Elizabeth I, Spymaster
Books in series2
(3.9 based on 198 ratings)
  • 1

    The Tudor Secret: The Elizabeth I Spymaster Chronicles, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 14 mins)
    • By C. W. Gortner
    • Narrated By Steve West
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready

    The summer of 1553 is a time of danger and deceit. Brendan Prescott, an orphan, has been reared in the household of the powerful Dudley family. Brought to court, Prescott finds himself sent on an illicit mission to the king’s brilliant but enigmatic sister, Princess Elizabeth. But Brendan is soon compelled to work as a double agent by Elizabeth’s protector, William Cecil, who promises in exchange to help him unravel the secret of his own mysterious past.

    val says: "The reading Performance helped..."
    The reading Performance helped...

    More substance in the story

    Reviewed on June 28 2013 by val (Libertyville, IL, United States)
  • 2

    The Tudor Conspiracy: Spymaster Chronicles, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By C.W. Gortner
    • Narrated By Steve West
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready

    England, 1553. Haunted by his past, Brendan Prescott lives far from the intrigues of court. But his time of refuge comes to an end when his foe and mentor, the spymaster Cecil, brings him disquieting news that sends him on a dangerous mission. Elizabeth is held captive at court, the target of the Spanish ambassador, who seeks her demise. Obliged to return to the palace where he almost lost his life, Brendan finds himself working as a double agent for Queen Mary herself, who orders Brendan to secure proof that will be his cherished Elizabeth’s undoing.

    Cheryl says: "Very enjoyable"
    Very enjoyable

    Really enjoyed this new series- looking forward to the next one. Good historical novel without being too "romantic" (yuck).

    Reviewed on January 24 2014 by Cheryl (Rochester Hills, MI, United States)