LISTENER

Simone

  • 638
  • reviews
  • 1,916
  • helpful votes
  • 759
  • ratings
  • Murder on Amsterdam Avenue

  • By: Victoria Thompson
  • Narrated by: Suzanne Toren
  • Length: 9 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2

In the midst of Sarah and Frank's wedding preparations, Sarah accompanies her mother on a condolence call to the Upper West Side, where the son of family friends has died unexpectedly. The father believes his son was poisoned and would like Sarah and Frank to look into the matter. They soon learn that not everyone wants to know more about Charles' death, and they also discover that they are in the company of a very present danger.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Here comes the bride… and it’s about time!

  • By Simone on 06-19-18

Here comes the bride… and it’s about time!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-19-18

Forget the murder mystery; Frank and Sarah finally get married! YAY!

I wish the Frank and Sarah storylines would take up a little more room in the books; the wedding felt like a footnote or an afterthought to me. I understand that first and foremost this is a mystery series, but I like their plots so much I could read a book of just filler.

  • The Winds of War

  • By: Herman Wouk
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pariseau
  • Length: 45 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,614
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,953
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,955

Herman Wouk's sweeping epic of World War II stands as the crowning achievement of one of America's most celebrated storytellers. Like no other books about the war, Wouk's spellbinding narrative captures the tide of global events - and all the drama, romance, heroism, and tragedy of World War II - as it immerses us in the lives of a single American family drawn into the very center of the war's maelstrom.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Masterpiece

  • By Robert on 05-24-13

Good, but too long

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-15-18

I enjoyed this book, but in all honesty, it was just too long. I know that’s a stupid complaint because I can easily put it down and take a break with another book – but I am always compelled to finish books off once I've started.

I am not sure I will have the patience to plow though Book 2.

  • My Gorgeous Life

  • The Life, the Loves, the Legend
  • By: Dame Edna Everage
  • Narrated by: Dame Edna Everage
  • Length: 3 hrs and 7 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 9
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 7
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 7

Dame Edna Everage, housewife and megastar, not to mention investigative journalist, social anthropologist, swami, and chanteuse, describes her life and times, from her humble beginnings in the Melbourne suburb of Moonee Ponds, to her marriage to Lord Norm Everage in 1946 and her subsequent rise to megastardom. More than a show-biz autobiography, more than a housewife's diary, more than a chunk of history - this is a Hymn to Life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Love this book and want more!

  • By WhosYourChubby on 10-10-16

Hilarious!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-29-18

Fans of The Great Dame will just love this book, and I really think the audio version read by the Megastar herself is the best way to enjoy it.

  • In the Market for Murder

  • Lady Hardcastle, Book 2
  • By: T E Kinsey
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Length: 8 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,121
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,906
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,894

Spring, 1909, and Lady Hardcastle, amateur sleuth and all-round eccentric, is enjoying a well-deserved rest. But a week after a trip to the cattle market, Spencer Caradine, a local farmer, turns up dead in the pub, face-down in his beef and mushroom pie. Once again, it is up to Lady Hardcastle and her maid, Florence, to solve the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Clever intertwining of three fun mysteries

  • By Victoria J. Mejia-Gewe on 02-09-17

2 instalments were enough for me

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-25-18

I needed a break from the LOOONNNNGGG book I am currently reading and I remember being entertained in Book 1 of this series.

I think Book 2 is the end for me; I liked the Lady Hardcastle character and there are some humours passages, but she’s becoming a caricature and frankly the entire premise doesn’t hold my interest – let alone a murder mystery that bored me.

Another goodreads reviewer said it best: “There is a lot of time spent on essentially nothing but proving that the two central women are unusual. By the time the mysteries wrapped up, I no longer cared and could hardly remember what the mystery was.”

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,871
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,646
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,644

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Don't waste a credit

  • By MM on 08-24-16

A Tangled Web

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-17-18

Despite the feeling that the plot was becoming way WAY over-complicated at times, I loved this book! It was compelling, mysterious, riveting… I was hooked early on and kept looking for opportunities to get back to reading it whenever I could.

