We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .

Refine Search Results

 
Search Results for Author: 

Laurence Shames

1-12of12results Previous 1 Next
Sort by
  • Tropical Depression: Key West Capers, Book 4 | Laurence Shames

    Tropical Depression: Key West Capers, Book 4

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 17 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Jem Matzan
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    When Murray Zemelman, a.k.a. The Bra King, pops another Prozac and heads to the Keys, he has nothing much in mind beyond a quixotic hope of winning back his first wife, Franny, whom he dumped years before. But when he forms an unlikely friendship with Tommy Tarpon, the last remaining member of an obscure Indian tribe, another plan also starts shaping up in his fevered brain. Why not open up Key West's first casino?

  • Sunburn | Laurence Shames

    Sunburn

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 31 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Richard Ferrone
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (46)
    Performance
    (42)
    Story
    (40)

    Listeners across the country have fallen in love with Laurence Shames’ rollicking national best-sellers set in South Florida. Energetic, forceful and unpredictable as a hurricane, Sunburn is filled with off-beat characters, top-notch suspense, and colorful dialogue. When aging Mafia godfather Vincente Delgatto flies to Key West to get a little sun, he decides to write his memoirs.

    Kathy says: "Thoroughly enjoyable"
  • Welcome to Paradise: A Novel | Laurence Shames

    Welcome to Paradise: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Ron McLarty
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (30)
    Performance
    (27)
    Story
    (27)

    When Al Marracotta, Mafia boss, takes a week’s vacation in Key West, he looks forward to days of sun, sex, and seafood. Alan Tuschman, New Jersey furniture salesman, is a reluctant tourist. He has won a week in Key West for his sales record. But they have something in common: vanity license plates that read BIG AL. So when two goons are sent to ruin Big Al’s vacation, it’s not long before they target the wrong guy. Between the frustrated henchmen and the baffled Als, each chapter grows loonier than the last. And with the addition of a romantic wild card, the tough guys’ schemes are tempered....

    Richard Delman says: "Not his absolute best, but great anyway."
  • Florida Straits: A Key West Mystery, Book 1 | Laurence Shames

    Florida Straits: A Key West Mystery, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Richard Ferrone
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (55)
    Performance
    (46)
    Story
    (46)

    In the grand tradition of Elmore Leonard, Laurence Shames creates an outrageous heavyweight thriller that’s heavy on atmosphere and action. Joey Goldman is a low-level New York hustler. He’s taking a working vacation in South Florida and looking to score big with a time-share scam. His half brother Gino Delgatto is a man in need of a fall guy. When they meet in Key West, the term dysfunctional family takes on a new meaning. Will one of them succeed? Or will the Miami mob find an eye-popping way to dispose of them both?

    Susan says: "So glad I took another reader's advise"
  • Tropical Swap: Key West Capers, Book 10 | Laurence Shames

    Tropical Swap: Key West Capers, Book 10

    • UNABRIDGED (6 hrs and 21 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Jem Matzan
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (9)
    Performance
    (7)
    Story
    (7)

    Wanted: NY apartment in exchange for a great Key West house with swimming pool. In February. Who wouldn't take a swap like that? Then again, if a deal seems too good to be true, it probably is, as Meg and Peter Kaplan soon discover. Heading south for a supposed dream vacation, what they find instead is a panic attack waiting to happen. Coconuts crash through windows, bearing cryptic death threats.

    AudioBook Reviewer says: "everything that’s good about campy mobster stories"
  • Scavenger Reef | Laurence Shames

    Scavenger Reef

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 19 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Richard Ferrone
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (30)
    Performance
    (23)
    Story
    (24)

    On best-seller lists all over the country with his witty cynicism and delightfully dark humor, Laurence Shames writes thrillers that his fans endearingly classify as great “Florida noir.” In the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen, he gives character to the inhabitants of Florida’s steamy underbelly. Artist Augie Silver’s friends are ostensibly grief-stricken when he drowns in a shipwreck off Scavenger Reef, but most of them are nervous because his body wasn’t found.

