We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .

Refine Search Results

 
Search Results for Author: 

Kay Brellend

1-7of7results Previous 1 Next
Sort by
  • East End Angel | Kay Brellend

    East End Angel

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 22 mins)
    • By Kay Brellend
    • Narrated By Annie Aldington
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    Two sisters living in London's tough East End… will Jennifer and Kathy be tough enough to survive?Katherine and Jennifer Finch are like chalk and cheese: Katherine is a midwife, dedicating her life to helping others - and Jennifer is a prostitute. Leaving home age 15, Jennifer must learn to live on her wits in London's notorious East End. Soon, however, she is battling drink and drugs, and is pregnant with a child. Her labour is nearly fatal, but her sister steps in to save the day.

    Joy Easton says: "Won't buy this author again--foul language."
  • The Windmill Girls | Kay Brellend

    The Windmill Girls

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 15 mins)
    • By Kay Brellend
    • Narrated By Annie Aldington
    Overall
    (2)
    Performance
    (2)
    Story
    (1)

    A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale. The Windmill Theatre was one of the most famous clubs of the 20th century. Its heyday was during WWII when it famously ‘never closed' and it became famous for its ‘tasteful' nude performances. Dawn is a pretty and feisty blonde. Losing her job as a chambermaid, she goes to work as a dancer at The Windmill Theatre.

  • The Street | Kay Brellend

    The Street

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Kay Brellend
    • Narrated By Grace Halliday
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (5)
    Performance
    (3)
    Story
    (3)

    'Campbell Road was home to the most notorious criminals: thieves, prostitutes, fraudsters – every sort of rogue and vagabond drifted through this slum.’Life was tough … but so were theyAlice Keiver is a sensitive girl, growing up in one of the roughest parts of North London. As the daughter of an alcoholic mother, and niece of an abusive uncle, she dreams that one day she and her baby sister will escape their rotten surroundings.Alice’s father, Jack Keiver, works day and night to provide for his family.

  • The Campbell Road Girls | Kay Brellend

    The Campbell Road Girls

    • UNABRIDGED (9 hrs and 26 mins)
    • By Kay Brellend
    • Narrated By Annie Arlington
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    Gritty and gripping saga set on one of London’s most notorious streets, from the author of The Street and Coronation Day. She’s a good girl – in a bad world…Lucy Keiver has come back from service in the country to London’s notorious Campbell Road. She’s there to care for her mum, the forthright and feisty but much loved Matilda, recovering after a savage attack almost left her for dead.

  • Coronation Day | Kay Brellend

    Coronation Day

    • UNABRIDGED (8 hrs and 29 mins)
    • By Kay Brellend
    • Narrated By Penelope McDonald
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    It’s going to be a right old knee’s up.… The residents of the tough streets around Islington are heartbroken at the death of George the VI but having a young Queen on the throne isn’t the only change that they can expect. The toughest street in London, Campbell Road, is due for demolition. One of the last residents remaining, Matilda Kiever, born and bred on the street, remembers many things about the past, not least what really happened to Christopher Wild’s mum, Pamela. Christopher thought she was dead, but it turns out she is very much alive....

  • The Family | Kay Brellend

    The Family

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 19 mins)
    • By Kay Brellend
    • Narrated By Penelope McDonald
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    The follow-up novel to the hugely successful debut, The Street. In this dank corner of town, you have to keep your friends close and your enemies closer – even if those enemies are your family. Jimmy Wild saunters around the streets of Campbell Road, and among the people he used to terrorise. Even though the years have passed, he’s still a tyrant. The sight of his lanky frame is enough to terrify the inhabitants of this close-knit community, who reside in this villainous corner of London.

  • Rosie's War | Kay Brellend

    Rosie's War

    • UNABRIDGED (10 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Kay Brellend
    • Narrated By Annie Aldington
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale. Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She's had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad. Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can't get along, and the strain of coping as a young, unmarried mother is getting to her.

1-7of7results Previous 1 Next