LISTENER

Patrick Jennings

  • 26
  • reviews
  • 3
  • helpful votes
  • 27
  • ratings
  • All Systems Red

  • By: Martha Wells
  • Narrated by: Kevin R. Free
  • Length: 3 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,245
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,080
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,077

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • I LOVE MURDERBOT

  • By Michael - Audible Editor on 11-06-17

A quick sci-fi read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-26-18

A fine story that has a fast action plot with a solid twist for an ending.

  • The Triumph of Christianity

  • How a Forbidden Religion Swept the World
  • By: Bart D. Ehrman
  • Narrated by: George Newbern, Bart D. Ehrman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 291
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 267
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 266

Christianity didn't have to become the dominant religion in the West. It easily could have remained a sect of Judaism fated to have the historical importance of the Sadducees or the Essenes. In The Triumph of Christianity, Bart Ehrman, a master explainer of Christian history, texts, and traditions, shows how a religion whose first believers were 20 or so illiterate day laborers in a remote part of the empire became the official religion of Rome, converting some 30 million people in just four centuries.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another Winner

  • By Georgia Carter on 03-14-18

Great historical insight.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-18

This book provides terrific insight into how and why Christianity proliferated during the time after Jesus died and was resurrected.

  • The Invention of Wings

  • A Novel
  • By: Sue Monk Kidd
  • Narrated by: Jenna Lamia, Adepero Oduye, Sue Monk Kidd
  • Length: 13 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,465
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,038
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,040

From the celebrated author of The Secret Life of Bees, a magnificent novel about two unforgettable American women. Writing at the height of her narrative and imaginative gifts, Sue Monk Kidd presents a masterpiece of hope, daring, the quest for freedom, and the desire to have a voice in the world - and it is now the newest Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 selection. Hetty “Handful” Grimke, an urban slave in early nineteenth century Charleston, yearns for life beyond the suffocating walls that enclose her within the wealthy Grimke household. The Grimke’s daughter, Sarah, has known from an early age she is meant to do something large in the world, but she is hemmed in by the limits imposed on women.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Historical Fiction - beautifully quilted!

  • By Jan on 01-09-14

Remarkable historical fiction

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-27-18

This author has captured a story of how a family, focussed primarily on two sisters and their relationship with slaves, deals with both women's rights and slavery in Charleston, North Carolina in the early to mid 1800s, Fantastic reading makes this a book that should be ready.

  • Masters of War: History's Greatest Strategic Thinkers

  • By: Andrew R. Wilson, The Great Courses
  • Narrated by: Andrew R. Wilson
  • Length: 12 hrs and 12 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 825
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 739
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 730

From Napoleon's revolutionary campaigns to the way insurgency, terrorism, and nuclear weaponry have defined the nature of warfare in the 21st century, the results of military strategy have changed the course of history. These 24 thought-provoking lectures give you an inside look at both the content and historical context of the world's greatest war strategists. From the triremes and hoplites of ancient Greece to the Special Forces in 21st-century Afghanistan, strategy is the process by which political objectives are translated into military action.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great for new students and military professionals

  • By Glen Sears on 12-13-16

Challenging war strategy concepts

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-15-18

Very grateful for opportunity to hear about war strategies that began many years ago and their implementation in current conflicts. However, the tone of the author seems to indicate that war is inevitable, which I find depressing. The author does end on sort of an optamistic note.

  • Destiny Disrupted

  • A History of the World through Islamic Eyes
  • By: Tamim Ansary
  • Narrated by: Tamim Ansary
  • Length: 17 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,317
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,088
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,079

Until about 1800, the West and the Islamic realm were like two adjacent, parallel universes, each assuming itself to be the center of the world while ignoring the other. As Europeans colonized the globe, the two world histories intersected and the Western narrative drove the other one under. The West hardly noticed, but the Islamic world found the encounter profoundly disrupting.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Explains the clash between Islam and the West

  • By Blake on 03-26-10

Outstanding historical viewpoint

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-31-18

This book presents a view of history that appears very valid and important!! It has a viewpoint that is significantly different than anything I've heard/read before. Thanks to the author for doing this!!

