We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Tell Me Three Things Audiobook

Tell Me Three Things

Regular Price:$32.20
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

What if the person you need the most is someone you've never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least that's what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she's thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It's been barely two years since her mother's death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son. In a leap of faith - or an act of complete desperation - Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can't help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

©2016 Julie Buxbaum (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Here are three things about this book: (1) It's sweet and funny and romantic; (2) the mystery at the heart of the story will keep you turning the pages; (3) I have a feeling you'll be very happy you read it." (Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight)

"Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum's book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do." (Jodi Picoult, New York Times best-selling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page)

"The desire to find out whether Jessie's real-life and virtual crushes are one and the same will keep [readers] turning the pages as quickly as possible." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (130 )
5 star
 (76)
4 star
 (42)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (121 )
5 star
 (71)
4 star
 (37)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (121 )
5 star
 (77)
4 star
 (32)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 09-10-16
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 09-10-16 Member Since 2014

    I'm a clinical psychology doctorate student. I love to read a good romance or ya novel to escape from the everyday stresses of life.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    52
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the Love Story Part"
    What did you love best about Tell Me Three Things?

    I love the friend, the outlet, and the realness provided by Somebody Nobody. It was a little annoying in the beginning when they were emailing back and forth, with the combination of the email addresses and subject lines sometimes being longer than the email content. It is a quite bit predictable, but there's a few curves thrown in to make it more interesting at the end. This is not only a good book for someone who has lost someone. It is also a good book for anyone who has moved across the country and had to start over. Overall, I really loved this book and am looking forward to reading more from this author in the future.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karole Schoepf 04-29-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book, enjoyed the narrator."

    They say you spend your whole life getting over High School. This novel was a "crossover " , written from a teen girl perspective, but your able to get a lot out of the book as an adult. I always say, if you can get 1 life changing experience from the book you read it's worth it. This book was worth listening to.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A. J. Powers 11-23-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Touching story of loss and starting over"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Tell Me Three Things to be better than the print version?

    I think it must be because the narrator made this story come to life for me.


    Any additional comments?

    This is a wonderful story that touches on loss but mostly on a new start and a new love

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Doha New York, NY, United States 11-21-16
    Doha New York, NY, United States 11-21-16 Member Since 2010

    I like to read VERY much .. I'm obsessed with reading I don't have time to actually read a book so I've been a listener for three years now

    HELPFUL VOTES
    102
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    138
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    25
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best books of the year :D"

    I can't explain how much I ADORED this book .. it was so so so good every time I remember it a huge smile comes to my face, the story is cute but deals with so many serious issues like dealing with loss and first love and having a friend who see's you and accepts you the way you are .. the narrator is one of the best narrators I've listened to in a long time she gave the story a solid character .. I just love this book and recommend it to everyone who likes a nice love story and discovering who you are

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kelly 11-19-16
    Kelly 11-19-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great read for young and young at heart"

    loved this book, it had me actually laughing out loud! I love the main character, she is so adorable, and her relationship with her best friend Scarlett reminded me of my best friend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    knitnavywife 11-04-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow...just wow"

    The story was great, I could relate to it so much. I couldn't put it down! The narrator did a great job! My first novel by Julie Buxbaum and certainly not the last. Highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monique Killeen, TX, United States 10-23-16
    Monique Killeen, TX, United States 10-23-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    62
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tell Me Three Things"
    What other book might you compare Tell Me Three Things to and why?

    Almost like an Eleanor & Park or Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. I'd say those two because of the whole not really fitting in and secretive friendships.


    What does Jorjeana Marie bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    I liked what Jorjeana Marie brought to this story. Her performance was great, she brought an added emotion that comes with a really good narrator.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simone 09-29-16
    Simone 09-29-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing "

    Amazing story that kept me interested the entire time. I actually finished the book within a day!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brittany 09-01-16
    Brittany 09-01-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Potential Turned Predictable YA"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Perhaps this is better read than listened to. The text and email sections of the book which are pretty important to the plot, are hard and annoying to listen to. The narrator struggled to create unique characters with her voice and inflection and I found them all running together.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Julie Buxbaum again?

    As far as the story went, I called the ending as soon as we meet the characters. Every turn was easy to spot three chapters before. I enjoyed the writing style and perhaps if I wasn't so well read it would have been more enjoyable.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Jorjeana Marie’s performances?

    I would not purchase an audiobook with this narrator again. She had difficulty annunciating and her separation of characters was almost non existent.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    The potential for this novel was great. Wonderful story setup and bones and interesting characters to work with. Nothing was fleshed out enough though and so much more could have happened. The author spent too much time in the predictable "mystery" than exploring the fascinating characters she had invented.


    Any additional comments?

    I would recommend this to a truly young reader or something who doesn't read often. The biggest downside for me was the predictability that dragged on. For a less experienced YA reader it might not be as obvious and they can enjoy the story more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    books4susie 06-13-16
    books4susie 06-13-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    Loved the story and the narrator. Will be looking for more from both. Great listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.