membership. And in a lot of cases, they'll simply cancel their account rather than trying to persevere, rather than trying to figure out what's going on, and sometimes rather than contacting you and giving you that opportunity to fix the problem."

    "We've all done it— signed up for a product or a service with the best intentions of using it to its fullest, only for it to fall to the bottom of the to-do list because life simply gets in the way."

    "Even if you get a lot of signups for a product that has a high monthly premium, if those same members quit after a month, then it's likely they never intended or were never able to pay that amount on a regular basis."

    "Make use of testimonials, case studies, endorsements, and interviews so that even if you aren't in a position to offer something to help that particular member on the next stage of their journey, you can at least utilize the fact they have achieved their goals as a way of bringing in new members to replace them by leveraging that social proof."

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    17 m
  • 467 - From The Vault: How Membership Owners Can Combat Subscription Fatigue
    Mar 31 2026

    In this episode, I take you back into the Membership Geeks Podcast vault to revisit one of the most pressing challenges facing membership owners today: subscription fatigue.

    I share insights into why consumers are becoming increasingly overwhelmed by the sheer number of subscriptions and how this impacts membership-based businesses.

    I break down practical strategies for making your membership essential so it doesn’t end up on the chopping block when your members review their recurring expenses.

    In this episode:
    1. What is subscription fatigue and how is it affecting membership businesses today?
    2. Why are consumers feeling overwhelmed by subscriptions, and what does this mean for your membership?
    3. What proven strategies can you use to make your membership indispensable and avoid cancellations?
    4. How can you repackage, personalize, and communicate the value of your membership to stay competitive in a crowded subscription market?

    Thank You For Listening

    I really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.

    What's your next step?

    If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!

    Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.

    And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!

    Key Quotes & Takeaways:

    "This idea of subscription fatigue was kicking in because more and more businesses have been moving towards a subscription model. Not just memberships, but TV and movie streaming, music subscriptions, subscription boxes, subscriptions for your software, subscriptions for your car. Like, pretty much anything imaginable shifted towards a subscription model."

    "Anything which makes their relationship with you and your membership have more more of a personal connection will make the decision to end their subscription much harder when they're evaluating their expenses, particularly when they're comparing to other subscription products they're paying for that doesn't have that personal connection element to it."

    "If you bring them all together under a single product, a single payment, a single subscription, then that can make it far more likely that you'll avoid the chop when someone's reevaluating the services they're paying for."

    "The easy way to remove subscription fatigue is to remove the subscription element. So consider non-recurring fixed terms. Sell a 3-month pass, a 6-month pass. Maybe sell credit credits to your site that can be redeemed for downloads or courses or something like that. Maybe even go pay-as-you-go."

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    17 m
  • 466 - From The Vault: Why Member Lifetime Value is More Important Than Churn
    Mar 24 2026

    In this episode, I take a deep dive into one of the most debated topics in the membership world: why member lifetime value is actually more important than focusing solely on churn rates.

    I share my insights on reframing how we look at member retention and challenge the idea that churn makes the membership model less viable than courses or other digital products.

    Whether you’re struggling to boost retention or just questioning your business model, this episode is packed with practical advice and a fresh perspective on what really impacts your bottom line.

    Get ready for a mindset shift that could transform how you approach your membership strategy!

    In this episode:
    1. Why is member lifetime value a more valuable metric to track than churn rate in a membership business?
    2. How should membership owners reframe their thinking when faced with member cancellations and natural churn?
    3. What’s the real financial impact of churn compared to other business models like selling courses or client services?
    4. In practical terms, what steps can owners take to improve the overall value of each member rather than just fighting churn numbers?

    Thank You For Listening

    I really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.

    What's your next step?

    If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!

    Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.

    And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!

    Key Quotes & Takeaways:

    "If a member only stays for X months, then what's the point? Usually that's followed by, I might as well do X. So why would I run a membership? Because if members are only going to end up canceling after 10 months, then I might as well just sell online courses."

    "We debunk the whole myth that industry average churn rate is 3 months, and we actually debunk the idea of industry average at all. Now, if you had to pin it down and you absolutely had to give a thumb in the air industry average, it's more like 8 or 9 months."

    "If you get exactly the same amount of sales of a $500 course, the end result financially is still the same. Each sale of that course to you is worth $500 for the lifetime of your relationship with that person who buys the course. In the same way that the lifetime value of every individual person who joins your membership, that's $50 a month, 10% churn rate, is $500."

    "Churn rate is merely a factor in determining the end point after which you get no more money from that person. So when you use that definition, courses have a churn rate. It's just that churn rate is instantaneous because you get no more money from the sale of that course after the initial sale goes through. So it has a 100% churn rate."

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    27 m
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