AUTHOR

Hortense Calisher

JOIN AUDIBLE FREE FOR 30 DAYS AND STAY FOR $14.95/mo.

Best Sellers

    • Journal from Ellipsia

    • A Novel
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Gary Dikeos
    • Length: 14 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    A humorous satire and loving tribute to science fiction that delves into the tenuous relationship between science and the humanities by asking, What does it mean to be human?....

    Regular price: $24.95

    • The Bobby-Soxer

    • A Novel
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Eileen Stevens
    • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 1

    Famous playwright Craig Towle has decided to return to his New Jersey hometown, a suburb of New York City. He arrives with his world-renowned reputation and a new wife who is half his age....

    Regular price: $19.95

    • False Entry

    • A Novel
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Chris Kayser
    • Length: 21 hrs and 47 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 2
    • Performance
      3 out of 5 stars 2
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 2

    In the vein of Eudora Welty and Charles Dickens, Hortense Calisher’s astounding first novel examines a young man’s detachment from the world - and his struggle to rejoin it.

    Regular price: $34.94

    • Herself

    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Christine Marshall
    • Length: 13 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Hortense Calisher's autobiography captures the making of a distinct literary voice...

    Regular price: $24.95

    • Kissing Cousins

    • A Memory
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Suzy Jackson
    • Length: 3 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      2.5 out of 5 stars 3

    Kissing Cousins recalls the author as a teenager: peppy, earnest, and a bit self-important. Hortense Calisher documents her family's surprising history as Southern Jews....

    Regular price: $14.95

    • Standard Dreaming

    • A Novella
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: A.T. Chandler
    • Length: 3 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    This is a unique novel of parents and children - and the spaces between them....

    Regular price: $14.95

    • On Keeping Women

    • A Novel
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Dominique Bernard
    • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      3 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 1

    From within a Victorian house in the Hudson River Valley, Lexie dissects her life experiences in hopes of gaining a deeper understanding of her unhappiness....

    Regular price: $24.95

    • Textures of Life

    • A Novel
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Nancy Linari
    • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      3 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 1

    A study in motives, conflicts, ambitions, and fears as idealistic young newlyweds face unanticipated realities Hortense Calisher's second novel is a multigenerational story of art, family, and marriage....

    Regular price: $18.89

    • Eagle Eye

    • A Novel
    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Tristan Morris
    • Length: 6 hrs and 27 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    Hortense Calisher’s complex exploration of the journey of a young man whose intelligent observations cannot help him figure out his own direction....

    Regular price: $19.95

    • The Railway Police and The Last Trolley Ride

    • By: Hortense Calisher
    • Narrated by: Steve Coulter, Teresa DeBerry
    • Length: 7 hrs and 3 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Two novellas from award-winning author Hortense Calisher offering very different journeys: the first looking hopefully forward, and the second, into a painful past....

    Regular price: $19.95

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.