    Richard Delman says: "Shames's best work: articulate, warm, witty."
  • Key West Luck: Key West, Volume 11 | Laurence Shames

    Key West Luck: Key West, Volume 11

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Jem Matzan
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (13)
    Performance
    (11)
    Story
    (11)

    Phoebe has a dream - a very modest dream. She wants to own a Sno-Cone truck at the beach in Key West. Nicky, her would-be boyfriend, also dreams small. All he wants is a decent gig as a guitar player in a bar. Doesn't seem like too much to ask of life, does it? So why do things keep going so dreadfully wrong for Phoebe and Nicky? Is it just plain bad luck? Or is it the decidedly bad intentions of a sleazy local cheat, a Miami gangster desperate to stay in business, and a murderous Cuban smuggler looking for a fall guy?

    Stephen Campbell says: "I love this Key West series from Laurence Shames"
  • Mangrove Squeeze | Laurence Shames

    Mangrove Squeeze

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Richard Ferrone
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (65)
    Performance
    (54)
    Story
    (56)

    Laurence Shames’ funny, elegantly written, and hip thrillers have topped best-seller lists across the country, and earned him a leading role as a writer of “Florida noir” with Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen. When Island Frigate advertising rep Suki Sperakis decides to write an exposé on the Key West black market, she is strangled and left for dead in the trunk of a car sinking slowly into the Gulf of Mexico.

    Richard Delman says: "Wise, endearing and incredibly funny."
  • Shot on Location | Laurence Shames

    Shot on Location

    • UNABRIDGED (7 hrs and 12 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Richard Ferrone
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (25)
    Performance
    (20)
    Story
    (21)

    Take three speedboats, a disgruntled ghostwriter, and a hit TV show starring a gorgeous but impossible diva and created by a driven genius who may be losing his marbles. Add a fearless and gleefully profane stuntwoman, an ancient Mafioso with a chihuahua, and a revenge-crazed blonde in gladiator sandals. Stir in a thug with a heart of gold and an inveterate slacker who yearns for glory.

    Richard Delman says: "Bert the Shirt returns! And with Giovanni, too!"
  • The Naked Detective | Laurence Shames

    The Naked Detective

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 4 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Ron McLarty
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (30)
    Performance
    (24)
    Story
    (24)

    Popular crime novelist Laurence Shames consistently draws favorable comparisons to Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen. In his Key West tales, Shames paints vivid, hilarious portraits of the sun-splashed “paradise” he calls home. The retired Pete Amsterdam isn’t really a private investigator. But he has a license, a gun, and a listing in the phone book—all so he can write-off his wine cellar as an “office.”

    Richard Delman says: "Unusual for Shames: kinda boring."
  • Mangrove Squeeze | Laurence Shames

    Mangrove Squeeze

    • ABRIDGED (3 hrs and 18 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By David Hunter
    Overall
    (7)
    Performance
    (3)
    Story
    (3)

    Shames is back with another madcap tale of love, offbeat intrigue, and murder in the Florida Keys. When Suki Serakis came to Key West, she had one idea in mind and ended up, like most who reside there, doing something completely different. Now she's tired of selling ad space for the second rate newspaper, Island Frigate and being hounded by the Russian immigrant playboy Lazlo Kalyanin.

    William says: "Fun Escape"
  • Virgin Heat | Laurence Shames

    Virgin Heat

    • ABRIDGED (3 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Laurence Shames
    • Narrated By Jonathan Cook
    Overall
    (8)
    Performance
    (5)
    Story
    (5)

    For ten years Angelina Amaro has kept a secret. She is in love with Sal Martucci, the man who betrayed her father, Mafia godfather Paul Amaro, and sent him away to prison. Sal's been on the run ever since, but Angelina has found him, and when her father finds, out Key West transforms into fair Verona, and a touching and hilarious tale of love, the mob, revenge, redemption, and even some cross-dressing unfolds.

1-12of12results Previous 1 Next