Frank Tuttle

Frank Tuttle

Frank Tuttle lives and writes in the perpetually humid wilderness of North Mississippi. Frank tried to be a proper Southern author and write about pickups and hound dogs, but trolls and magic kept creeping into his stories, so Frank is a fantasy author. Although hounds do make occasional appearances in his fiction.

Most of the books you'll see here are part of the Markhat series, which features a hard-boiled, wise-cracking detective in a world where magic works. Here are the titles, and the order I suggest for readers:

* Three Mean Streets
* Hold the Dark
* The Banshee's Walk
* The Broken Bell
* Brown River Queen
* The Five Faces
* The Darker Carnival
* Way Out West
* Knob Hill Haunt (a Mama Hog short story, featuring characters from the novels)

I also have a Young Adult series!

* Saving the Sammi (novella)
* All the Paths of Shadow (novel)
* All the Turns of Light (novel)
* Every Wind of Change (novel)

All the Paths of Shadow, All the Turns of Light, and Every Wind of Change are part of a planned 4 book series (the Paths of Shadow series). But each book stands alone! I don't write cliff-hanger endings. You have my word on that.

Finally, anthologies of my short stories (most published in print in the 1990s) are also available here on Amazon.

* Wistril Compleat
* On the Road
* The Far Corners
* Passing the Narrows
* The New Author's Guide to Writing

The University of Mississippi did a documentary on Frank. You can view this short film at

Frank welcomes your comments, and can always be reached via email at, or through his website,

Read more Read less

You're getting a free audiobook.
$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Best Sellers

    • Three Mean Streets

    • The Markhat Files Series, Book 1
    • By: Frank Tuttle
    • Narrated by: Conner Goff
    • Length: 5 hrs and 41 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 4

    Welcome to Rannit, an ancient city awash in magic and mayhem. Wracked by war, but embracing the dubious wonders of steam and iron, Rannit is on the path to renewal - but old magics and older shadows won’t go easily into the light. Markhat earns his living as a finder....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Very Good Urban Fantasy Series

    • By Rdrbks on 11-25-18

    Regular price: $19.95

    • Every Wind of Change

    • Paths of Shadow, Book 3
    • By: Frank Tuttle
    • Narrated by: Nila Brereton Hagood
    • Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Mage Meralda’s perilous airship journey across the vast Great Sea made her a hero. Her discovery of the Arc may doom her world....

    Regular price: $19.95

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.