The overly complex plot details all come together in the end, so don’t give up! It’s a tangled web, but just go with it.

  • The Girl You Lost

  • By: Kathryn Croft
  • Narrated by: Jot Davies, Willow Nash
  • Length: 9 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,287
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,133
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,132

Eighteen years ago Simone Porter's six-month-old daughter, Helena, was abducted. Simone and husband Matt have slowly rebuilt their shattered lives, but the pain at losing their child has never left them. Then a young woman, Grace, appears out of the blue and tells Simone she has information about her stolen baby. But just who is Grace - and can Simone trust her? When Grace herself disappears, Simone becomes embroiled in a desperate search for her baby and the woman who has vital clues about her whereabouts.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great psychological thriller

  • By Angela Hancock on 10-05-16

I Knew It

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-10-18

I predicted the ending, but didn’t know just how we’d get there.

Despite knowing the final outcome, it was still entertaining. I did not enjoy the dips into depravity, and perhaps would have skipped it all together had I known.

Overall it was good enough to finish.

  • TWA 800

  • The Crash, the Cover-Up, and the Conspiracy
  • By: Jack Cashill
  • Narrated by: Richard Ferrone
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 88
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 82
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 80

What really happened to TWA 800? On the 20th anniversary of the crash, author Jack Cashill reveals shocking new evidence. TWA Flight 800 crashed into the Atlantic shortly after takeoff from JFK Airport on July 17, 1996, killing all 230 passengers onboard. Although initial reports suggested a terrorist attack, FBI and NTSB investigators blamed a fuel-tank explosion. But skeptics have long questioned the official story, and new evidence has surfaced that suggests a widespread conspiracy.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Far More Than Another Anti-Clinton Screed

  • By Nathan D. Backlund on 10-22-16

Long

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-06-18

I am not sure I believe it, but I can’t deny that it’s compelling!

Overall, I just found it too long and hard to follow.

  • My Story

  • By: Elizabeth Smart, Chris Stewart
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Smart
  • Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,470
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,239
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,237

On June 5, 2002, 14-year-old Elizabeth Smart, the daughter of a close-knit Mormon family, was taken from her home in the middle of the night by religious fanatic, Brian David Mitchell and his wife, Wanda Barzee. She was kept chained, dressed in disguise, repeatedly raped, and told she and her family would be killed if she tried to escape. After her rescue on March 12, 2003, she rejoined her family and worked to pick up the pieces of her life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • a heartbreaker, with a happy ending

  • By Andy on 11-08-13

Such a strong woman!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-03-18

I was tremendously impressed by her internal strength, it was remarkable. I wonder however how much of that is hindsight? In any case, she’s a very brave person!

A parallel story about the search for her would have been an interesting addition.

  • A Royal Duty

  • By: Paul Burrell
  • Narrated by: Paul Burrell
  • Length: 18 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 142
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 109
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 109

In A Royal Duty, Paul Burrell reveals the truth about Princess Diana, as well as a faithful account of her thoughts. He was the favourite footman who formed a unique relationship with the Queen. He was the butler who the Princess of Wales called "my rock" and "the only man I can trust". He was accused of theft, then acquitted following the historic intervention of the monarch. He was the Princess' most intimate confidant.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By Angie on 08-25-12

A Fresh Perspective!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-11-18

This book was great! For the first time in a long time, I feel like I learned something new.

Paul Burrell’s recollections add new elements to a story we all know so well by now.

I am glad I read it.

  • Queen Victoria's Children

  • By: John Van der Kiste
  • Narrated by: Jennifer M. Dixon
  • Length: 8 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 19
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 18

Queen Victoria and Albert, the Prince Consort, had nine children, who, despite their very different characters, remained a close-knit family. Inevitably, as they married into European royal families, their loyalties were divided and their lives dominated by political controversy. This is not only the story of their lives in terms of world impact but also of personal achievements in their own right, individual contributions to public life in Britain and overseas, and as the children of Queen Victoria and the Prince Consort.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Was the narrator just too bored?

  • By James Bruce on 03-16-18

Confusing

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-08-18

It felt jumbled and choppy, I think I would have preferred 9 separate biographies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful