The Tragedy Paper Audiobook | Elizabeth Laban | Audible.com
We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Tragedy Paper | [Elizabeth Laban]

The Tragedy Paper

The Tragedy Paper follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants - he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out.
Regular Price:$30.80
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, The Tragedy Paper has been called “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak,” by New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner.

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants - he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.

Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

©2013 Elizabeth Laban (P)2013 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

Starred Review, Booklist, November 15, 2012:
“Debut novelist LaBan takes us into the private school culture as well as the heads of two charming yet very different teenage boys and their parallel love stories… Nonexistent parents, well-intentioned, likeable faculty on the periphery, elaborate dorm rooms with overstuffed closets, even the romantic, snow-covered campus all contribute to a setting that adds to the story’s heft and intrigue.”

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (20 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.6 (19 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.9 (19 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Bryan LYNDHURST, OH, United States 02-24-13
    Bryan LYNDHURST, OH, United States 02-24-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better Than Alaska, but not as good as 13 Reasons"
    Would you try another book from Elizabeth Laban and/or Nick Chamian and Jesse Bernstein ?

    Yes.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    It was along the lines of what I was thinking given I knew it was compared to Waiting for Alaska and 13 Reasons Why.


    Which character – as performed by Nick Chamian and Jesse Bernstein – was your favorite?

    They were all fine.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Sure.


    Any additional comments?

    Check out 13 Reasons Why and SKIP Waiting for Alaska. Read this one over Alaska.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mary Flower Mound, TX, United States 01-02-14
    mary Flower Mound, TX, United States 01-02-14 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "anticlimactic"
    What disappointed you about The Tragedy Paper?

    Was a worthy story but found the ending inconsequential.


    What was most disappointing about Elizabeth Laban’s story?

    The conclusion


    What does Nick Chamian and Jesse Bernstein bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Well performed.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    It held my interest and expectation and was then a total let down.


    Any additional comments?

    Would not read again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-2 of 2 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.