Ayrton Family
Books in series2
(4.3 based on 141 ratings)
  • 1
    Amberwell | D. E. Stevenson


    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 36 mins)
    • By D. E. Stevenson
    • Narrated By Lesley Mackie

    Five young Ayrtons all grew up at Amberwell, playing in the gardens and preparing themselves to venture out into the world. To each of these children, Amberwell meant something different, but common to all of them was the idea that Amberwell was more than just where they lived - it was part of them.

    Positively perfect!

    D. E. Stevenson is my favorite author, and Amberwell is one of her best books.

    The reader has the perfect accent for the story - just a s..Show More »

    Reviewed on August 24 2008 by Kathleen (Manassas, VA, USA)
  • 2
    Summerhills | D. E. Stevenson


    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By D. E. Stevenson
    • Narrated By Lesley Mackie

    Summerhills continues the story of the lives and loves of the Ayrton family, in particular that of Major Roger Ayrton M.C., his brother, and three young half-sisters. Roger has made the Army his career. Anne has settled down as housekeeper to old Mr Orme, the rector. Nell looks after the old house, and it is upon her that the comfort and well-being of the family depend. A new generation is growing up. The story begins as Roger flies home to Amberwell on leave, full of plans for his family and home.

    Loved this entire series

    These were really sweet novels. The author does a wonderful job depicting the secret world children build away from adults, the love of place that r..Show More »

    Reviewed on April 23 2009 by Julie (Le Center, MN, USA)