LISTENER

Palo Alto Engineer

Palo Alto, CA United States
  • 12
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 12
  • ratings
  • Fatal Discord

  • Erasmus, Luther, and the Fight for the Western Mind
  • By: Michael Massing
  • Narrated by: Tom Parks
  • Length: 34 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 34
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 30

This deeply textured dual biography and fascinating intellectual history examines two of the greatest minds of European history - Desiderius Erasmus and Martin Luther - whose heated rivalry gave rise to two enduring, fundamental, and often colliding traditions of philosophical and religious thought.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Sustained Magnificence

  • By Donald Paul Gates, Jr. on 04-17-18

very interesting history, very well told

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-04-18

This is a detailed history of the Protestant Reformation, and is not for those without significant patience. For those with the patience to read this entire book, the rewards are great. I found it worth the effort.

  • Norse Mythology

  • By: Neil Gaiman
  • Narrated by: Neil Gaiman
  • Length: 6 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 30,987
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 28,385
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 28,246

Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attention back to the source, presenting a bravura rendition of the great northern tales. In Norse Mythology, Gaiman fashions primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the legendary nine worlds; delves into the exploits of the deities, dwarves, and giants; and culminates in Ragnarok, the twilight of the gods and the rebirth of a new time and people.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Comedy-Tragedy of Gods Giants Dwarfs & Monsters

  • By Jefferson on 02-24-17

If you like mythology, you will love this

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-27-18

If you only like "modern" writing, you will dislike this. I love mythology, so I thought it was fantastic. The performance gives you the sense of an elder telling you the ancient stories, told while sitting around the hearth, before such things as newspapers and radio.

  • All These Worlds

  • Bobiverse, Book 3
  • By: Dennis E. Taylor
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 7 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 31,790
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 29,766
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 29,683

Being a sentient spaceship really should be more fun. But after spreading out through space for almost a century, Bob and his clones just can't stay out of trouble. They've created enough colonies so humanity shouldn't go extinct. But political squabbles have a bad habit of dying hard, and the Brazilian probes are still trying to take out the competition. And the Bobs have picked a fight with an older, more powerful species with a large appetite and a short temper.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Clean ending to a fantastic series

  • By Virgil on 08-08-17

book 1 was the best of the three

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-17-18

Overall, it was interesting, but not as good as book1, but better than book 2. If you got thought book 2, you need to read book 3.

  • For We Are Many

  • Bobiverse, Book 2
  • By: Dennis E. Taylor
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 36,793
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 34,468
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 34,379

Bob Johansson didn't believe in an afterlife, so waking up after being killed in a car accident was a shock. To add to the surprise, he is now a sentient computer and the controlling intelligence for a Von Neumann probe.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Porter IS Bob!

  • By Kathy on 05-23-17

leaves you hanging, so book 3 is required

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-09-18

not quite as good as the first book, and the ending leaves you hanging, so you need to read the 3rd book, too.

  • We Are Legion (We Are Bob)

  • Bobiverse, Book 1
  • By: Dennis E. Taylor
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 9 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 54,597
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 51,270
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 51,178

Bob Johansson has just sold his software company and is looking forward to a life of leisure. There are places to go, books to read, and movies to watch. So it's a little unfair when he gets himself killed crossing the street. Bob wakes up a century later to find that corpsicles have been declared to be without rights, and he is now the property of the state. He has been uploaded into computer hardware and is slated to be the controlling AI in an interstellar probe looking for habitable planets.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Ignore the Publisher's Summary! This is Amazing!

  • By PW on 04-12-17

Interesting, if you are a materialist atheist

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-21-17

Very, very well-performed story telling. The writing us pretty good, too. To really buy into the story, you need to agree that you can build a mind in a computer. I believe this is impossible, but if you suspend disbelief, you will enjoy this very much, assuming you are info scifi.

  • An Instance of the Fingerpost

  • By: Iain Pears
  • Narrated by: Paul Michael
  • Length: 5 hrs and 58 mins
  • Abridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 136
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 73
  • Story
    3.5 out of 5 stars 75

An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses, only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Eviscerated rather than abridged

  • By Lynn on 02-20-12

very well preformed!

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-18-17

You need to pay attention to all the characters names, to appreciate the intricacies of the story, which is not so easy in audio format

  • Rubicon

  • The Triumph and Tragedy of the Roman Republic
  • By: Tom Holland
  • Narrated by: Steven Crossley
  • Length: 15 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,035
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 952
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 950

The Roman Republic was the most remarkable state in history. What began as a small community of peasants camped among marshes and hills ended up ruling the known world. Rubicon paints a vivid portrait of the Republic at the climax of its greatness - the same greatness which would herald the catastrophe of its fall. It is a story of incomparable drama.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Connects the Dots and Fills In the Gaps

  • By Emily on 01-28-12

If you like Ronan history, this us the book for yo

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-17-17

I loved it! I am looking forward to the sequel. The performance was excelled. I recommend this one.

  • Persian Fire

  • The First World Empire and the Battle for the West
  • By: Tom Holland
  • Narrated by: Michael Page
  • Length: 14 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 482
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 435
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 435

In the fifth century BC, a global superpower was determined to bring truth and order to what it regarded as two terrorist states. The superpower was Persia, incomparably rich in ambition, gold, and men. The terrorist states were Athens and Sparta, eccentric cities in a poor and mountainous backwater: Greece. The story of how their citizens took on the Great King of Persia, and thereby saved not only themselves, but Western civilization as well, is as heart-stopping and fateful as any episode in history.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Hard on a novice.

  • By Jack Cone on 01-04-17

Wonderfully read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-11-17

Wonderfully written, and even more wonderfully read. My only complaint is a few French words, which were totally out of place.

  • Macbeth: A Novel

  • By: A. J. Hartley, David Hewson
  • Narrated by: Alan Cumming
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,860
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,523
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,520

Macbeth: A Novel brings the intricacy and grit of the historical thriller to Shakespeare’s tale of political intrigue, treachery, and murder. In this full-length novel written exclusively for audio, authors A. J. Hartley and David Hewson rethink literature’s most infamous married couple, grounding them in a medieval Scotland whose military and political upheavals are as stark and dramatic as the landscape in which they are played.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Narrator choice inspired

  • By Beverly on 07-10-11

Excellent, but not as good as their Hamlet

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-02-16

They added a lot to the story, filling in many details. I loved it!

  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark: A Novel

  • By: A. J. Hartley, David Hewson
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,245
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,023
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,007

It is a tale of ghosts, of madness, of revenge - of old alliances giving way to new intrigues. Denmark is changing, shaking off its medieval past. War with Norway is on the horizon. And Hamlet - son of the old king, nephew of the new - becomes increasingly entangled in a web of deception - and murder. Beautifully performed by actor Richard Armitage ("Thorin Oakenshield" in the Hobbit films), Hamlet, Prince of Denmark takes Shakespeare’s original into unexpected realms, reinventing a story we thought we knew.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Something Rotten in Denmark...

  • By Carole T. on 08-23-14

This is not exactly Shakespeare's Hamlet...

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-23-16

This is not exactly Shakespeare's Hamlet, but a modified version that is fantastic. I loved it!