LISTENER

S.

  • 113
  • reviews
  • 169
  • helpful votes
  • 381
  • ratings
  • A Place of Execution

  • By: Val McDermid
  • Narrated by: Paddy Glynn
  • Length: 14 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 436
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 361
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 359

A Greek tragedy in modern England, A Place of Execution is a taut psychological thriller that explores, exposes and explodes the border between reality and illusion in a multi-layered narrative that turns expectations on their head and reminds us that what we know is what we do not know.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Truly amazing

  • By KismetKat11 on 11-17-09

Fantastic -

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-04-18

I have not read this author before and found the writing exceptional. I like the characters and thought the story was fantastic. While I do agree with some other readers - I "figured" it out before the end that didn't spoil it for me, it was merely an "ah hah" moment a bit before the end of the book. Excellent book. S

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Blue Lightning: A Thriller

  • By: Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by: Gordon Griffin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 669
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 608
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 607

Inspector Jimmy Perez takes his fiance home to Fair Isle, the tiny island he comes from, to meet his parents. The island is a magnet for bird watchers, who congregate at the local inn and lighthouse. When a local married celebrity who had an eye for the lads is murdered, Perez discovers that the suspects are very close to him indeed.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Totally unput-down-able! More please!

  • By Amazon Customer on 04-07-15

Best one yet -

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-06-17

Fantastic book - best one yet. The writing just gets better - love this series and author.

  • Bitter Moon

  • The Huntress/FBI Thrillers, Book 4
  • By: Alexandra Sokoloff
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 746
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 685
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 681

FBI agent Matthew Roarke has been on leave, and in seclusion, since the capture of mass killer Cara Lindstrom - the victim turned avenger who preys on predators. Torn between devotion to the law and a powerful attraction to Cara and her lethal brand of justice, Roarke has retreated from both to search his soul. But Cara's escape from custody and a police detective's cryptic challenge soon draw him out of exile to probe an unsolved murder that could be the key to her long and deadly career.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent addition to the Huntress Moon series...

  • By shelley on 11-02-16

Don't bother -

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-30-17

I enjoyed the first three books, but now it appears the author is struggling to move on with a new story and characters. I didn't like the flash-back topic, nor the structure of the book bouncing back and forth between the FBI agent and the victim/perpetrator. Time for this author to move on.

  • The English Patient

  • By: Michael Ondaatje
  • Narrated by: Christopher Cazenove
  • Length: 8 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 371
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 268
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 275

With ravishing beauty and unsettling intelligence, Michael Ondaatje's Booker Prize-winning novel traces the intersection of four damaged lives in an Italian villa at the end of World War II. Hana, the exhausted nurse; the maimed thief, Caravaggio; the wary sapper, Kip: each is haunted by the riddle of the English patient, the nameless, burned man who lies in an upstairs room and whose memories of passion, betrayal, and rescue illuminates this audiobook like flashes of heat lightening.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 4 lives in the aftermath of WWII

  • By Leslie A. Foote on 07-08-07

Movie is much better -

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-12-17

I finally listened to the book on the premise I would get more from the movie - but that didn't happen. The movie far exceeds the book.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • A Pale Horse

  • By: Charles Todd
  • Narrated by: Simon Prebble
  • Length: 11 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 500
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 393
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 391

Late on a spring night in 1920, five boys cross the Yorkshire dales to the ruins of Fountains Abbey, intent on raising the Devil. Instead, they stumble over the Devil himself, sitting there watching them. Terrified, they run for their lives, leaving behind a book on alchemy stolen from their schoolmaster. The next morning, a body is discovered in the cloisters of the abbey--a man swathed in a hooded cloak and wearing a gas mask.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Outstanding author - Outstanding narrator

  • By N. Hopkins on 12-07-12

Best so far - - Narrator is fantastic ~ !

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-12-17

I have listened to several of the Rutledge series books and this is, to me, the best so far with a fantastic narrator. Simon Prebble makes the book.

