LISTENER

Solbakken

New Mexico, USA
  • 14
  • reviews
  • 11
  • helpful votes
  • 65
  • ratings
  • The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

  • By: Gabrielle Zevin
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 7 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,938
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,323
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 6,325

The irascible A. J. Fikry, owner of Island Books - the only bookstore on Alice Island - has already lost his wife. Now his most prized possession, a rare book, has been stolen from right under his nose in the most embarrassing of circumstances. The store itself, it seems, will be next to go. One night upon closing, he discovers a toddler in his children’s section with a note from her mother pinned to her Elmo doll: I want Maya to grow up in a place with books and among people who care about such kinds of things. I love her very much, but I can no longer take care of her.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Tale for Booksellers

  • By B. Leon on 04-15-14

Best novel I have encountered in a long time!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-13-17

Imaginative yet very believable, great dialogue and full of interesting thoughts and caring people...touchingly written & a love story about book stores, books & people!

  • On Gold Mountain

  • The One-Hundred-Year Odyssey of My Chinese-American Family
  • By: Lisa See
  • Narrated by: Kate Reading
  • Length: 18 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 181
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 150
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 148

Out of the stories heard in her childhood in Los Angeles's Chinatown and years of research, See has constructed this sweeping chronicle of her Chinese-American family, a work that takes in stories of racism and romance, entrepreneurial genius and domestic heartache, secret marriages and sibling rivalries, in a powerful history of two cultures meeting in a new world.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story...awful narration

  • By Solbakken on 06-02-17

Great story...awful narration

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-17

Would you listen to On Gold Mountain again? Why?

NO! I couldn't stand the narrator, despite my extreme motivation to listen, as my family has Chinese connections of great interest.

What did you like best about this story?

Personal, documented, interesting and well researched.

How could the performance have been better?

More feeling, less monotone...the narrator seemed to be judgemental, and extremely, irritatingly unemotional.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I got through 15%, and despite my motivation to learn more, I ordered the printed book and will ask for a refund for the recording...the narrator was extremely off-putting.

Any additional comments?

Has Lisa See listened to the narration? Despite the great reviews she has, I would NEVER listen to her narrate again!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

  • By: Lisa See
  • Narrated by: Ruthie Ann Miles, Kimiko Glenn, Alexandra Allwine, and others
  • Length: 14 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,841
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,404
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,394

The thrilling new novel from number-one New York Times best-selling author Lisa See explores the lives of a Chinese mother and her daughter who has been abandoned and adopted by an American couple.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • ***EXCELLENT*** Six stars if I could !!

  • By ROBIN on 04-10-17

Wonderful story & research

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-17

Would you consider the audio edition of The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane to be better than the print version?

I don't have the print version.

Have you listened to any of the narrators’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

The narration was pretty good...I thought the adopted daughter's voice was too juvenile.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I thought of the tea I drink, and since I have an adopted daughter it resonated.

Any additional comments?

Great research, and incredible understanding of a very different culture.

  • Nocturne

  • By: Diane Armstrong
  • Narrated by: Deidre Rubenstein
  • Length: 17 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31

It is Warsaw, 1939, and Elzunia is an indulged teenager who longs for a heroic life filled with romance. But the outbreak of war shatters all her dreams. As bombs fall, she meets Adam, a taciturn airman whose fate becomes entwined with hers. In despair over the occupation, Adam joins the Polish resistance, then flies bombers for the RAF.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • The narrator ruined it for me

  • By Annie M. on 08-06-16

Overly dramatic narrator

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-17-17

The story of this book was very interesting… Sometimes it was hard to listen to because of the yelling and screaming by the narrator

  • The Lake House

  • By: Kate Morton
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 21 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,135
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,079
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,064

Living on her family’s gorgeous lakeside estate in Cornwall, England, Alice Edevane is a bright, clever, inquisitive, innocent, and precociously talented fourteen-year-old who loves to write stories. But the mysteries she pens are no match for the one her family is about to endure ...One midsummer’s eve, after a beautiful party drawing hundreds of guests to the estate has ended, the Edevanes discover that their youngest son, Theo, has vanished without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • BRAVO!!!!!!!

  • By Maria on 10-30-15

Very touching story...great mystery too

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-13-16

Clever plot...believable and full of interesting twists and turns. Really touching about adoption and shell shock.❤️

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Wild Inside

  • A Novel of Suspense
  • By: Christine Carbo
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 13 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,554
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,337
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,332

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Mystery, Thriller, Suspense & The Great Outdoors

  • By Sara on 09-18-15

I dreamed about bears...

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-22-16

Would you consider the audio edition of The Wild Inside to be better than the print version?

I found this book to be scary, and felt that the protagonist would never be able to recover from the initial incident.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Hypothermia

  • A Reykjavik Thriller
  • By: Arnaldur Indridason
  • Narrated by: George Guidall
  • Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,014
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 875
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 873

Iceland’s best-selling novelist and a winner of the CWA Gold Dagger Award, Arnaldur Indridason is an international phenomenon highly regarded for his engrossing crime fiction. In Hypothermia, Inspector Erlendur contends with personal demons while investigating a woman’s suicide. Although there are no signs of foul play, Erlendur gradually exposes a sinister plot.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very Fine Quiet Mystery!

  • By Silverhamr on 05-20-16

Depressing and hard to hear

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-26-16

The narrator has a very low voice difficult to listen to although I liked his work on the Longmire series… The story was pretty depressing clever but pretty depressing

  • Winter Journey

  • By: Diane Armstrong
  • Narrated by: Deidre Rubenstein
  • Length: 14 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,116
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 892
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 884

Halina Shore is a Polish born forensic dentist living in Australia. When she travels to Poland to take part in the investigation of a war crime, she finds herself at the center of a bitter struggle in a community that has been divided by a grim legacy. As the investigation proceeds, her professional assignment becomes a confronting personal odyssey as the truth about her own past begins to emerge.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Historical Story Marred by Unnecessary Fluff

  • By Debbie on 11-30-15

Outstandingly moving

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-15-16

This book was well researched and told her very shocking and sad story in a very empathetic way

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Medieval World

  • By: Dorsey Armstrong, The Great Courses
  • Narrated by: Dorsey Armstrong
  • Length: 18 hrs and 15 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,790
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,625
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,617

Far from being a time of darkness, the Middle Ages was an essential period in the grand narrative of Western history. But what was it like to actually live in those extraordinary times? Now you can find out.These 36 lectures provide a different perspective on the society and culture of the Middle Ages: one that entrenches you in the daily human experience of living during this underappreciated era.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Prof. Armstrong is an rockstar. Loved her class.

  • By Rocco on 10-04-13

Very interesting however the narrator was monotonous

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-15-16

I enjoyed learning from each of the chapters the information was excellent however the narrator has a monotonous style of emphasis which could be much more entertaining and captivating

  • White Gardenia

  • By: Belinda Alexandra
  • Narrated by: Deidre Rubenstein
  • Length: 17 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 132
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 104
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 105

In the tradition of Paullina Simons comes an unforgettable story of a mother and daughter from a remarkable new writer. Beginning in a small village under Japanese occupation on the Chinese-Russian border in the final days of World War II, White Gardenia tells the story of a Russian mother and daughter separated by war.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fascinating novel

  • By Paddington on 08-30-11

Disappointment

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-27-16

The narrative voice was belittling to the Asians..The story was difficult to believe... The writing is clumsy.... Big disappointment