LISTENER

Kate Unger

Milwaukee, WI
  • 4
  • reviews
  • 5
  • helpful votes
  • 25
  • ratings
  • Sleeping Giants

  • By: Sylvain Neuvel
  • Narrated by: full cast
  • Length: 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,339
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,097
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 3,091

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • BLUES BROTHERS

  • By Jim "The Impatient" on 05-04-16

Excellent Audiobook, Unique writing style

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-17-17

Any additional comments?

Sleeping Giants was an amazing audiobook. The whole book is written as a case file, so it’s interviews and journal entries performed by a full cast audio (Audible version). It took about an hour for me to understand what exactly was happening in the story, but then I was hooked. Pieces of a giant metal robot have been found on Earth, and they’re suspected to be the remains of aliens on Earth thousands (or maybe millions) of years ago. The main players in the story are the lead scientist, a mathematician, and a couple of military pilots. And the un-named interviewer. It’s so interesting!

I don’t read a lot of science fiction, but this book was amazing. It was more focused on how humans would act in the face of the known existence of aliens instead of being a sci-fi alien story. I like to call this type of science fiction “near science fiction,” meaning that it could happen right now today. It’s not focused on a futuristic world or space travel. It’s similar to The Martian or Dark Matter where it takes present day society and then introduces a sci-fi element to it.

My favorite character in this book was Kara, one of the pilots. She’s spunky and disrespectful of authority. She does what she wants and she mouths off. The actress who played her was perfect. She reminded me of Julia Styles in all of her mid-90s movies (think 10 Things I Hate About You). I got a kick out of listening to her, and I was routing for her the whole way.

I read this book back in March right before the sequel was released, so it was perfect timing. I didn’t have to wait long to learn what happened next. Even still, there isn’t a huge cliffhanger at the end, so if you don’t get to the sequel right away, it’s not too terrible. Mostly, I just wanted more of the characters once I finished this book, and I was happy that I got that right away.

Blog: Opinionated Book Lover

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Ghostboy, Chameleon & the Duke of Graffiti

  • By: Olivia Wildenstein
  • Narrated by: Ryan Bergman
  • Length: 8 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 10
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 8
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9

Cora Matthews, the principal's gloomy goth daughter, is not exactly popular Duke Meyer's type. Still, Duke finds himself inexplicably drawn to her dark eyes and mysterious manner. She makes it clear she doesn't return his admiration, but when a burst appendix lands Duke in the hospital, he and Cora will be forced to come together by the most unlikely intermediary: her eight-year-old brother, Jaime.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 4 Stars

  • By Trosado on 09-11-17

Good story, not well executed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-17

Any additional comments?

This book was a bit of a struggle for me, but I ultimately enjoyed it. I bought this book on Kindle for my phone, and then I ended up purchasing the Audible add on because I couldn’t make myself read the book.

The main character Duke is incredibly obnoxious. He’s just too “cool” and guy-ish. I had a hard time reading from his perspective. He develops a crush on the principal’s daughter, the goth girl, despite his better intentions. And then he finds himself involved with her younger brother, who is dying of brain cancer.

The story was right up my alley. I enjoy books with illnesses and even death, but this book wasn’t executed as well as some others. Duke grows some because of his experience with Jaime, but it reminded me too much of the sub-plot in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants with Tibby and Bailey, but I enjoyed that story so much more.

The romance was sweet, but it didn’t redeem the whole book for me.

Blog: Opinionated Book Lover

  • Our Revolution

  • A Future to Believe In
  • By: Bernie Sanders
  • Narrated by: Bernie Sanders, Mark Ruffalo
  • Length: 18 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,354
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,252
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,251

When Bernie Sanders began his race for the presidency, it was considered by the political establishment and the media to be a "fringe" campaign, something not to be taken seriously. After all, he was just an independent senator from a small state with little name recognition. His campaign had no money, no political organization, and it was taking on the entire Democratic Party establishment. By the time Sanders' campaign came to a close, however, it was clear that the pundits had gotten it wrong.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Such an important book!

  • By B.Arbuckle on 12-10-16

Great overview of the issues facing our country

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-17

Any additional comments?

I was so excited to read Our Revolution by Bernie Sanders. I am/was a huge supporter of Bernie’s campaign for president, so I was interested to hear what he had to say to all of us about next steps. This book was released right after the general election, and while it didn’t necessary state an expectation of the result of the election, it was pretty clear that Bernie was hoping Hillary Clinton would have won. He mentioned a few times about compromises he’d made with her campaign as if they’d be policies we’d be seeing implemented at this point. In that way, this book was slightly outdated as soon as it was published. Sadly.

The first part of the book gives Bernie’s history in politics up to the end of his presidential campaign. For me, a supporter, this section was very interesting. I didn’t know much about his early political career, and I enjoyed reading about the presidential campaign from his perspective.

But the real meat of this book is the second part, which outlines all of the issues facing America today and Bernie’s plans for solving them. I found this part to be an honest look into the politics of Washington D.C. Sanders exposed many additional horrors that I did not know about our corrupt political system. He covered all of the high points.

My main disappointment with this book is that I was hoping to hear some practical things that I could do, as an average American citizen. Most of Sanders solutions to the current crises were to talk about certain legislation that he had proposed or would like to propose in Congress. It didn’t give me any concrete actions that I could take, and so for that reason it didn’t seem like much of Our revolution. But again it could have just been that he was expecting the book to release into a world where Hillary was our president.

The audio version (Audible) of this book was terrific. The first part and the last segment about the media and their involvement in the corruption of our government were read by Bernie Sanders himself. The majority of part 2 was read by Mark Ruffalo, who is a huge supporter of Bernie and the Progressive movement (and also happens to be one of my favorite actors).

I really enjoyed listening to this book, but it took me a long time to get through at. When I first started it in January, I was still very heartbroken about the election results, and I kept crying while listening. It is so upsetting to think that this amazing man could have been our president. Then once I got into the issue discussion, I could only listen to a little at a time because that was upsetting in a whole new way. I kept getting discouraged about the future of our nation.

If you’re looking for a current-state analysis of the nation, I highly encourage you to read this book – and maybe just skip part 1 if you’re not a fan of Bernie Sanders.

Blog: Opinionated Book Lover

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Dark Matter

  • A Novel
  • By: Blake Crouch
  • Narrated by: Jon Lindstrom
  • Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 14,955
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,733
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 13,732

"Are you happy with your life?" Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before a man Jason's never met smiles down at him and says, "Welcome back, my friend."

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Good premise, poor execution

  • By BenL on 06-06-17

Great suspense story with a sci-fi plot

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-02-17

Any additional comments?

Dark Matter is hugely popular right now for good reason. It’s technically science fiction because it deals with the multiverse and parallel dimensions, but it’s really more a suspense novel. Jason Dessen gave up a career in physics to become a husband, father, and college professor. He could have been one of the great minds of his time, but instead he is loving his average life almost 100% of the time. One night while coming home from a celebration for a former colleague who’s won a prestigious award, he his kidnapped and sent to a different world where everyone thinks he has invented “the box” – a devise that allows travel between dimensions in the multiverse. Jason just wants to get back to his life, but he’ll have to fight for his life to get there.

This book is perfect for fans of The Martian. It’s interesting, but not too heavy on the science. It makes you think, but it mostly just has you on the edge of your seat the whole time wondering who’s taken Jason, where he is exactly, and how he is going to make it back to his wife, Daniella, and his son, Charlie. I love parallel dimension stories, and this book was no different.

It’s written in first person, but every once in a while there is a glimpse into the world Jason has left behind. We get to see how Daniella and Charlie are getting on without him. The audio was very well done. I purchased this book on Audible, so my husband and I could both listen. We both thoroughly enjoyed it.

Blog: Opinionated Book Lover