  • The Dry

  • A Novel
  • By: Jane Harper
  • Narrated by: Stephen Shanahan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,955
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,570
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,563

After getting a note demanding his presence, Federal Agent Aaron Falk arrives in his hometown for the first time in decades to attend the funeral of his best friend, Luke. Twenty years ago when Falk was accused of murder, Luke was his alibi. Falk and his father fled under a cloud of suspicion, saved from prosecution only because of Luke’s steadfast claim that the boys had been together at the time of the crime. But now more than one person knows they didn’t tell the truth back then, and Luke is dead.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Nothing dry here!

  • By green ice cream garden on 01-18-17

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-28-17

The characters are well developed, the plot tight, the writing great and the narration excellent. Great read.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Silver Swan

  • A Novel
  • By: Benjamin Black
  • Narrated by: Timothy Dalton
  • Length: 8 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 323
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 179
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 178

Two years have passed since the events of the best-selling Christine Falls, and much has changed for Quirke, the irascible, formerly hard-drinking Dublin pathologist. His beloved Sarah is dead, the judge lies in a convent hospital paralyzed by a devastating stroke, and Phoebe, Quirke's long-denied daughter, has grown increasingly withdrawn and isolated.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A great sequel!

  • By David on 04-07-08

Narrator is fantastic -

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-25-16

Timothy Dalton's performance is fantastic, he makes the book. While I do love the characters, and the writing is very strong, I am sure without Mr. Dalton something would be missing. I am going to search for other performances. Excellent.

  • The Wrong Side of Goodbye

  • Harry Bosch, Book 19
  • By: Michael Connelly
  • Narrated by: Titus Welliver
  • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,365
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,220
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12,156

Harry Bosch is California's newest private investigator. He doesn't advertise, he doesn't have an office, and he's picky about who he works for, but it doesn't matter. His chops from 30 years with the LAPD speak for themselves. Soon one of Southern California's biggest moguls comes calling. The reclusive billionaire has less than six months to live and a lifetime of regrets. He hires Bosch to find out whether he has an heir.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Connelly Delivers Everytime

  • By Charles Atkinson on 07-19-17

This is a 6 - best Connelly ever.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-17-16

I have read every Michael Connelly book, and this is the best ever. Connelly weaves two stories together seamlessly with a spectacular ending. Titus Welliver is a great selection to perform the book - given the TV series he is the new voice of Bosch and does a fantastic job. Bravo Mr. Connelly & Mr. Welliver.

  • The Wild Inside

  • A Novel of Suspense
  • By: Christine Carbo
  • Narrated by: R. C. Bray
  • Length: 13 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,572
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,353
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,348

For fans of Louise Penny, C. J. Box, and Nevada Barr comes a haunting crime novel set in Glacier National Park, where one man finds himself on a collision course with the dark heart of the wild and the even darker heart of human nature.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Mystery, Thriller, Suspense & The Great Outdoors

  • By Sara on 09-18-15

Good new series -

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-15-16

This is the first in a series by the author - although the next book picks up with a different lead narrator which is interesting. I very much enjoyed this book, and am 1/2 through the next in the series. I enjoy a good series, so I am looking forward to book #3.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Play Dead

  • By: Harlan Coben
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 17 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,641
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,227
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,219

Theirs was a marriage made in tabloid heaven, but no sooner had supermodel Laura Ayars and Celtics star David Baskin said “I do” than tragedy struck. While honeymooning on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, David went out for a swim - and never returned. Now widowed and grieving, Laura has a thousand questions and no answers. Her search for the truth will draw her into a web of lies and deception that stretches back thirty years - while on the court at the Boston Garden, a rookie phenom makes his spectacular debut....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Harlan Coben is the Master

  • By Philip on 10-01-10

Awful -

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-22-16

This premise is so bad, and the writing so high school there should be a warning. Consider this your warning - don't waste a credit. This is a very old book by Coben released merely because they realized people would buy the authors name - they don't disclose the reality that the book was written before Coben learned to plot or write.