  • Redshirts

  • A Novel with Three Codas
  • By: John Scalzi
  • Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
  • Length: 7 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 15,031
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,079
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 14,075

Ensign Andrew Dahl has just been assigned to the Universal Union Capital Ship Intrepid, flagship of the Universal Union since the year 2456. Life couldn’t be better…until Andrew begins to pick up on the facts that (1) every Away Mission involves some kind of lethal confrontation with alien forces; (2) the ship’s captain, its chief science officer, and the handsome Lieutenant Kerensky always survive these confrontations; and (3) at least one low-ranked crew member is, sadly, always killed.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The real Star Trek

  • By Jim "The Impatient" on 06-14-13

A remarkable ploy.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-06-18

It took me a while to really figure out what was going on, but I really enjoyed the story, especially references to the current science fiction shows. The codas were a lot of fun, except the first one I felt a lot of frustration relating to the character.

  • The Collapsing Empire

  • The Interdependency, Book 1
  • By: John Scalzi
  • Narrated by: Wil Wheaton
  • Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10,437
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,805
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,771

Our universe is ruled by physics, and faster-than-light travel is not possible - until the discovery of The Flow, an extradimensional field we can access at certain points in space-time that transports us to other worlds, around other stars. Humanity flows away from Earth, into space, and in time forgets our home world and creates a new empire, the Interdependency, whose ethos requires that no one human outpost can survive without the others. It's a hedge against interstellar war - and a system of control for the rulers of the empire.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not the best of Scalzi

  • By Gonzalo on 05-11-17

intriguing Sci-fi

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-21-17

Solid space story with the end still in doubt. Need to read at least one more to see how things go.

  • Artemis

  • By: Andy Weir
  • Narrated by: Rosario Dawson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 48,855
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45,595
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 45,463

Jazz Bashara is a criminal. Well, sort of. Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you're not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire. So smuggling in the occasional harmless bit of contraband barely counts, right? Not when you've got debts to pay and your job as a porter barely covers the rent. Everything changes when Jazz sees the chance to commit the perfect crime, with a reward too lucrative to turn down.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • The opposite of the Martian...

  • By Ruth Nielsen on 11-27-17

Entertaining story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-21-17

Really wanted to see how this ended. Went fast and was intrigued by the moon loving

  • The New Tsar

  • The Rise and Reign of Vladimir Putin
  • By: Steven Lee Myers
  • Narrated by: René Ruiz
  • Length: 22 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,330
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,195
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,185

The epic tale of the rise to power of Russia's current president - the only complete biography in English - that fully captures his emergence from shrouded obscurity and deprivation to become one of the most consequential and complicated leaders in modern history, by the former New York Times Moscow bureau chief.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A retelling of facts without much added info

  • By A. M. on 03-07-16

Great info read without emotion

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-09-17

Real insight into one of current leaders. Narrator's voice is calm, which causes some misleading as to how serious Puton's actions and thoughts are.

  • The Virginian

  • By: Owen Wister
  • Narrated by: Jack Garrett
  • Length: 16 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 190
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 173
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 171

Owen Wister’s The Virginian pre-dates the classic novels of Zane Grey and Max Brand and is considered by many to be the original Western. Dedicated to Wister’s friend and fellow outdoorsman Theodore Roosevelt, this timeless tale almost single-handedly established the cowboy archetype in literature. A quiet, noble foreman of a Wyoming cattle ranch in the 1870s, the Virginian falls for pretty schoolteacher Molly Wood. But when a rival suitor challenges his honor, the Virginian struggles to make his beloved Molly understand the harsh justice of the West.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • What a Stunning Surprise this novel is!

  • By Chiwiz on 09-04-12

Fantastic old-time Western

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-09-17

After visiting Winthrop, WA, where Owen Wister took his wife on their honeymoon, I was compelled to read this novel. The characters are wonderfully developed. The country side is beautifully described. The plot follows what is now a well-recognized pattern, but is still very entertaining. This book set a very high standard for authors of Westerns. I am very glad I listened to it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful