Rosemary Stevens

Rosemary Stevens

Cross Agatha Christie with Georgette Heyer and what do you get? Rosemary Stevens!
--Jane Detinger, Senior Editor, Mystery Guild

Raised in Richmond, Virginia, Rosemary Stevens took home the trophy for Vocabulary Student of the Year in high school and went on to study marketing at Virginia Commonwealth University. An early career selling cemetery plots was perhaps a portent for a life-long love of detective fiction.

An anglophile since she was a child, Rosemary never dreamed that one day she would be compared to two of her favorite authors: "Cross Agatha Christie with Georgette Heyer and what do you get? Rosemary Stevens!" --Jane Detinger, Mystery Guild.

Her love of Heyer's works inspired Rosemary to begin researching and writing about the English Regency period in 1994. What resulted was her first novel, A CRIME OF MANNERS, which was a finalist for the HOLT Medallion and first in the Cats of Mayfair Series published by Fawcett, a division of Ballantine Books. MISS PYMBROKE'S RULES, LORD AND MASTER, and HOW THE ROGUE STOLE CHRISTMAS completed the lighthearted romance series.

Rosemary's extensive research led her to a fascination with Regency celebrity, George Bryan "Beau" Brummell. While he made cameo appearances in each of Rosemary's books, she decided that a gentleman of his intelligence and wit surely solved crimes. That idea grew into the Beau Brummell Mystery series, published by Berkley Prime Crime. The first book, DEATH ON A SILVER TRAY, appeared on the Independent Mystery Bookseller's Association bestseller list multiple times, and won both the Agatha (Christie) Award for Best First Mystery and Romantic Times Award for Best First Mystery. Three more books in the series followed: THE TAINTED SNUFF BOX, THE BLOODIED CRAVAT, and MURDER IN THE PLEASURE GARDENS. All four books feature a mix of real historical personages and fictional characters. "Witty and stylish mysteries with good historical background. The writing is as elegant as Beau Brummell himself." --M.C. Beaton aka Marion Chesney.

Rosemary is also the author of a set of romantic mysteries set in 1964 New York City. These stories follow the adventures of a small town secretary and her stewardess roommate in the swingin' big city. Originally published by Signet Books under the name Rosemary Martin, the first book, IT'S A MOD, MOD, MOD, MOD MURDER was listed by the New York Post as Required Reading. Two other books, TWIST AND SHOUT MURDER and SECRET AGENT GIRL complete the series.

Rosemary's latest project is co-authoring the latest Supper Club Mystery, PASTA MORTEM, with New York Times Bestselling author Ellery Adams.

All of Rosemary's books are now available as ebooks. Visit her website at

Read more Read less
You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Best Sellers

    • Pasta Mortem

    • Supper Club Mysteries Series, Book 7
    • By: Ellery Adams, Rosemary Stevens
    • Narrated by: Karen White
    • Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 40
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 40

    The cast of the old Hearth and Home TV show gather for a 25th reunion at a local bed-and-breakfast, evoking memories of a simpler time. Their nostalgic mood is broken, though, by an ambitious real estate developer who gets a little too sauced one night at the B&B and turns up dead....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Loved It

    • By Beatrice on 06-27-19

    Regular price: $17.49

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.