Lisa McMann

Lisa McMann

Lisa McMann lives in Sacramento, California. She is married to fellow writer and musician, Matt McMann, and they have two adult children. Her son is an artist named Kilian McMann and her daughter is an actor, Kennedy McMann. Lisa was born in Holland, Michigan, and she lived there until 2004, when she moved to Mesa, Arizona with her family. She and her husband moved to midtown Sacramento in 2019. They like to write on their balcony overlooking the park across the street. Her first book, Wake, came out in 2008. In her spare time, Lisa likes to take walks around the California State Capitol grounds, shop at local stores, and cook. She also likes to watch TV and movies and loves to read fantasy, realistic fiction, memoirs, and books about cooking and wine. Lisa is the author of over two dozen books for young adults and children. So far she has written in genres including paranormal, realistic, dystopian, and fantasy. Some of her most well-known books are The Unwanteds series for middle grade readers and the Wake trilogy for young adults. She hopes to keep writing books for a long time. There are 7 books in The Unwanteds series, and a new spinoff series continues the story: Book 1, THE UNWANTEDS Book 2, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Silence Book 3, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Fire Book 4, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Legends Book 5, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Shipwrecks Book 6, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Graves Book 7, THE UNWANTEDS: Island of Dragons THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS series is happening--seven books in this one, too! Book 1, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Captives Book 2, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Bones Book 3, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Ghosts Book 4, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Curse Book 5, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Fire Book 6, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Slayers (Sept 8, 2020) Book 7, THE UNWANTEDS QUESTS: Dragon Fury (coming Feb 2021). Check out the Going Wild trilogy for middle grade readers as well -- all three books are in paperback, hardcover, and ebook. For older readers, Lisa has written the WAKE trilogy, about a seventeen-year-old girl named Janie who gets sucked into other people's dreams. She has two stand-alone young adult thrillers, CRYER'S CROSS and DEAD TO YOU. And another trilogy, called VISIONS, with books CRASH, BANG, and GASP. Fans of the WAKE trilogy will enjoy this one. Want the inside scoop? Find Lisa on Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter @lisa_mcmann. Facebook Her website is Unwanteds fans should check out the dedicated website at

Read more Read less

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.