We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Smell of Other People's Houses Audiobook

The Smell of Other People's Houses

Regular Price:$25.20
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Alaska, 1970. Being a teenager here isn't like being a teenager anywhere else.

This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America's last frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can't hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance with the life she's always known on her family's fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it's safer to run away than to stay home - until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other - and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Narrator cast list:

  • Ruth read by Jorjeana Marie
  • Dora read by Erin Tripp
  • Alyce read by Karissa Vacker
  • Hank read by Robbie Daymond

©2016 Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"...this is an exquisitely drawn, deeply heartfelt look at a time and place not often addressed. Hitchcock's measured prose casts a gorgeous, almost otherworldly feel over the text, resulting in a quietly lovely look at the various sides of human nature and growing up in a difficult world." (Booklist)

"Using alternating narratives, debut novelist Hitchcock deftly weaves these stories together, setting them against the backdrop of a native Alaska that readers will find intoxicating. The gutsiness of these four teens who, at heart, are trying to find their places in the world and survive against challenging odds, will resonate with readers of all ages." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (29 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (27 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (27 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Phyllis Oster Colorado 09-19-16
    Phyllis Oster Colorado 09-19-16 Member Since 2015

    The cleaner

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    What a great book! All the narrators read it so well. The story ends good!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tina 03-18-16
    Tina 03-18-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story!"

    What a great story! I love how it all comes together at the end! I'm waiting for Bonnie Sue's next book!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.