LISTENER

Aaron L. M. Goodwin

Apple Valley, CA USA
  • 9
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 35
  • ratings
  • Stones into Schools

  • Promoting Peace with Books, Not Bombs, in Afghanistan and Pakistan
  • By: Greg Mortenson
  • Narrated by: Atossa Leoni
  • Length: 11 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 477
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 156
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 158

From the author of the number-one national best seller Three Cups of Tea, the continuing story of this determined humanitarian and the schools he has established. In this dramatic first-person narrative, Greg Mortenson recounts his relentless, ongoing efforts to establish schools for girls in Afghanistan; his extensive work in Azad Kashmir and Pakistan after a massive earthquake; and the unique ways he has built relationships with Islamic clerics, militia commanders, and tribal leaders.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Better than Three Cups of Tea

  • By Cate F. on 12-15-09

Astounding Account Full of Detail

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-05-10

Picking up where Three Cups of Tea left off, this work gives you everything you want from greater depth of the already told stories, updates on many of the people involved in Mortenson's quest to build school in Afghanistan and Pakistan, and more news about the past few years. What this man has been able to accomplish is astounding and can make even the most selfish feel the need to get outside themselves.

This would be four stars, but the narration is a bit odd. Since it's a first-person account, hearing the narrator of a man be a woman is a bit off-putting.

  • The Unlikely Disciple

  • A Sinner's Semester at America's Holiest University
  • By: Kevin Roose
  • Narrated by: Kevin Roose
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 242
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 168
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 172

No drinking, no smoking, no cursing, no dancing, no R-rated movies. Kevin roose wasn't used to rules like these. As a sophomore at Brown University, he spent his days drinking fair-trade coffee, singing in an a cappella group, and fitting right in with Brown's free-spirited, ultra-liberal student body. But when Roose leaves his Ivy League confines to spend a semester at Liberty University, a conservative Baptist school in Lynchburg, Virginia, obedience is no longer optional.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A good listen

  • By Timothy on 10-27-10

Open-minded and honest

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-21-10

At first I was cynical that the premise to this book could be fleshed out without a whole bunch of misunderstandings and misrepresentation of "religious folk", but Roose does a tremendous job of detailing the spiritual and social spectra of the evangelical community. Spending a semester at Liberty College, the Brigham Young University of the evangelical world, Roose throws himself into life of a Liberty student 100% and comes away sharing a refreshingly open-minded, if not Christ-like account of these experiences.

Now, a warning, this book handles controversial and sensitive subjects which may not be suitable for younger readers, but Roose handles these topics in respectful yet interesting ways. I think any person would come away from this book with a greater desire to love and know those that don't believe as they do. It's inspiring to say the least.

Roose does an excellent job narrating, and you come away wanting to hang out with the guy and all his Liberty Friends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Predictably Irrational

  • The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
  • By: Dan Ariely
  • Narrated by: Simon Jones
  • Length: 7 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,671
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,559
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,557

In a series of illuminating, often surprising experiments, MIT behavioral economist Dan Ariely refutes the common assumption that we behave in fundamentally rational ways. Blending everyday experience with groundbreaking research, Ariely explains how expectations, emotions, social norms, and other invisible, seemingly illogical forces skew our reasoning abilities.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Well researched, well written, & well read

  • By Stephen on 03-18-08

If you like Freakonomics or Malcom Gladwell...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-17-10

In the vein of Freakonomics or Malcom Gladwell, Ariely applies social sciences to economics with some fascinating conclusions. This book will impact the way you make decisions and how you examine the forces in your life that predictably cause you to behave irrationally.

The reading is superb, if not a bit odd, coming from somebody with a british accent.

  • I'm a Stranger Here Myself

  • By: Bill Bryson
  • Narrated by: Bill Bryson
  • Length: 5 hrs and 58 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 650
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 174
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 175

After living in Britain for 2 decades, Bill Bryson recently moved back to the United States with his English wife and 4 children (he had read somewhere that nearly 3 million Americans believed they had been abducted by aliens - as he later put it, "it was clear my people needed me"). They were greeted by a new-and-improved America that boasts microwave pancakes, 24-hour dental-floss hotlines, and the staunch conviction that ice is not a luxury item.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Enjoyable

  • By Cather on 12-22-06

Good, but not Bryson's best

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-22-10

Though his curmudgeon persona is half the fun, this book comes off perhaps a bit too acerbic. If this is your first Bryson pick, go with something else like A Walk In The Woods or Notes From A Small Island.

