Isobelle Carmody

Isobelle Carmody

I am an Australian writer of science fiction, fantasy, children's and juvenile literature. I divide my time between a home on the Great Ocean Road in Australia and my travels abroad. I began work on the Obernewtyn Chronicles when I was fourteen years old. I continued to work on these while completing a Bachelor of Arts, majoring in literature and philosophy, followed by a cadetship in journalism. The first two books in the Obernewtyn series were short listed for the CBC Children's Book of the Year in the Older Readers category; My third book Scatterlings won Talking book of the Year. My fourth book The Gathering was a joint winner of the 1993 CBC Book of the Year Award and the 1994 Children's Literature Peace Prize. Another book, Greylands, won an Aurealis Award and a White Raven at Bologna Book Fair while Billy Thunder and the Night Gate was shortlisted for the Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature in the 2001 NSW Premier's Literary Awards. Both Little Fur and A Fox Called Sorrow received BAAFTA Industry Awards for design. Alyzon Whitestarr won the coveted Golden Aurealis for overall best novel at the Aurealis Awards. Nan Mc Nabb and were the participating editor of a two book collection of stories titled respectively The Wilful Eye and The Wicked Wood, released in 2011. My recent book The Red Wind won Book of the Year. My latest book is a collection of critically acclaimed stories called Metro Winds, and I am currently working on the final book in the Obernewtyn Chronicles, The Red Queen and another book, The Cloud Road.

Read more Read less

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.