We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Reader Audiobook

The Reader

Regular Price:$42.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone.

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book - a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed - and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

©2016 Traci Chee (P)2016 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (4 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    S. Shelton 09-24-16
    S. Shelton 09-24-16

    sal4gal

    HELPFUL VOTES
    108
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    168
    166
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOVE!"

    So sad that it is over and not another book to start listening to! I enjoyed the multiple story lines and the characters. I look forward to more stories by the author and the narrator was marvelous!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.