If not, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

  • Kitchen Confidential

  • Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
  • By: Anthony Bourdain
  • Narrated by: Anthony Bourdain
  • Length: 8 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,090
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,445
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,432

Last summer, The New Yorker published chef Anthony Bourdain's shocking, "Don't Eat Before Reading This." Now, the author uses the same "take-no-prisoners" attitude in his deliciously funny and shockingly delectable audiobook, sure to delight gourmands and philistines alike.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Kitchen Confidential

  • By Holly on 02-20-03

Don't listen to this with your grandma

Overall
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-10

My only complaint is the severe and many times forced usage of vulgarity. I know this is Bourdain being Bourdain, but much of the time it comes off forced. That being said, this is still an excellent look into the world of the cook, you'll learn a lot and be entertained.

  • What the Dog Saw

  • And Other Adventures
  • By: Malcolm Gladwell
  • Narrated by: Malcolm Gladwell
  • Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,323
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,748
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,743

Over the past decade, Malcolm Gladwell has become the most gifted and influential journalist in America. In The New Yorker, his writings are such must-reads that the magazine charges advertisers significantly more money for ads that run within his articles. With his #1 best sellers, The Tipping Point, Blink and Outliers, he has reached millions of readers. And now the very best and most famous of his New Yorker pieces are collected in a brilliant and provocative anthology.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not Gladwell's best - and a recording problem

  • By Rudi on 11-26-09

A Potpourri of Great Pieces

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-07-10

A sort of modge-podge lacking a central theme, this audiobook is still great. Gladwell helps us see the interestingness in everything.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • In a Sunburned Country

  • By: Bill Bryson
  • Narrated by: Bill Bryson
  • Length: 11 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,969
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,365
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,361

Every time Bill Bryson walks out the door, memorable travel literature threatens to break out. His previous excursion on the Appalachian Trail resulted in the best seller A Walk in the Woods. Now, we follow him "Down Under" to Australia with this delectably funny, fact-filled, and adventurous performance that combines humor, wonder, and unflagging curiosity. More from Bill Bryson.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Laugh out loud funny

  • By Larry on 06-09-03

Enlightening and Entertaining.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-13-10

Bryson has an uncanny ability to make you long to go where he's describing. His knack for weaving genuinely interesting and unknown facts into a tale of travel is uncanny. You'll walk away having felt enlightened, and at the same time entertained.

The only complaint I have is that the author doesn't do an Australian accent when quoting Australians. If you're able to put that aside, I think you'll enjoy this. I certainly was able to forgive him.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Outliers

  • The Story of Success
  • By: Malcolm Gladwell
  • Narrated by: Malcolm Gladwell
  • Length: 7 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25,100
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17,737
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17,732

In this stunning new book, Malcolm Gladwell takes us on an intellectual journey through the world of "outliers" - the best and the brightest, the most famous and the most successful. He asks the question: what makes high achievers different? His answer is that we pay too much attention to what successful people are like and too little attention to where they are from: that is, their culture, their family, their generation, and the idiosyncratic experiences of their upbringing.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Engaging, but overrated

  • By Scott T. Hards on 12-13-08

Eye-Opener

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-01-10

A definite paradigm-changer, Outliers is an excellently read, and well-written study on just what makes success.

  • SuperFreakonomics

  • By: Steven D. Levitt, Stephen J. Dubner
  • Narrated by: Stephen J. Dubner
  • Length: 7 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,602
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,748
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,765

SuperFreakonomics challenges the way we think all over again, exploring the hidden side of everything with such questions as: How is a street prostitute like a department-store Santa? What do hurricanes, heart attacks, and highway deaths have in common? Can eating kangaroo save the planet? Levitt and Dubner mix smart thinking and great storytelling like no one else.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Worth Your Time

  • By Rich on 01-04-10

Levitt and Dubner Do It Again!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-25-10

I must admit that I had high expectations for this book. Thankfully, they were met and exceeded. Aside from dwelling a bit long on the subject of prostitution (pervy much?), this is an engaging and mind-expanding work of thought provoking economics.