LISTENER

jason

  • 10
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 22
  • ratings
  • A Higher Loyalty

  • Truth, Lies, and Leadership
  • By: James Comey
  • Narrated by: James Comey
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 14,688
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 13,417
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 13,368

In his audiobook, A Higher Loyalty, former FBI director James Comey shares his never-before-told experiences from some of the highest stakes situations of his career in the past two decades of American government, exploring what good, ethical leadership looks like and how it drives sound decisions. His journey provides an unprecedented entry into the corridors of powe, and a remarkable lesson in what makes an effective leader.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • More Than Trump: All Comey's Life/Working Years--

  • By Gillian on 04-17-18

You need to read this.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-07-18

As a retired veteran, and someone who took (and takes) pride in leadership in both study and practice, this has been one of the most unexpected, entertaining, and insightful books I have ever experienced.

Everyone, regardless of political officiation needs to know this story... especially in this age of 5 minute experts and fringe view "news" sites. For me this book holds every indication of complete honesty, and will help you too see through so much of the nonsense that is circulating right now.

Leave your affiliations at the door and enjoy.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,176
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,014
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,010

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I LOVE MURDERBOT

  • By Michael - Audible Editor on 11-06-17

great story, buy it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-25-18

this is a very good story. buy it. it's a good length for a day trip.

  • The Land: Raiders: A LitRPG Saga

  • Chaos Seeds, Book 6
  • By: Aleron Kong
  • Narrated by: Nick Podehl
  • Length: 13 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 5,047
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 4,754
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 4,747

The time of hiding has passed. The Mist Village will make itself known. Goblins have invaded Richter’s lands. Though the first incursion has been defeated, the anger of Chaos Seed remains. Those who challenge Richter’s power will learn there is a reason all creatures fear the mist.... It is the home of monsters. For the first time, Richter takes the battle to his enemies. He will live up to his name, and the very Land will shake with this power.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • great book highly recommended

  • By Flightlessferrets on 01-06-18

Fun Story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-06-18

I like the stories overall, and I will be listening to the next one, but I do wish the main character was a bit more flawed. he always seems to get his way, and is given little resistance by anyone other than his enemies, which makes the story a bit more 1 dimensional than it could be. I do like the stories.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Life Reset: A LitRPG Novel

  • New Era Online, Book 1
  • By: Shemer Kuznits
  • Narrated by: Jeff Hays
  • Length: 24 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,499
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 2,351
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,348

After being betrayed and cursed by an extremely rare spell, Oren, a powerful and influential player, finds himself as a first-level goblin! Without even a fraction of his previous power, he vows to pull through and have revenge on those who betrayed him. His thorough knowledge of the game's world and his unique ability to immerse himself entirely are his only advantages. But first, he must figure out how to survive long enough playing what is basically a low-level fodder monster!

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • All Hail Our Tiny Green Overlord!

  • By HeatherY on 11-11-17

excellent story, well told.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-24-18

there is a bit of variance between quiet and lost parts, in case you listen with a sleeping child, it wasn't too much trouble to just adjust volume, though.

  • Lusam: The Dragon Mage Wars, Book 3

  • By: Dean Cadman
  • Narrated by: Alex Wyndham
  • Length: 15 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,636
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,528
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,526

After accidentally discovering the possible existence of a second Guardian book, Lusam and his party are remorselessly hunted high into the Elveen mountains by the Empire agents, who are intent on killing or capturing them. What they discover there may very well change the balance of power in their favor against the Thule Empire. But their discovery will count for nothing if they cannot reach Lamuria in time to try and stop the massive invasion force sent by Lord Zelroth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Outstanding!

  • By Tim O. on 06-04-17

A bit religious.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-08-17

The religious undertones were weird and soured an otherwise decent story. Additionally, some of the character development was a little bland and unrealistic probably due to the religiousness tied in. Many 1 dimensional characters. Overall the book was OK.

  • The Land: Alliances: A LitRPG Saga

  • Chaos Seeds, Book 3
  • By: Aleron Kong
  • Narrated by: Nick Podehl
  • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 5,962
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 5,670
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,650

From a master of comedy and fantasy comes the long-awaited audiobook that lets you bring adventure and wonder with you wherever you go. In *The Land, *Aleron Kong has sculpted a world of joy, horror, and wonder, forging together the best elements of American LitRPG. Quests, mystery, action, and adventure spill forth with every word.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • AMAZING

  • By pasquil on 07-24-17

Fun story for anyone who has ever played any RPG.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-08-17

I can't wait for the next one! Very fun story for anyone who has ever played any type of role playing game.

  • The Graveyard Book: Full-Cast Production

  • By: Neil Gaiman
  • Narrated by: Neil Gaiman, Derek Jacobi, Robert Madge, and others
  • Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,276
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 8,656
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,629

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn't live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack - who has already killed Bod's family…

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Unique children's story... Loved it!

  • By shelley on 12-04-17

Today's best author at his best.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-11-17

This may have unseated American God's as my new favorite, exceptional story exceptionally written and performed. Everything I hope for in a book.

  • For We Are Many

  • Bobiverse, Book 2
  • By: Dennis E. Taylor
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 35,887
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 33,628
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 33,541

Bob Johansson didn't believe in an afterlife, so waking up after being killed in a car accident was a shock. To add to the surprise, he is now a sentient computer and the controlling intelligence for a Von Neumann probe.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • THE FECAL MATTER HAS HIT THE ATMOSPHERIC PROJECTOR

  • By Jim "The Impatient" on 05-03-17

good 2nd book<br />

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-22-17

I can't wait for the third. starts slightly slow, but totally worth it. fantastic.

  • Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls

  • By: David Sedaris
  • Narrated by: David Sedaris
  • Length: 6 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,781
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,123
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,087

From the unique perspective of David Sedaris comes a new collection of essays taking his listeners on a bizarre and stimulating world tour. From the perils of French dentistry to the eating habits of the Australian kookaburra, from the squat-style toilets of Beijing to the particular wilderness of a North Carolina Costco, we learn about the absurdity and delight of a curious traveler's experiences.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Always a Sedaris fan, but this isn't his best

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-29-15

Hilarious!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-20-17

Buy it. You won't regret it. Excellent stories with and David has a very sophisticated sense of humor.

  • The Magician King

  • A Novel
  • By: Lev Grossman
  • Narrated by: Mark Bramhall
  • Length: 15 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,718
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,823
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,828

Quentin and his friends are now the kings and queens of Fillory, but the days and nights of royal luxury are starting to pall. After a morning hunt takes a sinister turn, Quentin and his old friend Julia charter a magical sailing ship and set out on an errand to the wild outer reaches of their kingdom. Their pleasure cruise becomes an adventure when the two are unceremoniously dumped back into the last place Quentin ever wants to see: his parent's house in Chesterton, Massachusetts.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • King Grossman the Magician

  • By Douglas on 08-12-11

expertly performed, stunningly written.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-24-16

loved it, start to finish. about to start reading the third book. I know it will be as great.