We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.

Refine Search Results

 
Showing results for 

Catherine the Great

Related Searches: robert k massie
1-11of11results Previous 1 Next
Sort by
  • Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman | Robert K. Massie

    Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 52 mins)
    • By Robert K. Massie
    • Narrated By Mark Deakins
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (713)
    Performance
    (586)
    Story
    (581)

    The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Peter the Great, Nicholas and Alexandra, and The Romanovs returns with another masterpiece of narrative biography, the extraordinary story of an obscure young German princess who traveled to Russia at fourteen and rose to become one of the most remarkable, powerful, and captivating women in history.

    Elizabeth says: "Loved everyone minute!"
  • The Winter Palace: A Novel of Catherine the Great | Eva Stachniak

    The Winter Palace: A Novel of Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 37 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Beata Pozniak
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (145)
    Performance
    (123)
    Story
    (122)

    Her name is Barbara - in Russian, Varvara. Nimble-witted and attentive, she’s allowed into the employ of the Empress Elizabeth, amid the glitter and cruelty of the world’s most eminent court. Under the tutelage of Count Bestuzhev, Chancellor and spymaster, Varvara will be educated in skills from lock picking to lovemaking, learning above all else to listen, and wait for opportunity. That opportunity arrives in a slender young princess from Zerbst named Sophie, a playful teenager destined to become the indomitable Catherine the Great.

    Cookie says: "Not a bodice ripper!"
  • Great Catherine: The Life of Catherine the Great, Empress of Russia | Carolly Erickson

    Great Catherine: The Life of Catherine the Great, Empress of Russia

    • UNABRIDGED (15 hrs and 2 mins)
    • By Carolly Erickson
    • Narrated By Davina Porter
    Overall
    (133)
    Performance
    (119)
    Story
    (122)

    Prize-winning historian and biographer, Carolly Erickson has created an eminently readable biography that recognizes the humanity of Great Catherine—Empress of Russia—with her majesty and immense capability. Dispelling some of the myths surrounding her voracious sexual appetite, the biographer portrays Catherine as a lonely woman far ahead of her time—achieving greatness in an era when women were executed on a husband’s whim.

    Linda says: "beautifully done"
  • Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great | Eva Stachniak

    Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 53 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Beata Pozniak
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (14)
    Performance
    (12)
    Story
    (13)

    Perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world’s greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.

    M&M says: "Good but not as "Great" as the first book"
  • Peter the Great & Catherine the Great: Russia's Greatest Tsar and Tsarina | Charles River Editors

    Peter the Great & Catherine the Great: Russia's Greatest Tsar and Tsarina

    • UNABRIDGED (2 hrs and 54 mins)
    • By Charles River Editors
    • Narrated By Diane Lehman
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    For anyone trying to understand the origins of modern Russia, the search should begin with Tsar Peter I (1672-1725), who titled himself Peter the Great during his lifetime. The moniker is fitting, considering the manner in which Peter brought Russia out of the Middle Ages and into the 18th century.

  • Russian Legends: The Life and Legacy of Catherine the Great | Charles River Editors

    Russian Legends: The Life and Legacy of Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (1 hr and 34 mins)
    • By Charles River Editors
    • Narrated By Diane Lehman
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    As one of the most famous women rulers in history, Russian Empress Catherine the Great has long been remembered not only as one of the most powerful women of her time, but she was also one of the most powerful and capable rulers in all of Europe. And her path to the throne was just as remarkable as her reign.

  • The Winter Palace: A Novel of the Young Catherine the Great | Eva Stachniak

    The Winter Palace: A Novel of the Young Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Beata Pozniak
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (2)
    Performance
    (2)
    Story
    (2)

    When Vavara, a young orphaned Polish girl, is brought to serve at Empress Elizabeth's glittering, dangerous court in St Petersburg, she is schooled by the Chancellor himself in skills from lock-picking to love-making, learning above all else to stay silent - and listen. Soon, she is Elizabeth's 'tongue' - her secret eyes and ears. Then Sophie, a vulnerable young princess, arrives from Prussia as a prospective bride for Elizabeth's heir.

  • Three Cheers for Catherine the Great | Cari Best

    Three Cheers for Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (17 mins)
    • By Cari Best
    • Narrated By Ekaterina Gordeeva
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    A little English, a little Russian, and a lot of heart make a birthday celebration you won't want to miss! When Sara's grandma, Catherine the Great, suddenly announces, "This year for my birthday, I want no presents! I have music in my Russian bones, and laughing in my heart. I have the day and the night, and I have all of you," Sara is surprised. How can Grandma have a birthday party with no presents?" Her mama explains that a no present can be anything from a kiss or a hug to a game of gin rummy - as long as it comes from deep inside you.

  • The Stinking Great Lie | Catherine Jinks

    The Stinking Great Lie

    • UNABRIDGED (2 hrs and 32 mins)
    • By Catherine Jinks
    • Narrated By Soula Alexander
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    "So what's he like?" hissed Battista. "Like a pile of pig's guts," Camilla moaned. "He's about a hundred years old, and he stinks, and I'll just DIE if I have to marry him!" Find out how a girl with attitude takes on a whole town when she decides she's as good as anybody - even though her dad IS a sewage collector.

  • The Best of This Is Audible, January 31, 2012 | Kim Alexander

    The Best of This Is Audible, January 31, 2012

    • ORIGINAL (56 mins)
    • By Kim Alexander
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    Today we’ll meet one of the most interesting, powerful, maligned women in history, Catherine the Great, with introductions made by her latest biographer, Robert K. Massie. Next, Maggie Linton looks back at a gilded age with author Amor Towles and his book Rules of Civility. And finally, a story about another girl with a dream – this one starts in Illinois and ends up on the TV show Glee. Jane Lynch tells her own story in her memoir, Happy Accidents.

  • The Bob Edwards Show, Angelina Jolie and Robert Massie, January 18, 2012 | Bob Edwards

    The Bob Edwards Show, Angelina Jolie and Robert Massie, January 18, 2012

    • ORIGINAL (51 mins)
    • By Bob Edwards
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    Actress Angelina Jolie is now something she swore she would never be: a director. Bob talks to Jolie about the making of her directorial debut, In the Land of Blood and Honey.

1-11of11results Previous 1 Next